We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons; more thorn than rose”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinabalu Rose Cabin Sabah
Ranked #81 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pros and cons; more thorn than rose”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Pros: portly owner who drives cayenne/rover looks down on guests as nuisance peasants to be rid of. Plus: Tripadvsor reviews are so poor that you can be assured of a room here when elsewhere all full :-D. Try bring an air filter / purifier because the carpet chemical pong is high

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    14
    11
    8
See reviews for
4
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It is basic and that's the way i sum it up for this hotel. Booked thru the agent and was hoping for the better. But again...it is 2000m in the mountain so just need to put up the right expectation.
Receptionist is no no...i don't say rude but service just non existence...nothing...nothing at all!!
Room was simple...Lower your expectation if you decided to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YujiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Kinabalu Rose Cabin, great views but basic amenities. A wet carpet odour greeted us in the passageway. The room that we had, has a heater problem. The temperature cannot be adjusted, the water was very hot. We use a pail to mix the water . There was a power tripped at the most crucial moment when we were preparing for race climbathon. It was totally dark. As a result we forgot the running chip. Have to u-turn back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idatono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent three cold, noisy nights here in October 2013. It was OK but absolutely stank, especially in our room. I think someone must have ignored the "no Durian " rule. Ugh, ugh, ugh.
Our room could hardly have been called spacious and had a basic bed with rock hard blocks of thick foam for pillows. Our first night was really uncomfortable because of the smell, the cold and the noise. The walls are paper thin and if your neighbour has the TV on,you have to listen to it too. In fact, you can hear EVERYTHING that is being said next door or in the corridor. The bathroom was small with a poor, dangerous shower, Impossible to open the window because it was too high. More or less clean throughout. We got extra blankets after the first night. The rooms weren't cleaned during our stay. The doors and windows didn't fit. There was a lovely view of the mountain from the balcony - best bit!! The food wasn't wonderful but the staff were pleasant and helpful. I wouldn't stay again unless I had to. We are birders and this was close to the National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seedyromPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kota kinabalu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A happy gathering turned horror when a friend noticed her daughter did not come out of the bathroom after more than 20 mins. When she did not reply from inside, we decided to break the door. Such a tragic scene when we found her lying flat unconcious on the bathroom floor. We had to take her to the ER in Ranau about 20 km away. When one of the staff came, she told us that we have to open the window when we r showering coz they r using an old malfunctioning gas water heater. There were no instructions of such. The poor information, poor bathroom ventilation n old gas type water heater have almost caused a girl's life... this is not a place for vacation...we can tolerate the terrible services but not the lackaidaisical attitude about safety of the people who stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank j_mosikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice place and location..but doesnt mean happy stay.

Dont ever ask about cook in open backyard of room..eventhough they provide sink and facilities they will not take your booking..OMG.

Will not stay here...if possible..frust

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QamaHeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Overall the hotel room was ok. It clean and tidy. The wifi are fast and good. I like the water heater the most which using fire to heat up the water. The view also nice when open the balcony door u will able to see the mountain kinabalu if the cloud is not blocking. At midnight is very cool outside the hotel.

Need to improve:
Just open a small windows is not enough for cooling in the room. If can find a way to make the room more cooling using outside air which is important point for tourist staying a night in Kinabalu mountain area so they can enjoy the cool atmosphere no need to walk outside hotel in midnight to enjoy cool

Room Tip: Ask for the room for nice view of the Kinabalu mountain. Walk outside the hotel to enjoy more coolin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreams1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
1.8 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 13 in Kundasang
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Rose Cabin Sabah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Rose Cabin Sabah

Property: Kinabalu Rose Cabin Sabah
Address: Kinabalu Rose Cabin Jalan Ranau-Tamparuli | PO Box 13654, Kota Kinabalu 88841, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 279
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Rose Cabin Sabah Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Rose Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing