We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a 5 stars hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is well located but the decoration is old. No welcome when we arrived late and we had to wait to check in because there was only one personn at the desk. The room though is big and clean but we found no basic toiletry such as tooth brushes... We complained to the manager who fixed rapidly the problem but we dońt know if it was a mistake or the normal thing. The bar in the lobby is not attractive and the swimming pool near the parking lot is a bit strange. The staff did not care removing the cushions so when we went for a drink by the swimming pool we could not seat on the transats because there was rain in the afternoon. So there was not really a nice place to relax.
Overall we did not feel the attention you should have in a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank institrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello institrabbit,

Thank you for your very constructive and informative review. I am aware of the issue related to lack of amenities in your guest room upon arrival. I agree that was not acceptable or up to our standards. We have addressed this with our Housekeeping team and have taken corrective action to ensure it does not happen to other guests.

Your feedback on the pool lounges is well noted, we will look into this process with our team as I agree we could be more proactive related to protecting the lounged when rain in pending.

I am sorry that we did not deliver up to your expectations and hope that it did not impact on your overall impression of Sabah the destination.

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    837
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
407
777
117
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have the best location for shopping. Easy access for taxis. Helpful staff. Near to all the restaurants and markets. Everything is walking distance. Near to all the clubs. By the sea. Have the best sea view. Near to hard rock shop. Wide variety of food at the hotel's restaurant.
Neat rooms. If you left your item, they will keep it for you until your next trip or post it to you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulaikhaJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello ZulaikhaJu,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. It sounds like you really explored KK and the local area around the hotel, I am pleased you found the hotel well located.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was clean, in a central location, if you get a water view room, it is well worth the stay.
The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient, amenities were good, I would definitely recommend this hotel to people travelling to Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classygalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello classygal,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the recommendation.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I recently spent 4 nights in a Club Room at Le Meridien KK. The hotel itself is well located right in the centre of town overlooking the harbour and nearby islands. The rooms were spacious and clean, with good quality toiletries in the bathroom. We used the pool a couple of times and the outdoors area was well-kept and clean, if somewhat bland. The Club Lounge was well frequented by us and others - good wine, beer and spirit offerings although the food selection was a bit light-on and repetitive compared with other Asian hotel club lounges. Still, it was a lovely place to sit and watch the sunset.

All the staff were, without exception, wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

However the place seems to have a dated (1990s?) feel about it. A makeover would bring it back to it's former glory.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Itch-4, Travel,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and review with others on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you appreciated the service from our associates.

Great feedback and input on the club lounge menu, this is something I will review with our Chef to see if we can add in some additional variety, thank you for highlighting this.

We will be starting a renovation this year which will be primarily to refresh the guest rooms and public areas. The dates that we will start are still TBC and as soon as we know we will post the plan and updates on our website, please stay tuned.

Thank you again for sharing, I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel located at a walking distance to Philiphino Market, Wet Market, seafood restaurants, food stalls and Gaya Sunday Market. It is so convenience to have everything within my reach for a shopper like me. No complaint about the stay. The room is comfortable. The breakfast spread is good and variety. Overall stay - satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello ccsala,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had an opportunity to explore KK and the Sunday markets on Gaya Street.

I hope we ave the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Le Meridian is in great location close to the markets and other food outlets great views from the sea view rooms foods good, bars expensive staff are a bit unfriendly and despite being a SPG member I found I could still have gotten better deal via on line booking agents than direct

Room Tip: make sure you check before booking direct as better deals can be obtained IE sea view room for same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and surroundings of the hotel.

I was very disappointed to read that you could find a better deal online than booking direct with the hotel. We do have some specific promotion rates on our Hotel and SPG website that are subject to full prepayment and not flexible with cancellation terms etc, which may of been the case. Though if the better rates were found on another web site I would like to ensure that you are aware that we extend a best rate guarantee on our rates online. If you need additional information please contact me directly or visit anyone of the SPG or Starwood websites.

I do hope that you will consider to stay with us again if you do travel back to Sabah again in the future.

With bests regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A highly recommendable hotel to put up with for either business or pleasure. I personally have had numerous good experiences with Le Meridien KK. The front line team are always friendly and helpful. There were some mixed up of bookings during my last stay but immediately the team responded by apologizing and offered a room upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite.

Despite being an old hotel already rooms are still very comfortable and clean. I do believe that upgrades are already being undertaken for some rooms already.

Coffee house provides a pretty good breakfast buffet - pretty good selection and choices. Generally, most dishes served are well flavored. So if one is too tired or lazy to venture out for good food outside, good choices are available within.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello YvonneI444,

I am so pleased that you have stayed with us numerous times and have had good experiences. From your review it appears we recovered from on oversight on your last stay, thank you for giving us another chance and staying with us on this occasion.

Thank you for sharing your tips with others on the food variety and guest rooms - I find this a very honest comment, thank you.

I hope I have the chance to meet you personally on your next stay.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Odigeo, Starwood APAC, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing