We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed 10 nights in the Le Meridien in March from the moment we stepped foot in the hotel till the time we left we were treated like old friends . We arrived on an overnight flight at about 7am to be politely advised that our room was still being prepared and escorted to The Circle restaurant for a breakfast , we could not do the breakfast justice after the flight but did make up for it during the course of our stay , the selection was large and varied and must have pleased everybody's tastes . Soon after we had finished our room was ready and we were advised by very friendly staff .The room was massive very well appointed and clean and kept that way by staff during the stay . The hotel is situated in the heart of town and the staff were only to pleased
to assist with directions , taxis , eateries ,tours etc , The staff from the General Manager , Fiona down were excellent , their customer service skills were fantastic and a credit to her ,her managers and the company and their training , it really made it a great experience . As well as breakfast at the Circle restaurant we also dined there and that was also very good and reasonable and the staff as usual were great Rodney runs it very good . Well done Le Meridien when we return we will be staying there again and will recommended it to everyone . With this experience we immediately joined their SPG programme ,if this is the standard of their hotels we will be staying with their group a lot more

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP194R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed three nights in a club sea view room, the room was great the bed very comfy and the views perfect. Staff and attention to detail was first class i found the decor to be fine not dated at all - different tastes. Breakfast was perfect as well.

The executive room is fantastic with many photos taken of the setting sun every night while looking over the market wondering what was for dinner that night.

The gym is very well equipped and almost makes it a pleasure to workout with the view of the sea.

If im ever in Kota Kinabalu again i will be staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0WerMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear MOWerMan,

Thank you so much for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the gym, I agree with you the perspective and views make it a very pleasant place to be.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you travel to KK again in the future.

Best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Every time we travel we definitely assess the hotel we stay at. From our first impression and expectations to the service. We also endeavour to stay at 2 different hotels at each destination. As we read reviews and book Le Miridien, we had high hopes being only ranked below Shangri-La and above Sutera. However we were setup for disappointment.

Firstly, our bathroom was dirty, we were not provided with the full amenities and had to call the operator multiple times to assist with these.
Secondly, we ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room of which they left a few items off. How can a five star hotel deliver breakfast but not include everything in the delivery.
Thirdly, they not just left off main menu items like a hash brown but also the salt and pepper. Of which we proceeded to ask the operator to send up and it never came.

This has definitely been one of the worse 5 star hotels we have stayed at and we have tried many around the world.

Stay away from this hotel if you can. We went to Sutera Magellan during the other period and this was definitely a more pleasant experience considering the cost is similar. If location is a worry, Sutera does provide a shuttle bus to the City.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Vincent P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. I am very sorry for your experience and would like to extend my sincere apologies for not delivered a hotel stay or experience that you had expected.

I cannot offer any explanation to the standard of the cleanliness in the bathroom, for this it is simply not good enough. As you have mentioned our standard amenity setup in the guest rooms is to provide soap, shampoo's, bath gel etc. For other request such as toothbrush, shaving razor, loofah mouthwash etc we have all of these items available on request for the guest. Apologies if we did not have the minimum requirements available for you.

I have shared your feedback in regards to the In Room Dining experience with our Food & Beverage service team and have asked them to look into this. The experience you describe is not as it should of been and clearly you have highlighted a shortfall in our standards.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, I do hop that this did not detract from your overall impressions of Kota Kinabalu as a holiday destination.

Sincerely yours,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I dont know how it happened, but upon booking, I apparently became a Starwood Preferred Member. Dont really know what that meant but I guess from now on im a bit more special than most guests. Haha! Just had to mention. Still, awesome nonetheless.

Price-wise, this place is excellent. Rooms are clean, location is perfect and the staff are very courteous.

We came a bit early as the check in was at 3pm, but they were nice enough to keep our luggage so we can explore a bit before they get a room ready. By 1230 they already had a room for us so it was getting good.

Im impressed how the people at the reception are welcome to talking to guests and building rapport. Youll really feel welcomed.

The room is quite spacious. Place is complete with necessities required. A lot of free water. haha!

Although it was a bit odd that whenever we'd use the bathroom, we'd hear the pipes and drains make A LOT of noise. Other than that, our stay was excellent.

We got a deluxe room with a King sized bed. They also helped us get a cab to the airport for 30rm. Nice!

Room Tip: When you book, make sure you include breakfast, unless you plan on eating out. I kind of regret not...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justcallmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello justcallmehans,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased our reception team made you feel welcomed, I have shared your feedback with our team to keep them motivated and encouraged.

Thank you for calling out to others about making a reservation with breakfast, we do have a variety of rates and packages available to suit the needs of our guests.

Lastly, welcome to the world of SPG, thank you for joining during your stay. If you haven't already please download our SPG app (all platforms) for very comprehensive information about our hotels and exclusive benefits for you as you travel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu when you next travel to KK.

Warmest regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Iocated at very strategic place in Kota kinabalu opposite the Filipino market and sea side. Service of le meridian is expected. Good size bright room with good facilities.

As SPG member I was upgraded to sea room. Good buffet breakfast spread and taste not bad.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello JimmyKL,

Thank you for being an SPG member, I am so pleased that we were able to extend you an upgraded room on this stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in KK.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in a room overlooking the busy market and sea. Check in was welcoming and we were allocated a good corner room. The room was clean and comfortable and most satisfactory. The large comprehensive breakfast off the foyer on the ground floor was good and the service efficient. This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel and would almost certainly stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room directly below the club lounge if possible. We noticed some furniture moving no...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sejlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Sejlane,

Thank you for staying with us again on your recent 3rd stay, thank you for calling Le Meridien home on your trip to KK.

I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our room doesn't have hair dryer, towels was very few, our toilet was broken, bathroom was dirty, tub was very nasty dirty! water was cost $12.00 or more. my husband order break fest and my husband was not feeling well so we ordered breakfest to delievery to our room and never came!!! I cancel our room in sixty3 hotel and chose this hotel in stead and that was a wrong moved because our friends who stayed in sixty3 hotel had a better room, free water, hair dryer and cleaned room.

Room Tip: maybe ocean view. our was the down town. nothing really to see besie bunch of old bulding
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Nadia,

I am very surprised and disappointed to read your review from your recent stay with us. Firstly let me extend to you our very sincere apologies for clearly not extending a stay or experience that you should of had, I am very very sorry.

It is a standard in each of our guest rooms to have a hair dryer, I can only imagine that you did not find its location during your stay. We do have Evian water for sale at a charge, though in every room we have at least 2 bottles of complimentary drinking water available and if a request is made with our service center they will send more to the guest room.

This does not excuse the fact that you ordered room service and no delivery or the standard of your bathroom. I would recommend that if you are not satisfied in future or have a similar experience to let us or any hotel team know whilst you are in the hotel so we can take steps to address the issues for you and for future guests.

Warmest regards,

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £87 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing