We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Been there for my honeymoon for about five days. Really enjoy our stay there. A short walk from the Filipino market and other malls and the room is very comfortable and clean.. Reception was courteous and easy. Entertaining live band and we love the variety food during the breakfast buffet. However, sometimes when you enter the hotel lobby, there will a unwanted smell (guess because the hotel located nearby wet market).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBuzz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    838
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
407
779
118
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The location of this hotel makes up for its very few shortcomings. It is straight across the road from the amazing night market and the craft markets. It is just a few steps away from the Central Market and it is not much further to the rest that KK offers including Jesselton Wharf where you get the boats to the offshore islands - a must do in KK. We had a sea view room on the 10th floor. The view is great all day but especially good for sunsets and to watch the night market being built and - in the morning - cleared away. Our friends who were travelling with us had a room facing north which wasn't as good. Our room was very spacious and very well appointed - the whole hotel felt stylish and well maintained except for the exterior which is starting to look very tired. We didn't eat there at all - why would you? - there is amazing food forever straight outside and it is not only local and fresh, it is very cheap too. The pool was great for the children and also had a good view. As a hotel it is a bit of an oddity in the mix of buildings in KK - this is very obvious when you see it from the night market - but then all of the buildings in KK are a bit odd. What makes this city hum is the waterfront, streetlife and the escape to the islands or the hills - it is a fantastic place to visit. The service at Le Meridien was excellent - friendly and efficient - but food and drink was pricey - a concern easily avoided by stepping outside. We found a very good breakfast spot - Petes Corner - in nearby Asia City. They do a western breakfast with fantastic freshly squeezed juice and they don't mind if some of you prefer to bring nasi lemak bought from the market alongside. Breakfast was about 40MYR for 7 people. Dinner at the night market was as little as 25MYR for 7!!! A great city and we'd struggle to imagine a better place to stay in it. The location wins it but there is nothing wrong with the rest of it either.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the club lounge after the 2 day Mt KK climb, and it was Heaven!!
By far the best decision we could have made and worth every cent.

We found a buy 2 day get the third day free deal making it quite affordable & didn't have to leave the hotel since food and drink was served in the club room all day.

On the few occasions our wobbly legs took us outside, we found we were in the centre of town with everything we wanted across one of the roads: markets, massage and waterfront meanderings.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Le Meridien is a okay for Borneo but it is nothing special. I guess it is fair to say that the hotel by Borneo standart is good , but if you compare it to international standart then it is not more that a 4 star!!! We also stayed in Shangri La Tanjung wich is much more exprensive and not better that this hotel that is why I will rate it 4.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The outside of this hotel is a bit scary. It's shabby. Although the lobby keeps fine, the room is also lack of maintanence. Absolutely, it's not up to 5 star standard. However, it's location is very good since it's just opposite to the waterfront's food market. The seaview rooms can provide fabulous sea view, Famous seafood restaurants are nearby and Warisan Square is just next to it. A short taxi ride can take you to Jesselton Port for the trips to islands. The beds are not comfortable, but it's still a good city hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We moved to Le Meridien after some laid-back days enjoying the pool and water sports in a resort hotel in KK.
Le Meridien is centrally located facing Handicraft market, Wet market and the night market. Opposite are Marisan Square and Centre Point, THE malls of KK. Waterfront Promenade is also just a road apart.
Shopping, dining and night life are convenient in this part of the city. Even on rainy hours, one stay dry because of the covered walkway between malls.
Room setting classic as expected. Electronic control out of order in room. Room slightly worn, though the wall paper and carpet seemed renewed.
As recommended by previous Trip Advisors, we requested to stay on higher floor. On 6th floor, the noise and drum beat from G/F hotel Nightclub is still faintly affecting us after midnight.
Excellent concierge staff. Cafe staff in black and white; very business like.
Swimming pool catches smell from market and waterfront nearby.
Jetty to islands is 15 minutes walk away. Think is more convenient to visit islands from private jetties of Sutera or Shangri-la Tanjung Aru where you can just jump onto the speedboats in swimwear.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

recently stayed at the Le Meridien with my Fiance. It has an impeccable location, but the hotel is in need of an upgrade. The whole complex is looking very tired and so are the staff.
The rooms are comfortable enough, but do not have any warmth.
Staff do not seem as responsive to requests as they are at other hotels. In particular the breakfasy wait staff seemed to be asleep on their feet. It took over 15 minutes and 4 requests to get a cup of coffee, when finally two pots arrived almost simulataneously.
There is n o doubt that the location is very good. However if you are looking for a great hotel in downtown KK then the refurbished Hyatt offers far better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGlobalWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Starwood APAC, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing