We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backpackers”
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Cheongsong-gun, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great backpackers”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The rooms were clean and simple. The rooms have aircon which is great for the heat and humidity of Malaysia. It is also in a great location, a few minutes walk away from the fish market where you can get delicious sea-food in the evenings. The backpackers provide free transport from the airport (from but not to the airport) if you are staying for two nights or more.

There is a small kitchen that can be used by guests and the bathrooms/showers are outside the rooms.

If you are there on a Sunday, look out for the Sunday market two minutes away from the backpackers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    80
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
2
30
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed at Borneo Backpackers and Sensi Backpackers Hostel in KK. In both, we were awoken by biting bedbugs and checked out of our private rooms without paying. While wondering around (after midnight), we found that MANY of the guesthouses in the "ghetto" had bedbug problems (i.e., we asked them if they had bedbugs and they said "not recently" -- often while diverting their eyes). We ended up at the Gaya Centre Hotel (no bugs and more stars but double the price after a Trip Advisor discount that the staff helped us get).

It seems to be an open secret among guesthouse staff that KK has bedbug problems (does "high turnover" in the LP description of these places mean "bedbugs"?). They typically say "someone stayed here from the jungle," but the problem is OLD mattresses and inadequate cleaning.

They seem to hope that backpackers will ignore the problem and/or get lucky.

This is NOT acceptable.

So, I suggest that you ask about bedbugs BEFORE you check in, check mattresses BEFORE you sleep and leave bad reviews (here and on travel sites) about places that have bedbugs. They are not going to fix the problem until guest numbers drop.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorneoParadise, General Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Appreciate your comment and sorry to hear that your stay at Sensei has also been affected. However, I am very sure that all Lodging Owners in Kota Kinabalu are doing their very best to keep their place clean and free from bugs as much as possible despite the humidity in our city and close accessibility to our beautiful rainforest. On our side, we have tried many methods to solve this problem and finally found a major solution by the 4th quarter of 2012. Thanks again to the tip from another Backpacker Owner. We do sun our mattress and pillows occassionally and old ones are being replaced. The room you occupied has been cleaned and steamed upon your check out and another guests had checked in and stayed for 4 nights. Nevertheless, I hope you have enjoyed your holiday exploring Borneo and once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here back in June, so I guess we came and went before this bed bug issue happened people have mentioned below. We had a lovely stay, albeit for one or two nights I think. we couldn't stay longer as they were full. They have a cat here (a lovely cat) but should be mentioned in case of allergies.

Double room was nice- we had one by the stairs so there wasn't a proper window, but we weren't too fussed, it was pleasant enough. Communal bathrooms were clean and seemed to be being cleaned the whole time we were there. they had (what appeared to be) a local family living out of one room, but that kinda thing doesn't bother me massively unless I have to share with them :)

For whatever reason, we weren't allowed a free breakfast- it wasn't on offer at the time. But this didn't bother us, there's a decent coffee shop downstairs so we treated ourselves. there's only so much (terrible) asian toast & jam a person can take...
Common areas were lovely and free computers. I do remember a western lady (who also appeared to live there) who was ALWAYS on the PC no matter what time day or night we came to use them, that was a tad tedious.

I'd stay here again for sure, but check around for hotel deals too if you're a couple. We then stayed 2 more nights at the Best Western not too far away and it was such a treat to have a proper hotel room, and I think it only set us back an extra £5 a night or something small.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I met my buddy at the airport late at night and we hopped in a taxi for the City Center. We had our eye on an Inn by Beach Street. Stayed there one night and found Borneo Backpackers the next day.

The hostel/guesthouse is centrally located to Kota Kinabalu city center. It's in a place called Australia Place and about 100 feet from Atkinson Tower. It's also a few hundred feet from the bus station that can take you to Mt Kinabalu Park and other parts of Sabah.

Straight ahead you can find yourself at the heart of the city with restaurants, banks and bars.

The place itself is well maintained and clean and bathrooms are shared but I found them to be sanitary. The employees/owners are very friendly and helpful.

My buddy and I stayed in a dorm room by ourselves (we paid for twin room) and my bed happened to smell like urine so that got to me. However, the other room (non-AC room) I used after my friend left was fine.

All in all I would recommend this place for those seeking a central location that is clean, sanitary and central.

The wifi works and occasionally goes off but there are also computers you can use.

Room Tip: Free Wifi, Central City Location, Near Bus Terminals and Ferry Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorneoParadise, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Jason,

We are sorry to hear about sleeping experience and we are resolving the issue.

All the best,

The Staff at Borneo Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibu, Sarawak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A cheap and comfortable place to stay for the budget travelers. You don't have to worry about your transport to get there because they will pick you up at the airport. Comfort bed with clean sheets and pillow case are provided. The toilet and bathroom is very clean also make you feel like you are staying in your own home. Facilities here are quite good also where there is washing machine if you want to wash your clothes and there is a special corner for you to hang your clothes too. The location of this hotel is absolutely great where you can get to any place like Signal Hill Observatory Platform, Jesselton Point Ferry Terminal and Gaya Street by just walking there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiehmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borneobackpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Angiehmk,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to your patronage in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice, sturdy double-decker beds (wooden).
Comfy bed & pillow.
Clean sheets & pillow-case.
Clean toilets & shower rooms. Though shower's pressure a bit low on one of the shower rooms.
Room A/C is good, plus there are wall fans as well.
Good WiFi.
There is a 'Business-centre' as well.
Even though our room is next to the first floor showers/toilets, no disturbance from people going in/out from it and in fact, it is convenient.
Stayed for 2 nights.
And oh, like the cat. Very obedient.

Room Tip: I'd prefer my room - 1st floor (reception floor), next to the shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

PROS:
- Decent WiFi, though it goes off occasionally
- A/C works great.

CONS:

- Stayed 2 nights in two different bunks in the A/C mixed dorm. Both times the mattress/pillow/sheets smelled like old cat pee, unpleasant, to say the least.
- The "free breakfast" is somewhat of a joke: 2 slices of bread, jam, butter, tea or coffee.
- They promised me an airport pickup and left me there because my flight was delayed. Had to call them about it and they just told me I had to take a taxi there. Not very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibbogirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Property: Borneo Backpackers
Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing