We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second best holiday ever ( hopefully best still to come) !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“second best holiday ever ( hopefully best still to come) !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

just returned from one of best family holidays ever to celebrate parents golden wedding anniversary !!! was a bit apprehensive to book the Hotel initially especially since the hotel is not a resort but on hind sight it was probably the best decision. had 6 club rooms with Lounge Access and could not have has asked for more. The lounge was truly magnificent with breathtaking views ,it was more like a extended living room where all the family got together ( 12adults, 2 kids) .Special thanks to Edna and Aida in the club lounge for going beyond their normal call of duty to make everyone welcome and making them feel at home.
The location of the Hotel is just fantastic with everyone having their own choices of things to do, shopping malls, massages , amazing fresh sea food across the road. All in all a absolutely wonderful holiday and definitely look forward to going back soon !!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerash8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    816
    216
    71
    30
See reviews for
387
757
114
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Le Meridien is a nice western oasis in KK. All the comforts and style that you may be used to, set as a perfect jumping off spot for an adventure to scuba/snorkel, trek the mountains, or out in the jungle to see the orangatangs. Staff is very friendly and welcoming and caters to your very need. Rooms were spacious and tailored.

Very conveniently located, all your supplies are in reach within a short walk. Take in the night market across the street; Sundays have a great market a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtn_bear_colo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country NSW
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed 2 Nights in a Seaview room & were really happy. The staff were friendly & helpful, & the location was great. Recommend watching the sunset at the pool area, it was spectacular. We had breakfast included in our package but had to leave at 4.30am for an airport transfer so the staff suggested & organised a hamper that we took with us. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveforholidays-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights with 2 children and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in finding us connecting rooms. Views were great and breakfast was outstanding. The outside of the hotel needs a repaint and there is a fishy smell by the pool sometimes but all in all excellent hotel and superb service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

The service at the frontdesk was friendly and prompt. The concierge was very very helpful. We had a dilema on our trip to visit the tourist spots so we approached the concierge and they suggested a few plans, helped us book the trips as well. I was indeed relieve and it was an excellent suggestion. We were given a welcome drink.

The service at at the restaurant when we went for breakfast was all right. I said this because we had to call them a few times in order to have our coffee. The next day, we got our coffee on another table and not at the table we were at. I had some noodles at the buffet table and came to realise there's a hair in my soup. I mentioned it to the management. They apologised.

The room was very clean. Ours was facing the sea view. The bed was comfortable and the facilities are great. It has hair dryer, iron with ironing board. A desk where you can work with your computer.(internet access) We receive newspaper daily and the Bathroom facilities were sufficient as well.

The downside of the room is the robes were clearly for tiny ppl of size S because we could not fit in it. The doors are not sound proofs. On our first night we had a bunch of club going ladies returned and they were laughing and screaming very load at midnight. We called the frontdesk but they did not send security. In the end I had to walk out of our room and asked them to be quiet and I could hear every single conversation they had.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city. There are shops and night market on the opposite side so you can try a little local flavours. Walking distance there are seafood shops. It is very close to the Jetty if you want to go for an Island trip or to Tanjung Aru for a sunset view. All in all, I love the location of the hotel.

The gym is very good. They have all the gym equipments. The pool is a little small, but bear in mind it's a hotel not a resort. I liked it though because it is facing the seaview. I have only good things to say about them.

What I like best? The staff. Very friendly!! Least? noise because of the doors are not sealed well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed in this Hotel a couple of times and like the hotel very much. The service is fast.... the cleaner finished cleaning my room whilst I was having breakfast...got a rental car within the hour and could have been faster if there was no traffic jam...staff are helpful.
The gym is good and the equipment versatile. The Wellness Centre is nice too.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped. What I like most is that the room provides 2 types of pillows, a firm one and a soft one which is excellent for my aching neck. If you get the room with the seaview, you can see the islands and the open sea beyond. The Food market and the little make shift stores looks very charming.
Unfortunately, once outside the hotel, you will be faced with a different world. Massive traffic jams are common as people park their cars indiscriminately, double parking or even triple parking is the norm. The stench from the clog drains, stale food and preserved seafood is unmistakable and nauseating. At night when the night market is in progress the faces of people loitering around can be intimidating. I guess all these are beyond the control of the Hotel management. Perhaps the Managemtn should appeal to the local authority to improve the surrounding.
I will stay in the hotel again as loitoring around the outside of the hotel in not my priority.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

While planning for our trip to KK, we wanted a nice and comfortable hotel as we plan to move around and see stuff. Hence, we didn't even consider the resorts style accommodation. Le Meridien offers just that and they have two twin beds in their rooms which is perfect for my family. The conceirge is very helpful and there is a pharmacy next door for little emergencies......... you understand if you travel with children. There is a promenade opposite with restuarants...... lovely sunset view but would have been better if they remove the stench from the nearby market. LOL. All in all, it is a very nice hotel and suits our needs.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing