We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Spent 1 night before getting picked up by Amazing Borneo tours to go climb the Mount Kota Kinabalu and also spent 1 night there when we came back (sore and hurting from the climb)

Place is clean, rooms are very clean and nice, front desk staff is very good and late check-ins are accepted at no charge (depending on availability)

Restaurant downstairs (outside) is not that great though and quiet pricy compared to the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ExplorersIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

this hotel was comfortable although the rooms were a little small for a stay of 4 days, The desk staff were polite and friendly as were all the staff. the restuarant was reasonable food wise but a little noisy as people were playing pool and shouting when points were won etc.Rooms were clean and well attended by the housekeeping staff.would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel is situated in one of the best locations in Kota Kinabalu. The rooms are spacious, with cable, but the view from the rooms, not so interesting. There is a lift for your comfort, the front reception people are very polite and very courteous. The breakfast is nothing to rave about, (no bacon even for Western guests) toast, waffles, omelets and other egg dishes cooked fresh at the counter. The coffee is the best I have tasted in months and they do have sweeteners for diabetics, a courtesy some of the other hotels should consider. The Kinabalu Daya is a 3-star hotel, and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Give it a try if this is the type of accommodation you desire or require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank growler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

ur bar is so nice and what i like it is the sound system for karaoke. i will do my buffday party there. believe me ! what is the bar must be happening again and be more clubbing mode. even u do a karaoke but lighting must be have there and also the waitress and waiter must have smile on their face.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joeydennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We chose to stay here the first night that we arrived at KK because it was close to the airport, and right in the middle of the town. We only stayed the one night before heading off to spend 3 nights in our expensive luxury Shangri-La Rasa Ria, but this Best Western Hotel is EXCELLENT value for money.

Actually when the taxi pulled up to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how good it looked for the small amount of money we paid! The staff were friendly and helpful and it wasn't long before we made our way to the Family Room which was a great size for 2 adults and 2 children (aged 10 and 12). There was a small bathroom off the main King size bedroom which had tea/coffee making facilities, and then a separate room with the 2 single beds in it (TVs were in both rooms which always makes the family happy!).

There were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby to grab some dinner before going to bed. We slept like logs then made our way down to enjoy a yummy buffet breakfast. Checkout wasn't until 12pm so we had a look around the Sunday markets and bought some "Nike" caps and "Jimmy Choo" handbags! We also walked up to the lookout to take some photos.

The hotel was great how it lets you leave your bags there safely after you check out of the room so we were able to wander about the shopping centres (public toilets were a bit of an eye-opener for us westerners but fortunately my daughter and I found a couple of non-squat ones -- just thought I'd share that! Also keep some coins with you as you have to pay to enter!).

As a cheap option to stay in and explore KK city, this hotel is fantastic. We could have easily stayed there for longer.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family, book the Family Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazzaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Mr/Miss ,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights visiting islands and others locations daily, an it has been the best solutions to have all comforts when we came back to the hotel. Rooms are comfortables, cleaned, well furnitores, with air conditioning. It's a real best western quality. For a double room we paid 168 rm per night included breakfast. The breakfast is rich and good, mixing international and local foods. Wifi is free and check out is at 12. The hotel is also in a very good position, very closed to the ferry and to the seafront where are all the restaurants and the night market. I suggest it for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiarinadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a great value option. I went super budget and picked the windowless room, which I'm not sure I would recommend. It's odd not having the light to wake you up in the morning. The walls are also very thin, a neighbour left his phone in his room and it would often ring as loud as if it were in my room. The rooms are small but do the job. eg a table folds out of the wall - compact, and it works. The wifi works but can be very slow at times, though it works. The breakfast was surprisingly good in the sense that pancakes, eggs and waffles were all cooked on demand. The location is good, right next to shopping centres. Good to have the comfort of the Best Western brand behind it.

Room Tip: Think twice if saving money with a windowless room - you won't have daylight to wake you up. Fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank y2ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#37 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Daya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Address: Lot 3 & 4 Block 9, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £23 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinabalu Daya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kinabalu Daya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing