We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, it is very central, walking distance to the shopping malls, restaurants, Sunday markets and Jesselton wharf. The room was large, clean and very comfortable, it had great views of the harbour and the filipino market. The buffet breakfast had a large range of choices both western and asian foods. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Its bar was a haven for an afternoon drink or cup of tea after a day touring or shopping. The pool and gym were lovely especially at sunset.

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Russelljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    830
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
396
769
117
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at Le Meridian for a weekend of sightseeing in KK. It is located right on the waterfront, by the bars and markets, so it is in a really convenient position. We paid only £50 per night, and this is amazing value as the rooms are great, and the breakfast buffet is HUGE! The hotel also has a gorgeous swimming pool with views of the sea. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london - uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed at le meridian for three nights at the beginning our our trip around Sabah and 1 night at the end.
We thought the hotel was brilliant, the location was one of the best things about the hotel - its right opposite the night market which you must visit. Walking around the fruit and veg staff and then the fish and meat stalls was brilliant, vibrant colours and friendly people. And its great to just pop over the road to the night market for a quick dinner.

The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, the rooms have a tv and dvd player which is great if you want a relaxing evening. And the beds are really large, lots of room to spread out
The bathrooms are large and clean, there is a bath to soak in and a large walk in shower.
Both times we stayed we booked the cheapest room and where pleasently suprised when we had a city and partial sea view, and both times we booked a pacakge including breakfast which we highly recommened.

The breakfast is buffest style, but they do have a couple of stations/chefs cooking food such as eggs and pancakes to order. The choice of food for breakfast is vast, there are western and eastern choices and it really does fill you up for the day!
The staff where helpful and the pool was great, its nice to have a drink at the pool bar watching the sunsets. The sunsets where amazing.

Overall we where really pleased with this hotel, its right in the centre of town and walking distance to everywhere, when we return to KK (which Im sure we will do) if we need a city hotel we will definatly stay here.

Some tips
When you arrive at KK airport, there is a taxi counter where you buy a coupon for your taxi. Then walk outside and hand it to the taxi driver - easy as that.
When you need to get back to the airport, just let the reception or concierge know and they will call one for you , and it will again be 20 MYR each way

The night market opposit the hotel is brilliant, you should go there for an authentic dinner

If your there on a Sunday go to Gaya Street market, its amazing. They sell everything from food, pets to the kitchen sink! well worth a visit

There is a shopping center across the road to the hotel , and if you need cooling down this is perfect with the air conditioning. There are soo many floors so just keep wandering around.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dazed_dizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Great place to stay. I have stayed at this hotel from an internal meeting of my company. Superb hospitality and great services.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drsanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

It was a great hotel in the best location of KK city, facing the sea. It was close to the seafront esplanade with many food outlets and night market (but the whole area was disappointing as the whole place smelled of dead rotten waste food - very unhealthy air indeed. The seafood there was expensive too as compared to the city's seafood center (25% cheaper) located opposite the city's main shopping center called center-point). The hotel is also near to the free bus pick-up point to the brand new 1-Borneo hyper-mall shopping center, where prices of everything is lower.

We had one of Star-wood preferred guest rooms. The room has nice view of the sea and the mountains. Room and toilet are clean. Room service was a little tardy. Two of the pillow cases were not changed, and they took 1 hour (after a 2nd reminder) to come and change them. Everything else, including the front desk, were pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern U.S.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Meridien was an excellent choice in KK. . great rooms overlooking the Filipino Market and the sunsets over the South China Sea were great.

Room was large, free internet in rooms, around the pool and in the lobby. Rooms were wired, other areas were wifi.

Lobby restaurant was excellent. huge breakfast buffet. The restaurant was celebrating the food of Malaysia in May at the evening buffet. Quite varied and some good entrees.

Mr Ash, the concierge, waited for me to present travel plans I had prearranged, even though he was off-duty.

No need for airport transfers. .ATM outside Customs in next to Fixed Price Taxi service. Pay 20 MYR and take the coupon and give it to the driver-- you are off.

Also found a great laundry two short blocks behind the hotel, Mega Laundry--did 4 1/2 kilos of clothes for 19 MYR, 1 MYR more than the hotel wanted for a pair of jeans.

Lots of food choices available on the boardwalk across from the hotel. Starbucks in next block. and two McDonald's within two blocks.

A great place to stay to enjoy Sabah.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Hotel needs a bit of maintenance (paint chipped, vacuuming is average etc...), but pool area is nice and breakfast buffet is good (though it closes at 10am). Asking for a taxi can result in the concierge staff getting you a private taxi which costs double the price (even if you continue to ask for a normal taxi) and they can be a bit slow/disorganised a breakfast but it seems the nicest hotel in the centre of KK and very convenient for pickups if you scuba dive etc...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 00pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing