We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Three of us shared a comfortable room for 4 days (March '12), at $US32/nt. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The 2nd floor room with wee fridge and good a/c was clean with good light for reading. The hotel has a perfect location for getting everywhere interesting in KK by foot (though traffic noise could bother light sleepers). The city bus stops almost at the entrance if you need to go further, and there are taxis just around the corner Don't know what other reviewers were expecting for the price - we stayed a couple of other places in town that were truly grim and cost more. Recommended for down-to-earth travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the busy main road are noisier. Check out the room first for a/c noise, lighting, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
where the heart is
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2010

this place was just bad...
after a dodgy online booking, we found ourselves paying too much. 4star review according to late rooms. i'd rate this place as aweful.

The receptionist wasnt polite and repeatedly talked and laughed to his colleague, the corridors stunk of smoke, and the carpet in our room was wet with a horrible huge stain in it. I attempted to wash my frustration away with a cold shower, but was greeted by mere dribbly shower with no pressure what so ever.... oh yeah, and in the morning, the flush mechanism for the toilet broke on me.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_dave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We turned up to the hotel to find that our 3 day booking (via laterooms.com), hadn’t been received. We got an upgrade to a ‘superior’ room for an additional 10 riggits. After the initial lugging of suitcases up to reception, there is then another set of stairs (and more depending on your floor) as there is no lift.
Room was…basic. There was AC, a TV and mini fridge. Strangely the bathroom was very nice and decorative. The place just needs a clean up and re-décor. The bed was clean, which is the most important item in the room. An old AC unit by the window had dark brown stains running down it, however there was another AC unit which was more modern and worked fine. Worryingly, the fire exit at the end of the corridor was padlocked shut!
The hotel is near to the markets, a few restaurants and malls. KK isn’t that big so I don’t think location is that much of an issue in the town.
We decided to scope out other hotels in the area and decided to leave when we found the little gem of No 1 City hotel round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ_sees_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

With this price, i was expecting budget. But i got less than i what i thought i will get.

Firstly, my friend deposited all her credit cards and passport at the front desk for 1 night, as the next day, we went to the beach. Guess what, the following day, she received a call from her credit card company abt credit card fraud - one of the cards that she deposited at front desk was used for an unauthorized purchase.

Then wifi and TV didnt work as promised. Wifi was down for the 2 nights that i was there in May. Satellite TV had like an extra 1 channel and you didnt have a choice to what channels. We were there for 2 nights and on both occasions, we had to go to reception to ask for satellite TV. Apparently, you have to ask reception to "activate"each time. And on the second night, we were watching a movie on one channel when it got abruptly changed to a football channel. We had no idea what happened, but was too lazy to ask and frustrated with a half-watched movie.

The room we stayed on the second floor had a very musky smell to it. I've a sensitive nose- much more than the average traveller - so i was sneezing non-stop throughtout both nights. and it starts the moment i stepped in.

As what others have said, the pictures are certainly not representative of the current state of affairs
The saving grace was the most helpful and responsive staff on all aspects of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night as I was passing through. Ok for travellers on a budge.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but needs some upgrading. I found it difficult carrying my suitcase up 2 flights of stairs, as there was no lift. All in all my stay here was ok

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Reviewer: Trip Advisor Member, Perth, Australia
Stayed for several days in June 2007
It is a budget hotel so don't expect 5 star. There is no lift but if you are climbing Mt Kinabalu it's good training.
Our room was clean albeit a little shabby. We upgraded to a deluxe room with a bath as the shower in the standard room tended to flood the bathroom floor because it didn't slope towards the drain sufficiently but they did supply complimentary thongs!
The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful. Their notice board very informative. They looked after our luggage when we were at the mountain.
Great location, nice little bakers downstairs.
Good value budget accommodation.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank susan50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Look at the hotel website photo, it looks nice isn't it ? but when we were there, it is totally different ! Upon checked with the receipts, was told that the photo was taken 10yrs back(2006) ! It is still published in their website & brochure !! Ok, put aside the photo..

This hotel is located at the 2nd floor, u need to take staircase to go up to their "lobby". No lift ! After go thru the checking process, we got the room key, we still have to take the staircase up to our room level, which is at 4rd level. Again, no lift !

Open the room, it is warm !! We switch on the aircon and heard the "machine" running, it is not central-controlled aircon and u have to adjust ur own temperature where even u set to the lowest, it is still warm, but at nite, it is quite cold !!

The room is quite clean I shall say but u get turn off with the stain on the bedsheet/blanket ! Well, budget hotel.. can't expect much.

Go to check out the bathroom, seems ok.... but the major problem arise when we take our shower, no cold water even the knob is there. The water pressure is worst, suddenly it is like rain drop, a while later like storm ! imaging u r showering/bathing with hot water and on/off the water changing its pressure.. :(

Not really an enjoyable hotel stay I shall say... but the hotel location is very good, u can go anywhere from here..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ALL except location.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank hiker688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
A & J Budget Hotel
A & J Budget Hotel
#83 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#48 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#51 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Property: Hotel Holiday
Address: Lot 1 & 2, Holiday Hotel Holiday Hotel Block F | Segama Shopping Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Holiday 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing