We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Le Meridien is a great base from which to explore KK. It is located across the road from the wonderful fish and produce markets, and is only a short walk from waterfront bars and restaurants where one can enjoy a beer as the sun dips below the ocean. Shopping abounds around the hotel, with several malls of varying vintages located within a short stroll of the lobby. The food at the Circle Restaurant was outstanding, as was the wonderful service we received from all staff at the hotel. And finally - the room. A very spacious, comfortable secure room that allowed us to transition from work mode to relaxing holiday mode the instant we walked through the door.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tragelaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Wonderful to read your review which incorporates the essence of what we believe we are offering. Our new head Chef Rahim has joined us this week and I am sure we will be able to further improve our culinary offering.
Thank you for sharing your experience I am delighted we did it right.
Hope to see you back.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    842
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
409
781
121
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A highly enjoyable stay at Le Meridien. The staff, food and facilities were all excellent, but special mention goes to the buffet breakfast and the facilitiies and staff in the club lounge.

Only criticism would be the lack of wireless internet in the rooms and a slightly soft bed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Happy to see a review it has been a few days this is always one of the best moment of the days to read what our guests think. I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and found the current standards of the club lounge of high quality. We are still reviewing how we could make it even better and have a few good ideas in the making. Looking forward to your next visit when I am sure we will be even better.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel is one of the priciest hotels in KK but also one of the best. Stayed here for two nights and if you want comfort and some sort of luxury then this is the hotel for you.
The room is everything you expect of a hotel of this quality. Super comfortable bed bathroom with separate bath and shower. The only downer would be that the desk always had ants. So when on the computer ants would be running up and down the keyboard. Also when we first checked in the room had a distinct off smelling odour but I asked the staff to bring an air freshener and they were very prompt and after some spraying the room smelt much better.
We had an early morning check out (6am)as we had a trip planned, the message wasn't delievered until almost half an hour later after we had checked out, but the staff let us back into the room until 12 mid day.
When we checked in the woman at reception spoke very softly and very indistinctly so it was very hard to understand what she was trying to say. Better training needed perhaps?
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thank you for your time in sharing your impressions after your stay with us. Happy to know you believe we represented good value for money that is important of course.
My apologies for the shortfalls you have encountered, that is regrettable and should not have happened. Thank you as well for pointing out the need of training for one of our receptionist I believe we have already identified who the team member is and this will be rectified.
Till you visit again
Alex Riva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Warm welcome, staff were polite and friendly. The luggage delivery was quick, it arrived soon after we entered the room. The room was very very nice, it was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel was excellent, it was located in the heart of the city centre, there were a number of restaurants nearby and could be easily reached by walking a short distance. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant served a wide range of food.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Glad to know we exceeded your expectations and provide you with a nice experience.
Feel free to contact me directly if you or any of your friends or colleagues plan to visit
Alex Riva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed 4 nights over christmas 2010 and it was very comfortable. We had a massive room. Gym was good. Location great for going to the nearby islands. The massage at the spa was really really good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you so much for telling others about your experience with us. Indeed we enjoy our weekly "Conversations inspired" with our guests a great way to chat and see how we could make them even more comfortable when staying with us.
Hope to have you back
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel for 7 days. The location is great because everything from shopping to eat is only a short taxi ride or walk away.
Stayed in a non smoking room which is very spacious with good size bathroom. Checked in and had no troubles but had some issues with the internet in the room which was resolved very quickly by the onsite IT staff.
Our stay was pleasant besides the fact that there is always someone waking up at 5am or coming home at 2am and making quiet a lot of noise and because of the paper thin walls, which will instantly wake you up, and I am normally a heavy sleeper.

Every week selected guest are invited to a free drink and nibbles at the lounge with the executives hotel staff which is great that you can talk to someone on what improvements and suggestion which was a great treat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shino13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience we did some sound test in the rooms this week to understand why a couple of past guests have reported same issue of noise transferring from one room to the next. I can definitely confirm that walls are 4 to 5 inches which is a standard but nontheless a quiet environment is what we would like all of our guests to enjoy.
I am delighted that you find our weekly "Conversations Inspired" where all our guests are invited a pleasant activity for our team to meet with our valuable guests and chat about their experiences and how we can do better.
Alex Riva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERTH
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Well this will be my 3rd time staying at Le Meridian and each time gets better can't fault this hotel staff excellent, food excellent, room excellent although I still haven't managed to get the room with the curved windows maybe next time, Which will be in April 2011 staying for 23 days of pure luxury can't wait go to this hotel its great .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthDiverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing