We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and cheap”
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Functional and cheap”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The rooms are a bit bare and the staff are a bit distant but overall the place is good value for money. Note it is a bit noisy because it is next to a main road but you are a stones throw from the sea and the market so the location is very convenient. There is a pretty good and quirky restaurant downstairs as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    80
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
2
30
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rooms are clean but outlet are limited, staffs are helpful and friendly. It locates next to the Sunday market, easy to find whatever you need, very convenient.
And the important reason I chose it was: it has free airport pickup service if you stay 2 nights(need to book from their own website). It's very good for my 1st time visit KK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenxiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I just had to find out that it is really tricky finding a good backpacker hostel in KK. All 3 hostels i stayed in were bad. But Borneo Backpackers was the worst despite being the cheapest. (How i miss the lovely hostels in the philippines now. *sigh*)

BBP looks good on first sight and the single-price is very competetive (40 MR). Thats the reason i give it 1 star. Also some of the staff are nice.

But some other staff members are the most rude people i have ever met in a hostel in many years of travelling and that is no exaggaration.

When i arrived i was surprised about the big room and i thought about extending. So I went back to the counter and asked for extension. The lady in charge was eating and watching tv. She literally said without looking at me: "I am eating now. Later!!"

Then I tried to sleep in the afternoon, although the blanket smelled like piss (some other reviewer also noticed that.) After having a nap for 2 hours i woke up watching a bed bug walking about my hand, full with (my?) Blood.

I was lucky, because staff was not eating anymore and there was obviously nothing interesting in the TV so she assisted me to change my room. Her excuse was "Someone brought the bedbug from the jungle" (again, some other reviewer experienced the same. Seems to be their usual excuse).

When i wanted to have a cigarette at 11.30 pm on the balcony, my favourite staff member came to me saying unfriendly and in shock "But i have to close the balcony now!!!". I was suprised and reacted like "oh really?" And she said to me like very annoyed with big wide open eyes "Yeeeeheeees!!!"

Next morning i looked around for alternatives and found something else. This staff made me aggressive and i am a peaceful person.

To be fair. All hostels i stayed in Kk were bad. But this was the worst!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank i_love_earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

One of the lowest price u can get in KK. Provides the very basic necessities..clean bathrooms with no shampoo & low water pressure and breakfast with 2 slices of toast & hot drink (not complaining, just stating).. If u stay 2 nights consecutive, u will get an arranged airport pick-up..which for me was on time..Oswell, the driver was very kind and polite too.

Receptions & staffs were rather friendly too..once u get to know them a little. They were kind enough to assist me with my last minute tour plans and night extensions.

Location wise: strategic as it's near to main attractions within walking distance.

Some of the few things which could be better:
-Mattress could be changed to thicker ones as it all got old and rather flat.
-More plug points needed in dorm! Only 2 sockets for the entire room with 4-10 beds..that's definitely not enough.

If u're on a very low budget, BB is for u. Expect the very basic.

p/s: I stayed at BB for 8 nights..20-28 Nov 2013.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cheeyan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My 4 night stay was very good. Simple breakfast. Hygienic room, neat common bathroom. Will meet various citizen of solo traveler. Place is in the heart of city. Bathroom is clean, toilets r clean. Nice small terrace for smokers. Tiger beer is cheaper than in 7/11.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JalanSaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

BB was suggested to me by a couple who have stayed in really cheap and really expensive accommodation in KK. And their conclusion was that BB was the best value for money. I had a very pleasant comfortable stay and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibu, Sarawak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for the second time and totally regret it! The staff was rude and not friendly. Plus I am not really mind about the noisy environment around the hostel but what i cant stand was the sound of the air conditioner in my room. It was so noisy that I can hardly sleep at night. However, the location of the hostel is very good that it is located at the center of the town. You can easily go the place you want by just walking there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiehmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Property: Borneo Backpackers
Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing