We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here for 2 times consecutively”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Global Backpackers
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 2 times consecutively”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

More personal experience can be read from my blog at :

http://pinparadise.blogspot.com/2014/03/mount-kinabalu-borneo-malaysia.html


My friends and I stayed in Borneo Global Backpacker whenever we drop by Kota Kinabalu.

Accommodation was budget and nice. Quiet and not loud at night. Just what we need after a long day out exploring the city.

Wifi and breakfast - FREE . Basic tea/coffee/jam/butter. There is a toaster too if you fancy some toast for breakfast.

All rooms are with shared / common bathroom located outside of the room. There is heater for hot water. Decent bathroom size. Many place to hang laundry or to dry your clothes.

Location is not exactly in the city centre. Its around 15mins to 20mins walk to Philipino market.
Local mini buses are available plentifully as you walk 5mins from the backpacker. It cost us RM 0.30 per pax to ride the 3 to 4 minutes bus ride to the city centre. Good experience and a good eye opener to all of us.

have fun !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pran_na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
2
25
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the climb with them and stayed therefor 3 nights here. Nice staff, very good tour to the top of Mt Kinabalu. Double room with A/C, no windows, breakfast (toast, jam, tea, coffee) included, for 60RM. Shared bathroom with cold shower and no toilet tissue, not worth to mention. Linen and towel provided.
You'll need at least 20-25 min to the centre, there should be a bus but we didn't get it. There's not much in KK. Good asian centre with cheap beer and great seefood at the waterfront. Tour to Mt Kinabalu was 1100 RM 2D/1N incl 5 meals (buffet), guide, permit, entrance fee, certificate, transport, night at unheated mountain hut
with warm linen provided. Bring a torch, gloves, cap and rain jacked!
It was fun. Would recommand BGB as a cheap tour operater but there should be better places to stay in KK for the same money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KleinerPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly accommodation with wifi. The bed is comfortable. Enough space for everything and for everyone. Room Rate good for two is 60MR. The reception area is so homey with comfortable couches and a desktop computer you can use.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Went here for two nights. Its an ok place to crash if you're on a shuestring budget. If not - chose another place to stay. Friendly staff but not much more.
You get what you pay for, and its kinda distant and far from anywhere you Wanna go.
Breakfast was basic but ok.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a backpacker hostel, nothing more noon less. The low price is great and you get everything you need. The breakfast is toast with jam and coffe/tee he wifi works in the lobby. It takes 20 minutes to walk into city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StinaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

This hostel is slightly out of town.

First i will mention the negatives:
broken sink in one of thr mens toilets and no toilet paper.

Extremely hot rooms, even with the fan on. Thankgoodness i was sleeping in that room alone because it was a furnace. Beds were clean, but some beds have slightly collapsed bases.

The good points:

Soooo cheap. 12 ringits and i got the whole room to myself. Free breakfast and good eifi connection.

So in review, my only real gripe is that the rooms were incredibly hot. Otherwise very cheap.and cheerful for a.couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee horscraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hostel is close to the airport. Taxi from airport to hostel is usually 30RM, 45RM at night or early in the morning. Hostel is OK, small rooms, usually without any window. Everything was quite clean and safe. Taxi to downtown is from 10RM to 15RM. Staff is friendly and helpful if you ask them. They are able to provide taxi service and call wherever you want if you ask. I would stay again - price is adequate to comfort. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Try to ask for room with window. We didn't have window and it is difficult to get fresh air with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrdvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Global Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Global Backpackers

Property: Borneo Global Backpackers
Address: No. 29 Ground + 1st Floor, Karamunsing Godown | Jalan Karamunsing, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Global Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Borneo Global Backpackers! We have 4 Bed Bunker and Twin Bed Fan Rooms / Twin-Bed & Double Rooms air-condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Global Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing