We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puas hati dan senang hati”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Tiada yang dapat meletakkan kepada sang pengembara apabila menerima layanan servis hotel yang baik dan cekap sekali. The hotel is perfectly situated with fantastic views over the South China Sea, and close to the market and waterfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: Just asked, and make sure you know the type of room before make booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear MrDell2014,

Thank you for sharing with others your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the location of the hotel and facilities ideal.

Please come and visit us again some day again soon, we are only a short flight from KK.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Le Meridien is a nice hotel.
Unfortunately, I am allergic to carpets in the rooom.
I did not ask for another room and I wonder if the hotel has rooms which are not carpeted?
That would have been ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear ibnibatutta,

I am so sorry, we do not have any rooms in the hotel that are not carpeted. All of our guest rooms and corridor's have been carpeted exactly the same.

If you are travelling to KK again please feel free to reach out to myself or my team as we could help to search for another hotel that may be able to suite your needs or to connect you with an agent that could assist.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed at this property numerous times since 2008. It has been bought and sold a few times over the years. If you are used to Le Meridien in Singapore, KL or Hong Kong, this will not live up to your expectations. And do not mistaje it for a beach resort...it is nowhere near a beach. However, if you are looking for a harbourfront hotel centrally located to all the shops and restaurants in town (and the night market in KK) this is it. Rates seem to vary a lot perhaps depending on occupancy. The Club Room can be a good value if you like the evening open bar and food. Regular rooms do NOT have complimentary wifi, which is very 2002. There are a few good hotels close by - across the street and round the block - if this is not your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a sea view gives you gorgeous full window view of the harbour, seafront markets an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hello csundseth,

Thank you for taking the time to share with others the feedback from your recent stay with us. Your review is correct in relation to the hotel an surroundings. As I have mentioned in other reviews we will be renovating the hotel later this year.

Thank you for sharing your tip with others in regards to staying in a Club room or a room overlooking the sea side both are amongst a favourite with our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope you will travel back to KK soon.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Looking at the price and comparing to other hotels in Malaysia you'll be disappointed after being there. They won't give you internet access if you won't pay 20 rm per hour! Probably you won't have breakfast included and you'll pay 50 rm. the roof of the room an the building is very low and it is not a good sensation. It don't worth the price. Choose another hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Cristina,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback from your recent stay in Kota Kinabalu. I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was overpriced and not good value for money, we will certainly review your comments and review the pricing if necessary in the areas mentioned.

One of the reasons was perhaps that your travel dates were over the very High demand Chinese New Year period as you mention you were here in early February. This is a very high demand period for accommodation rooms in Kota Kinablau due to traveler from China and also nearby locations where they have an extended holiday at this time.

I am sorry that you did not leave with a more positive experience and hope that overall your travel experience in Sabah was a memorable one.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated with fantastic views over the South China Sea, and close to the market and waterfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Front desk really helpful. Cannot fault the place. Would definitely recommend upgrading to the Club package which will give you the opportunity to have complementary evening drinks and breakfast on the 12th floor while enjoying stunning views over the bay.

Room Tip: Try and get the highest room available with views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you Hello Richard_Lux for sharing your review with others.

I was delighted to read specifically your comments related to our front office associates, thank you for sharing.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Sabah in the future.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very nice hotel in a very good location if you want to walk around the center. The rooms were, as would be expected, of a high standard, and breakfast was also good.
The only drawback is the smell that sometimes comes from the sea, and if you are in the pool can be deterring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello Macieira,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.

You are righ, located opposite is a fresh market (mainly seafood and local produce), if the wind is travelling in the wrong direction we do have a strong sea smell, though otherwise this is a very interesting market to discover local produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Overlooking the South China Sea and the colorful harbor market is one of your rewards for staying at this world class hotel. Plus the kind of service you would expect is amplified. The chef walked across the street for us and bought freshly caught crabs that he grilled for us at dinner... Just because we mentioned how beautiful they were and that we loved them. Excellent shopping in the same block as the hotel. I'd never stay anywhere else in this city.

Room Tip: Go for an upper story room facing the sea and market - More view. No street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you Rollingal for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to read that one of our team really went out of their way to create such a memorable experience for you. At the same time you cannot find fresher seafood then in the markets surrounding the hotel,. so a very good choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you travel back to Sabah again.

Best regards,

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £90 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing