We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic view of sea and fruit market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fantastic view of sea and fruit market”
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We only stayed here for 1 night in April and can say that it was very good value for money. The deluxe rooms were the largest we have encountered and the bathrooms were very big too! The breakfast variety was vast with so much on offer that I did not get round to seeing it all.

The only downside was the immediate area surrounding the hotel. It was dirty, smelly rundown and we had to dodge many cockroaches. Having said that oit's not the hotels fault but if I had to stay here longer I would find it hard to go for a walk in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
763
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is the nicest hotel that we ever stayed in KK. It has a very big and well decorated lobby and the staffs are friendly. The room is nice too but not a good view since I took the one facing the city. Room is quite spacious. We took the 2 queen bed room, comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. The pool is nice too.
The best of all, it located at the heart of KK city. The night market and handicraft market is just across the street. There are also some air-conditioned shopping malls close by of you can't stand the heat and humidity.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Stayed here twice - 3 nights in a club room, then 2 nights in a Deluxe Seaview. They have a 'Pay 2, Stay 3' promotion on their website and this made the club rooms very reasonable. Both rooms were huge (over 40 sq metres) and both had a fantastic view of the sunsets. Very friendly staff and great breakfasts, both in the club and in the downstairs restaurant. The club has afternoon tea provided as well as drinks and (substantial) nibbles. They made us other drinks (gin and tonic, wine etc) so it's not only what is on display. Location of the hotel is great, with restaurants, shopping malls and the night market all around it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newplacesoldcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This is my usual business trip hotel in KK after Sutera Harbour was taken off the panel hotel list. Hotel location is good, in the middle of the KK town and not very far from the airport. Plenty of local food and shopping around. Room is spacious. Generally, the hotel is good (worth the price that you pay - MYR 280 w/o breakfast) in every bit except the internet connection speed, it is AWFUL.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Le Meridien was a great hotel to stay at, rooms are very large, clean and very well appointed. We spent 12 nights there during a recent visit to Sabah to climb Mount Kinablu and go scuba diving.
Our visit was made even more special by the fact that the hotel knew it was my birthday and sent flower, cake and sparkling fruit juice to our room.
Breakfast was a feast with massive of choices and all of the staff from reception, room staff, pool staff and the restaurant staff were great.
The night market directly across from the hotel, as others have mentioned, is a great place to try out the local seafood etc at knock-down prices, all freshly caught and cooked.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed in 2 connecting rooms facing the sea in March 2010. We arrived early in the day. Not surprisingly the rooms were not ready but we were given another room until our connecting rooms for the family were ready. The rooms are huge and well equipped. The satff are very helpful. The view of the sunset was fantastic. This is the best place to stay in KK itself.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfarersAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we loved it. The staff were ever friendly & helpful, and advised of things to see while we stayed there. The hotel was very clean and our room was serviced daily. The only problem i found with the hotel was the location it is right on the waterfront across from the night markets which is where the locals shop each night for their fresh fruit, vegetable & seafood and each morning before clean up it can get a little smelly. But other than that we enjoyed our time their and would definitely stay again, just based on the friendly staff there.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing