We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Shortly after arriving at the hotel we found out that there were some plumbing problems with our bathroom. After informing the staff they immediately offered us a different room, which was perfectly fine.

We were very happy with the outstanding service. after we left we found out that my boyfriend left his phone in the taxi. After contacting the hotel they managed to track down the taxi driver and got him to deliver the phone back to us at the airport.

Tip; chose a room on the front side of the hotel. The back side is facing an outdoor cafe, which has live music till 12.30 am

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 0-Steph-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
47
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A lot of people gave me funny looks when i stayed here for my one week work trip due to previous bad reviews and previous conditions. However, as many will know now, the hotel has been renovated and upgraded and boasts one of the bigger modern rooms then most hotels in the vicinity. The price for this hotel is not that expensive but the rooms are comfortable, big, and the service here is excellent!! for any setbacks that happened during my stay, they made double the effort to ensure it was compensated and did not happen again.

If there is one feedback, for the movie channels it would be nice to offer Fox Movies or HBO rather then Cinemax.

Overall, definite recommendation to stay here when you are in KK, excellent location for food and excellent services (laundry, wifi & taxi services provided too!!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RojakLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was very evident that everything was new. They just did a major renovation and upgrading project, I am sure. Everything - I mean EVERYTHING IS NEW. Everything was working perfectly. Wifi was fantastic. Housekeeping was attentive and cleaned our rooms each afternoon. There are slippers and toileteries provided; even a hairdryer in the toilet. Coffee and tea making sets; kettle; flat screen TV with cable channels; Good WiFi; plush towels; bottled water.
Staff was very attentive and accomodating.
Definitely a recommend.
I read some older reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel. But really this is a NEW hotel. Really reasonable. And location location location. Everything important to me were within walking distance. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megamendong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I understand the feelings of those who stayed here before the upgrading/renovation. I stayed here too in 2006 and I know how worst the hotel was at that time. However, my second visit recently (June 2014) surprised me a lot. They recently renovated and upgrading the entire hotel. It also means that the title of a 'budget' hotel can be removed. It is no longer a budget hotel (I say a budget hotel cost lower than RM100 for 2 pax for 1 room). I was on my way to Kota Kinabalu from Kudat and 30 minutes before arriving, I called the hotel to make a last minute reservation. The employee was very friendly and polite. She quoted RM189.50 for superior king size non window and RM200.50 for room with window. (These are prices for 2 pax). Deluxe- a bit higher. I was quite shocked in the beginning. However, when I checked in, I understand why they fix that price for that room.

Reception- Employees greeted us politely and treated every customers equally with genuine smile, they will even say SELAMAT MALAM each time you entered the premise at night. Seems that they have not only upgraded their facilities but the service as well. Check in was smooth. Assigned to room 9413. Decor all over the floor going to rooms are wonderful. Totally different from my last visit in 2006. Photos attached to this review will tell you guys everything. I am 100% satisfied with this hotel improvement.

They do have some weaknesses though. They do not provide parking to all guest. You will have to park somewhere near to the hotel and of course during working days you car will be subjected to the City Hall parking fees. If you managed to get parking in front of the hotel or anywhere near on Sunday, you have to remove your car very early in the morning or better midnight Saturday. This is because of the Gaya street Market- yup every Sunday. They do not have a cafe of their own. It will be much better if they decide to open their own small cafe. Currently you can order food from the nearby DAILY UTAMA restaurant-the staff will send your order directly to your room.

Overall, I am satisfied. Will I be back? Yes but not frequently. Other hotels do offer greater rate although they are not newly renovated. I wish that one day the Management of this Hotel consider to erect their own cafe so that they can offer breakfast to guest and maybe scrap parking fees during working days? If paying RM189.50 comes with breakfast and parking, I will be surely become their frequent quest.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise from the outside market on Sunday or from the street outside, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thecuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Trust me, its a nightmare staying here, I've no choice
To stay here as its located at the heart of Kk city. The moment i inetered the lift, it stinks.. Plugs in my room 301 was not working! Bad plumbling as well!! There are many budget hotels in this place, i'd made a mistake, you can avoid this !!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harprit-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We wanted to enjoy our holidays even though we were locals, we chose this hotel b'coz we thought its a nice budget hotel but we were so disappointed with the looks of it, i can only say i should have add some more money at other hotel rather than this one. I should say the hotel was not maintained well and the services were very poor. I never ever want to stay at this hotel anymore even if its free..

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mulan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

The location was fantastic in that it was central to Kota Kinnabalu.

However, I was turned off from the moment of entering the lobby. The staff seamed disorganized, and the lobby was not tidy and clean smelling. The Hotel Elevator was small. I don't think any of the rooms had windows, I know our's did not. We got a room with two king beds. The one I slept on, the frame was broken. There was a stench in the room. While the floor's may have been clean, there was ground in dirt. The plumbing did not work well. I did not take a shower there. There was no climate control other than low, med, high; and that control did not seem to work. The room was very cold at night and there was nothing we could do about it w/in the room.

I spent quite a bit of the night wondering when the rodents (I didn 't notice any. It just seemed to be the prime environment for them) would start crawling into bed with me.

I'm not sure what we paid. I did not make the arrangements. I certainly hope it was not more than $25 US a night. I've had better service stateside with that price.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagabond2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hotel

Property: Mandarin Hotel
Address: No. 138 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Mandarin
Mandarin Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing