We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION & SERVICES!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION & SERVICES!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights in this excellent location BEst WEsterN Hotel--opposite Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah, near Jesselton Jetty & night market.
Excellent services rendered by Receptionists Ms Amy & Mr U. Free Upgrade to Deluxe King Room (10th floor Non-Smoking & very quiet). Very clean room & bathroom with hardworking Chambermaids.
Breakfast is OK & included in this 4D3N promotion package (RM475 nett)--value for money!
Cheers! KK DAYA ! :D :D

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    151
    163
    60
    33
See reviews for
55
114
48
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Credit card terminal was faulty. Didn't read ALL our credit cards until she transferred to another credit card terminal. Check-in time was around 30 minutes. Requested for a room on the higher floors but was given a room on the first level -- the smoking level and we were non-smokers. You can hear the noise from the bar just below your room.

The desks were dusty and there was a small cockroach. No shower enclosure which makes the bathroom messy after every shower.

If you will get an extra bed, there will be little or no space anymore. We found a workaround for this though and I wrote this in my blog.

Room temperature is good. TV Channels is just okay. Breakfast is so-so.

Good hotel if you just plan to sleep and head out again the next morning.

I have a more in-depth review at my blog, including the locations of the nearby malls and stores around the hotel.

http://cheftonio.blogspot.com/2011/11/best-western-kinabalu-daya-hotel-review.html

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheftonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel is located next to the big shopping malls in KK, only a few meters from the city centre and 2 min. by feet from the sea. The reception area was clean and friendly, the staff was customer oriented. The room was clean and comfortable, but there was no window. The breakfast was quite good. Our impression was that the rooms are overcharged.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tisy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Nice enough room. As clean as one might guess. Good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Apart from the location there is nothing great of this hotel. Reception is very unfriendly. Each and everyone of them are the same. The Manager need to train them. Dont know even how to talk politely. Very bad impression they gave. Booked this hotel after reading the review from the website. Totally disappointed. The breakfast was bad. The room was not clean and old. The curtains were dirty. Would never stay there again for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisure93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Great location within mins walk to Suria & just opposite weekend market.

Reception staff not very friendly but accommodated our requests for early check in and packed breakfast, as we had to catch early flight next morning.

Old rooms, curtains were installed to create false impression of windows in the standard rooms. The sink was flooded, and we called maintenance who said they would come immediately but never did. So we did not bother to call again.

Ended up having to do our washing at the shower area, highly inconvenient!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have stayed here about 5 times in total over the last few years and it is a good solid midrange choice. The location is great for access to the ferry terminal, (Jessleton Point), near to Suria Sabah, convenience stores and good eats nearby. We love to hop out to the islands so you can just walk over there to the ferry terminal in about 7 mins which is great. Try Little Italy in the adjacent building if you are looking for decent Italian food, (the lemonade is gorgeous). Good drink specials in the bar downstairs, a couple of lifts, clean rooms with private bathrooms, some of the rooms more updated that others, decent breakfast. Overall not anything to write home about but good enough if you need a room in a good location for a decent price for a few nights. I recommend it to midrange travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurieloo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#51 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#72 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Daya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Property: Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Address: Kinabalu Daya Hotel Jalan Pantai | Lot 3 & 4 Block 9, Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinabalu Daya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinabalu Daya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing