We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!”
Review of The Beach Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Lodge
Reviewed 6 November 2009

It's on the 4th floor of a very old building, very dirty, smelly and no lift. So we had to carry all our luggage all the way up to the place. Despite having booked with them, they were not expecting our arrival, we had to call on the door for a while before someone came to attend us. After getting into our room, they told us air-conditioner is not included and we had to pay extra if we wanted to use it but we decided not to. When we closed the door, it locked itself and we got stuck in our room. It happened a few times and we eventually asked for another room. Overall, the place was very poorly maintained. As far as I could see, it was owned by a small family with a young daughter. The kid was noisy sometimes, let alone the time when the mother yelling at her, scolding her and beating her up. And you certainly can hear everything even in your room. Unless you want to experience locals to that level, I won't recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Errolneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2009

As advitised: "airport pick-up if book 2 nigt stay". This is NOT true.

The lodge is located at 4th storey of a very old building with no maintainance..
Very bad odeour from 1st floor to 3rd floor of the building !

Water pressure is very weak. Toilet is not clean.

Kampong Air, a commercial area 1km away, is much cleaner. Many hotel available at RM70 ,

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlienAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We arrived in KK on a very late flight, having booked this accom. THEY NO LONGER DO AIRPORT PICK UP. The taxi desk gave us the wrong address on voucher. Went back for new voucher. The taxi driver didn't 'know' it, couldn't find it... then he did. A really smelly back alley entrance, four flights and a padlocked grill at the top. No answer. I emailed Abdul to apologise for our 'no show' (we went back to taxi's original mistaken destination - Borneo Beachouse, which was brilliant). I said I thought the taxi had made a mistake taking us to the 'back entrance'. Not so; he said they give the guests a key to the padlock, and if I had found it Scary (I was scared we had nowhere to sleep) "Hope before you book a hostel around the world, please look the location and comment or ask the owner situations of the lodge/guesthouse". We stayed in several budget hostels in Borneo and more in Cambodia. None were as unwelcoming from the outside as this one. It may be a miracle on the inside but I am not about to be padlocked in!

Stayed: August 2009
1  Thank Silverfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

The Hostel just basic and sample. But so clean inside or outside the room.

The price so cheap, is only RM 18.00 ( what do you get?
-free airport pick up from 10am till 9pm, air-con dorm, breakfast toast & coffee & tea 24hours, towel, bedsheet & blanket - even small for me)

The convenient place - supermarket, banks, food area - just all around. They are more central in town!

They also have Travel Agency please check the website:-
[--]

Many thanks to Mr. Abdul & Family
I will back some day!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ryan_levis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Contacted the guesthouse directly cos I wanted to climb the mountain. Abdul gave me a price and promised me that I could do the mountain. So booked a return flight for four days in KK and reserved accom at the beach lodge and the climb with abdul's company.

Upon landing in KK, he told me that there was no room on the mountain and he couldn't guide me.

I was so angry about it, I had left my wife to do the climb, paid for an international flight and to be told it was off I was so upset.

Luckily I traveled the next day independently, took a bus to the mountain put my name on the waiting list and got a guide with a fellow indie traveller and did the mountain.

Got back to the beach lodge, very tired, slept in my air con room, woke up at 3am very hot and humid. They'd turned the aircon off!!! And there was no window or fan to open.

Unbelievable!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pukka_del_pilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

Thank's Abdul & Wife!

Our stay like at home..we miss it!

Good Service - Free Airport pick up
Very Clean..Very Good Location for food, banks, superstore
See you again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Lodge

Address: 46 Jalan Pantai | 3rd Floor, Kota Kinabalu 88803, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £4 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute little guesthouse with friendly staff, if a little laid back (prime example of laid backness is second-in-command Razak!). Only has a handful double rooms, all with share hot water showers, so need to book ahead about a week in advance. Also two 8 bed dorms available. Breakfast included, and free airport pickup. Lots of tour info and little breakfast/lounge area. Very clean with tiled floors. Recommended by Dinah Gardner: Footprint: Malaysia & Singapore: 5th Edition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing