We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I'd hoped to stay in the Jesselton Hotel but it was fully booked over Chinese New Year. So I stayed here instead. No real problems. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and clean. Air con was good and plenty hot water in the shower. The elevators are old and slow, but thats a minor gripe. I think there was complimentary free wifi but I didn't have occasion to use it. Breakfast was a bit mental in the mornings with the Asian guests piling in en masse prior to check out/day tripping, including all their luggage. The limited range of fresh fruit in KK low/mid-range hotels always disappoints given that the markets are awash with every possible kind of fruit. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    150
    160
    60
    33
See reviews for
55
113
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

having left it late to book our preferred hotel in KK, we opted for a cheaper priced hotel for one night before transferring to our preferred hotel in the near vicinity. The hotel was centrally located and whilst the bed was reasonably comfortable and the bathroom clean, the lights didnt work properly - we felt the room was 'average', Our main concern however were the fire escapes which we found locked. Located on the 10th floor we had to use the lift - but having a phobia for lifts i enquired about using stairs. we were told there wasnt any, only the fire escapes. we checked them out for use instead of the lift but found both sets of emergency exit doors locked and in one instance, had small bins placed infront of the doors causing an obstruction.
we were booked in for breakfast which was reasonable in view of the price we paid. However,we were glad to check out and we wouldnt be booking the hotel again. we dont feel we could recommend it to others unless you are on a tight budget - if you can, pay the extra and upgrade to another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Good central location with friendly helpful staff. Room had a window but it was blocked off so you could not see out. Normal damp/drain smell you find in Malaysia - not excessive. Breakfast choice is OK. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. I was rather impressed with the interior of the room. Our request for doublebed was given to my delight. The standard room was a non-carpeted room, clean, the bed was comfy, toilet were clean and the value added service that i like the most was, the hotel provided an iron, iron board and hairdryer in its room. WIFI was available in the room, we just have to call the receptionist to activate our ID. The location was another plus point. Convenient stores,a good italian restaurant and a big shopping mall was just 2-5mins walk. Checkin and checkout was a breeze.
Overall, i like this hotel. We definitely will consider staying in this hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farahfn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 6 088 240000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Four of us arrived at this hotel with a confirmed reservation paid for by credit card and booked by AAA. When we arrived they had overbooked and did not have the two rooms that we had reserved. We asked to speak with the manager and of course he was not available...There was another gentleman also in the lobby yelling about his poor accommodations. There are many choices in KK and I would not consider this one for a minute..

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Good location close to the sea front and Jesselton Point where the boats for the islands departed.

The first room we got (on floor 11, room 1104) was so small that it was almost no room for the extra bed and luggage. This room was located very close to powerful air condition fans so it was impossible to sleep - it felt like being inside an airplane engine. (We guess that this was the case for most rooms on this floor, so be aware) We changed room a got a spacy room, but unfortunately without a window. it was OK, but a bit dark.

Breakfast was included, not fantastic but OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel has the fntastic advantage of being right in the ventre of town, close to some of the best restaurants markets and the waterfont, Gaya st market is just behind. however the rooms are really only suitable to sleep in. no wndows and the rooms really needed a referbish.

Room Tip: there are afew with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#52 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#29 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Daya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Property: Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Address: Kinabalu Daya Hotel Jalan Pantai | Lot 3 & 4 Block 9, Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinabalu Daya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinabalu Daya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing