We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed there in 2006 and LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stayed there in 2006 and LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Excellent Staff, really friendly, wonderful place to be. I have heard some people criticise the aesthetic of the building, but it's part of Kota Kinabalu's history. There are only two buildings that survived the war, and one of them was this one. It's gorgeous for that alone. Comfortable beds, really welcoming and friendly staff, great food on offer and everything you need is nearby, including a huge Milimewa and a nice cafe/bar below.

It's so cheap and you get such great value for money I would recommend to everyone / anyone. This place and the people who run it will always have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    79
    23
    17
    11
See reviews for
2
28
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I've stayed there twice now in 2013 and 2009, is nice enough, though the staff treat it more as there home than there work place (though I think it's probably their home too). There is always a collection of kids watching TV. On the first trip they didn't organise our airport pick up. Defiantly room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was a very basic hostel. Just 2 double bunks in our room - no hooks or places to hang stuff. The bathrooms were clean but everything was shabby and peeling paint. Breakfast was limited to 2 small slices of white bread, marge and jam and tea / coffee with powder milk. You have to wash up your own things. The room was very noisy, next to busy road. The bar downstairs closed at 12 and was frequented by many cockroaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towella69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Feels like home. Owner trusts the guests, so do the guests trust the owner.
Very clean. Toilets and rooms.
Free books (books exchange corner).
Free wifi.
Helpful staffs.
A fat cat to play with. She doesnt bite or scratch.
A place that i will miss.
Will definitely go back if were to visit kk again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I liked this place so much I stayed twice. My room was comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. They have an absolutely adorable house cat that visited with me. My bed was comfortable and the staff lady very friendly. The location was also excellent The only problem was with bedding. All they give you is a sheet. I know it's a hot country but its hard to get comfortable under a thin sheet. They need to get thin blankets for their guests. It would have made a big difference

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We finished our expedition at Mount Kinabalu and spent the last night in Borneo Backpacker before back to Penang. It was a great experience and up to my expectation. The hostel overall are clean (my main option to stay) and the reception are friendly as well. Perhaps they should install more computer for guests who want to surfing Internet :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveChoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The 23 of us from the 0830 Choir of the Church of St. Thomas More Subang Jaya descended on Borneo Backpackers on the night of 29 May 2013 and stayed til 2 June 2013. It is located right in the middle of town, within walking distance of Gaya Street where there is plenty of shopping, entertainment and food, and some other places of interest e.g. Anderson Clock Tower, Signal Hill Observatory Platform. The rooms were fine with bunk beds in the dorm rooms and double beds in the single rooms. The rooms are air-conditioned, clean and bed bug free. Down side is the hostel is located close to the road and light sleepers will have a hard time due to the noise from the street. Toilets and showers are clean but have to be shared as expected in such accommodations. Light breakfast, drinks and beverages are available for a price. Free WiFi provided. Great room rates and definitely recommended for solo travelers or for those looking for a budget stay in KK.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiter as they are further away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ares1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Property: Borneo Backpackers
Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing