We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large impersonal hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large impersonal hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here on my way back to Singapore from Sandakan and I am sorry to say I was underwhelmed at the hotel. It was just another large hotel with nothing special about it. I was a bit put off as I wasn't on a floor with internet supplied, really in a hotel of this style why is internet only available free on certain floor, very odd.
Carpets in room were stained and looked as if they could do with a clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien_KotaK, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Go H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am disspointed that read that you found the hotel impersonal and I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you personally during your stay with us.

We extend complimentary internet to our SPG Platinum and Golld level members and those staying in a Le Meridien Club or Suite room. At this stage we extend intenret inclusive rates for our guests to reserve as a package where this is inlcuded and extend complimentary wifi in the public areas.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations though hope that this did not impact on your overall impression of Sabah.

Sincerley yours,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    809
    213
    71
    30
See reviews for
383
747
114
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The service at this hotel was great and the room in very good condition. The location is perfect as there are night street markets all around the hotel and bars, shops and restaurants a short walk away. There are a couple of large shopping malls which are great for souvenirs (I love looking for weird t-shirts with bad English translations!) The lobby has an excursion desk where you can book day trips to local places - we went to see orangutans, took a tour bus into the forests where we went into spas and tree top walks, took a trip to a local island to snorkel and took a trip to Bunga Raya island resort for a spa treatment. There are many dining areas to choose from and live music is often performed. We also had a massage at the hotel. The outside pool overlooks the main road and the sea. There is a small shop in the lobby where you can buy sunscreen but across the road is a chemist where it is cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel embellished our Mount Kinabalu experience. After a cold, sleeping on a hammock like mattress night, and rainy, with no view at all climb to the top of the mountain, this stay made our trip. We arrived and felt very welcome, all staff serviced us nice. Room had a stunning view to the sea. We got special lounge offers after upgrading taking the SPG offer and fully enjoyed snacks and dinner buffet with very delicious dishes and stylish looking desserts. All is well organized and staff with hands-on mentality helps when necessary. It was the first time in a hotel like this for me and now I understand why people book this kind of hotel all time.

Room Tip: Take a seaview hotel far away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien_KotaK, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Zumsey,

Congratulations for climbing Mt Kinabalu! I am delighted that we could provide a warm welcome and a little bit of luxury to help you celebrate and recuparate after the climb.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gippsland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here for 14 nights and regard all aspects of the hotel's operation as excellent.
One of the most impressive is that the General Manager is very visible and engages directly with customers. Other senior staff were also walking around and talking with customers.

1. Welcome
The greeting by the friendly staff at both the entrance and at check in creates a good first impression and continued for the duration of the stay.

2. Food.
Ate at the Circle restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The quality and variety is very good indeed and the encouragement to try the "local" menu items was well worth it. I tried the buffet at the Hyatt Regency and Le Meridien's is far superior. Service by wait staff was helpful and attentive. To get matters in perspective, RM100 is only about $A30 so a full buffet is still damn cheap and you have the comfort of air conditioned and hygienic surroundings!

3. Tours
Took 6 tours, again relatively inexpensive, and the hotel tour staff are excellent! Was always met punctually and looked after for the duration of the tour.

4. The Club
The facilities of the Club on Level 12 again are excellent. It was particularly useful after a long day to have a coffee or drink, partake of snacks and watch the sunset. Breakfast at Club level was also well organised. There is also a large range of games, a business centre and newspapers/ magazines.

5. The Room.
Had an SPG room on level 11 and the facilities were consistent with a quality hotel. While on 2 occasions in 14 days I had trouble connecting to the internet it was, for the most part, quite satisfactory. For laundry I went to the Mega Laundry on Ruang Sinsuran 2, just out the back of the hotel, where they charged a ridiculously low rate of RM5 per kilo wash and fold- in the same day! Didn't watch much television but I was impressed by the fact that Australian Rules football was available on the box on the Australia Network.
The only matter I am still unclear about is whether the tap water is safe to drink. Bottled drinking water was supplied but no specific advice was given about the water quality.

6. The Location
This hotel is well located and is within easy walking distance of the Markets, Suria Sabah and Centrepoint Malls. There is also a taxi gathering area just out front.

7. Gym, Pool, Spa

Used the gymnasium and it had 3 treadmills- all working- and a large range of exercise equipment. There is also a sauna and steam room as well as a pool. Don't need a beauty treatment so the spa was not utilised.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club level Get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Fussy Gippsland,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time in our Hotel. I will share the feedback in regard to the Tour arrangement with the Tour Consultant.

It was a pleasure to have you with us as our guest and I hope you will come back to Sabah to visit us again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, you're in Kota Kinabalu, Borneo. You're lucky there is a Le Meridien! Now it may not compare to the one in Paris but.... You're in Borneo! We got a room on the 11th floor and paid extra for the Club level access. It was worth it. The lounge on the 12th floor is the place to be from 5-7pm for free drinks and watching amazing sunsets over the ocean. The room itself is large and clean. All the amenities you'd expect. The hotel is also fairly new so the bathroom is decent too. The location is good. Only 15 mins from airport. Also worth noting is that the airport is next to the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru resort. So we went there for lunch on our first day which was easy as it is so close. If you are considering staying there Id say it also looks good, only busier, more guests, lots of families and great for kids. Great pools for families. A bit of beach. A cool beach bar too. But I think Le Meridien was about $100/night less, even with the club level which gets you free wifi, breakfast and evening drinks/appies. So all told I'm probably 50/50 on which one is better so my recommendation is that of you have kids, go to the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru. If you are just a couple with no kids, go to Le Meridien. And make sure to check our the local market across the street from Le Meridien.

Now a few tips for Le Meridien management:
- you forgot to replace all our towels
- instead of only 2 bath towels, please leave 4. With this heat and humidity, many foreigners will want 2 showers per day.
- why do we only get one bath robe?
- the foam pillows are way too hard, but we requested and received more of the soft pillows (thanks)
- for a French hotel chain we would have really appreciated some champagne in the club lounge. When we stay at the Langham Xintiandi in Shanghai they serve Bollinger in their Club Lounge. That is more like it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank iknowwhatsupyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nathan F,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for sharing your positive review with us from your recent stay.I would like to thank you for the tips you have given us and will share with our team members.
I hope you had a great time in Kota Kinabalu and look forward to welcome you back to our destination.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and had a great time. Ideal location for traveling to various tourist sites. Very spacious suites, well appointed with great view of the sea, fishing boats and the night market - fascinating to watch. Staff very efficient and very friendly. Club lounge provided wonderful afternoon teas and evening happy hour with a great view over the sea. Breakfast included delicious world cuisine, freshly squeezed juices to your specs and morning newspaper. Staff at reception were exceptionally efficient, friendly and proactive. Would definitely stay here again if we return to KK.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingGekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gekko2476,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for the great feedback and look like you had a great time in Kota Kinabalu. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed in May and happy I stayed here over other hotels I was looking at. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to an ocean view deluxe and the room was great. Not old and tired like other reviews. The staff and service was really exceptional and breakfast awesome-and yes, the breakfast daily eye-openers a treat to look forward to! Great location next to markets and shopping centres, restaurants etc. would absolutely stay again. The pool area really nice too.

Room Tip: Ocean view is really the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Suzd22,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for posting such a warm review from your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.
I am very pleased you enjoyed our service and the breakfast spread especially the Eye Opener

Once again thank you again and look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu in the near future.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
13.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Holiday Gems so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing