We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel in Kota Kinabalu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel in Kota Kinabalu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I am glad that I have chosen to stay in this hotel. It has the best and strategic location. I guess other branded hotels in Kota Kinabalu is unlikely to compare with Le Meridien as those hotels look dull now.

Its facilities such as swimming pool, gym, steam and sauna are fully operational and well maintained. I am glad that I have a chance to use it.

There is a cocktain reception next to the pool on every Tuesday evening (6~7pm), Here is the chance to mingle with the staff of the hotel and tourists from other countries. The executive lounge at 12th floor provides an excellent view to the water front.

It has no regret to stay in Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room if your booking is allowable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley_Wong1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello Stanley_Wong1204,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our weekly cocktail which is held once a week, it's a great opportunity for us to connect with our guests and weather permitting to showcase the fabulous sunset view from our pool side.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien the next time you will travel to KK.

With best regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    817
    216
    71
    30
See reviews for
388
757
114
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

1. Convenience as it is located centre of KK. Short walking distance to the Filipinos market, seafood eatery, night entertainment and malls.
2.Its a pleasure to wake up with the sea view :-)
3. Great hospitality service by the hotel management.
Just check in and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeLicityFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

great location for a foodie - day markets and then around 3 every evening a large night market gets set up with fresh meats and seafoods and street vendors -
Found the staff extremely polite - knowledgeable and of course very friendly and would love to head back there as we did enjoy ourselves.
Our favorite dinner was when we had the chef Rhondi cook mudcrabs brought fresh form the market - and you order your dinner the night before and they set up at the pool if you would like - the crab were awesome.
we tried some massages in town but found the hotels spa was far superior and the level of massage was excellent - having had massages all around the world - i thought my masseuse was one of the best her deep tissue was found those knots!
One evening the GM had a get to know the staff drinks and nibblies and had fun meeting everyone - this is where we met the masseuse with free shoulder massages - it only took 30 seconds to realize we needed a session with her the following day!
It was a a good break and very interesting food adventure - helped by a great
hotel and staff

Room Tip: we did the daily upgrade and found it a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beignet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello beignet9,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I have personally thanked Chef Rhondi, he is very passionate about food and always eager to help our guests explore and experience the local seafood or market - thank you for trusting him and our team to help you on your food adventure.

This is wonderful feedback for the Solace Spa team, the masseuse's and staff belong to a much larger spa operation at 2 resorts on Gaya Island so they are very professionally trained and receive specialist training to help our guests with recovery massages after climbing the Mountain.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, I do hope that you will travel back to Kota Kinabalu in the future.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Tiada yang dapat meletakkan kepada sang pengembara apabila menerima layanan servis hotel yang baik dan cekap sekali. The hotel is perfectly situated with fantastic views over the South China Sea, and close to the market and waterfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: Just asked, and make sure you know the type of room before make booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear MrDell2014,

Thank you for sharing with others your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the location of the hotel and facilities ideal.

Please come and visit us again some day again soon, we are only a short flight from KK.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Le Meridien is a nice hotel.
Unfortunately, I am allergic to carpets in the rooom.
I did not ask for another room and I wonder if the hotel has rooms which are not carpeted?
That would have been ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear ibnibatutta,

I am so sorry, we do not have any rooms in the hotel that are not carpeted. All of our guest rooms and corridor's have been carpeted exactly the same.

If you are travelling to KK again please feel free to reach out to myself or my team as we could help to search for another hotel that may be able to suite your needs or to connect you with an agent that could assist.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed at this property numerous times since 2008. It has been bought and sold a few times over the years. If you are used to Le Meridien in Singapore, KL or Hong Kong, this will not live up to your expectations. And do not mistaje it for a beach resort...it is nowhere near a beach. However, if you are looking for a harbourfront hotel centrally located to all the shops and restaurants in town (and the night market in KK) this is it. Rates seem to vary a lot perhaps depending on occupancy. The Club Room can be a good value if you like the evening open bar and food. Regular rooms do NOT have complimentary wifi, which is very 2002. There are a few good hotels close by - across the street and round the block - if this is not your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a sea view gives you gorgeous full window view of the harbour, seafront markets an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hello csundseth,

Thank you for taking the time to share with others the feedback from your recent stay with us. Your review is correct in relation to the hotel an surroundings. As I have mentioned in other reviews we will be renovating the hotel later this year.

Thank you for sharing your tip with others in regards to staying in a Club room or a room overlooking the sea side both are amongst a favourite with our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope you will travel back to KK soon.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Looking at the price and comparing to other hotels in Malaysia you'll be disappointed after being there. They won't give you internet access if you won't pay 20 rm per hour! Probably you won't have breakfast included and you'll pay 50 rm. the roof of the room an the building is very low and it is not a good sensation. It don't worth the price. Choose another hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Cristina,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback from your recent stay in Kota Kinabalu. I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was overpriced and not good value for money, we will certainly review your comments and review the pricing if necessary in the areas mentioned.

One of the reasons was perhaps that your travel dates were over the very High demand Chinese New Year period as you mention you were here in early February. This is a very high demand period for accommodation rooms in Kota Kinablau due to traveler from China and also nearby locations where they have an extended holiday at this time.

I am sorry that you did not leave with a more positive experience and hope that overall your travel experience in Sabah was a memorable one.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing