We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place in KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect place in KK”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We got a really good discounted price from Stawood best rate guarantee stating the favourable price at asia web direct. A club room with access to the club lounge on the top floor. That was really nice. The breakfast selection isn't that big up there, but it's nice and quiet and you have a great view. The free cocktails between 5 and 7 pm is also a nice way to see the view and the sunset if the sky is clear. But why they only have 10 sun beds by the pool I cannot understand. The service was excellent too, and the hotel has a great location in the middle of the city close to the boardwalk and night market. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
764
115
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Deluxe room was huge with bath and walk-in shower. 2 queen-size beds, flat-screen TV, ironing board, fridge, complimentary water & toiletries.
Breakfast buffet has a large choice of multi-national cuisine. Didn't eat any other meals in the restaurant as there are many better-value ones in the immediate vicinity, had Italian, Chinese, Indian and Japanese on consecutive nights.
Fascinating Filipino food market opposite the hotel, never seen so much choice of fish.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluevictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I booked directly at hotel's website & got a stay 2 nights free 1 night deal. Am surprise to see that our deluxe room was so huge. The room is non smoking, very clean & spacious with 2 confortable queen size bed. The bath room is equally huge & the house keeping is very generous with the replenishment of the toileitries.
The only dissapointment was the dinner buffet. The choice is limited & the food quality is not up to 5 star hotel standard.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

A well placed hotel with great views from higher floors over the ocean. Breakfast is very large and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Easy to get Taxi's all over the city. Pool is small but pleasant, and drinks and meals reasonably priced for a 'western' hotel vs local restaurants and bars. Be sure to try the Indian restaurant on the waterfront - very nice!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Standard large chain hotel - clean, comfortable, flat screen TV, western food etc etc.

The walls were paper thin though and could hear pretty much everything in the room next door.

Bit souless.....close to the night market though.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding aniversary in Kota Kinabalu and decided to stay at Le Meridien even though we had initially chosen a resort near the airport. We had a deluxe sea view room and the scenary was simply awesome. The most enjoyable time of the day is to laze by the window watching the sun set into the horizon, besides being entertained by an army of hawkers setting up the evening market in a clock work fashion by the waterfront.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel and had no problems finding cheap yet delicious local food at the nearby coffee shops. As the hotel was in the heart of town, there are numerous restaurants, markets and pubs arcoss the street, so it was very convenient should the need arises.

The best part of the stay was a suprise bouquet of roses for my wife, a freshly baked cheese cake and a bottle of champange nicely arranged in the room when we came back from dinner on the first night. The staff went out of their way to make the stay a memorable one. We were also impressed with the general level of service e.g. to address the guest by name and trying to anticipate our needs e.g. lending us an umbrella when it was drizzling.

We had paid USD92 per night and it was truly value for money.

We came to Kota Kinabalu for the experience and we found it here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Nice large rooms that were very well appointed.

All standard amenities plus some extras featured: laptop sized safe, umbrella, room slippers, LCD TV, DVD player, mini-bar and fridge, working desk, lounge chair, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes, marble bathroom counter top, marble bathroom floors and walls, and separate shower and bath. Good breakfast with a selection that, while not awe inspiring, will nonetheless not necessarily leave one wanting for choice on the third day of one's stay.

The negatives:

(a) The bed was a bit hard for my tastes;

(b) The LCD TV was, I think, no larger than a 27-inch or maybe even smaller than that.

(c) Cleaning standards were pretty good but not great. (I found a cobweb hanging between the floor lamp and the window.)

(d) Internet was free but slow and WiFi was only available in the public areas.

(e) Room maintenance was 3.75 out of 5 at best. The door to the adjoining room had featured a very large crack running along its side, the bottom of the bathroom door featured peeling paint, and the tub had scratches that exposed the material underlying the white porcelain like finish.

(f) Towel quality was variable. One day, I got nice large fluffy towels, on the next, a poor excuse of one.

(g) Thin walls or maybe it was because the rooms on both sides and the one above me were occupied with families with kids? I could hear banging and muffled conversations well past 11 pm. Only at 12 am onwards did things quiet down. My room was likewise right across a service door and I could hear hotel staff coming in and out and holding conversations in the hallway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing