We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere!”
Review of Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We picked this hotel at random from the lonely planet guide and
it was pretty ordinary. The matresses and other furniture
gracing the hallways (and blocking the stairways) were
disconcerting and air conditioning was so cold (and couldn't
be turned down) that we had to leave the window open to
avoid freezing to death. There was a big group staying there
so it was pretty noisy late at night. Walking around the area
we saw a lot of hotels in the same price range that were
probably better but we were only in KK for two days so we
didn't bother moving. We'd been looking forward to staying somewhere nicer after travelling in Sarawak for a while
and staying in pretty basic places but this wasn't it.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank grabarwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2007

Recently, I have stayed in the Mandarin Hotel for 3 days. The hotel is budget enough, but yet, i think that the conditions of the rooms can be better. I'm surprised to see the corridors near the stairs are full of unwanted furnitures, pillows and mattresses. And the stench is just unbearable. The rooms are spacious enough but (in my room) the plugs are loosen and quite dangerous. You can even see sparks flying out from the plug and in numerous occasion, the TV was switched off on its own due to the faulty plug heads. Overall, the service was quite friendly but the room's conditions are well below average. With a MYR79 per night for a single room, you can get a better and cleaner room in other budget hotels. The only positivity bout it is its location on the infamous Gaya Street which provided easy access of public transportation. But then again, there are lots of budget hotels on the street.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank traveller81_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We have been at the Mandarin Hotel in August 2006.

At first the lobby seems not bad even if bunches of sheets and towels are constantly stored in a corner.

Corridors are quite awful: low, dirty, ceilings do not help, exactly as the various mattress and furnitures along the steps.

Our 601 (6th floor) is a corner room looking on the square (and with a sea sight) where on the Sunday night a song contest took place and lasted until 4.30 am! So, avoid this hotel if any contest or festival (August 31st is Merdeka, the independence day in Malaysia) is next to come...

The room was quite large, with fridge, tv (with a "fantastic" remote control set in the bed headboard but not working... never seen something like this!), telephone even in the bathroom (but in 601 only the wire was available...).

The room is really loved by ants (but even at Kinabalu Daya hotel, which is better, were present so we can consider them as guests).

In the bath each tap was leaking after having opened it (laterally, I mean, where the tap connects with the sink) so on the floor you'll always find some water while in the bathtub the shower hose was so short that the shower has to be taken hunch-backed. Nevertheless, the hot water is always available.

Average cleaned, you will have at your disposal a "fantastic" pair of flip-flop for your comfort (I guess who has weared them before... brrrr!).

A boiled water bottle per day is included.
Air conditioning was working properly.

But the less nice thing is the door communicating with the room next to the 601: you will have the sensation of living with your neighbours (in our case a family with crying baby).

For this reason, after the first night we asked to change the room: they give us the same positioned room on the 5th floor (501) without communicating door.

So almost same space but here the aircon has probably been modified by some guest so that it will continue working even after having removed the key from the electricity hole, so the room has the same temperature of the fridge and we need to open the window and sleep with our clothes to prevent any illness.

The bath has the second telephone...

At the end, if you do not find any other hotel (and it may happen), the plus are the large room (at least the king bed rooms) and the fridge (at an acceptable price, 105RM). Position is good (song contest apart). Minus: staff not very helpful and kind, average cleanliness. Incence stick are recommended for "a better atmosphere" as long as pillowcases.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anatroppolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Попросите заранее сотрудников отеля и они вам помогут!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Роман З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hotel

Address: No. 138 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £25 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Mandarin
Mandarin Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing