We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
US$640
US$564
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$111
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$48
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaya Centre Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$49
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Jesselton Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$63
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
143
209
115
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
209
115
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegg stationbus stoproom serviceseafoodwalking distancenice hotelclean roomsgaya streetbreakfast spreadwater frontfront officecomfortable stayf blocation is greatbudget hotelroom was largewi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

You book the hotel Shangri-La expecting a lot. Well they delivered very little. This is not a Shangri-La hotel and is very old and outdated. The lobby was falling apart. Breakfast was so bad with no choice. This hotel is actually a 3 star. If you want to iron your clothes you must go to the 6th floor to use a bolted to the wall iron. Rooms are smelly and bathrooms outdated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

First the reception service was very poor. When we was book for triple bed room but he given us the room with an add extra bed and the bed is very hard. Be carefull with the lift because is often damaged.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninaabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This hotel is decent but it is located next to a very busy road, which you have to cross to get to town. Unfortunately, there is no crossing signal, and traffic does not stop, meaning you have to risk your life dodging across 3 lanes of traffic to get anywhere. We thought twice about going back to the hotel because it was such a difficult job. Breakfast is substandard compared to most Asian hotels. Rooms are nice and clean; service is good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpinehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We were expecting good things from this hotel especially as Shangri La's in general in Asia are quite a good chain. What I can say is the food and the staff are superb. They could not do enough and the Indian restaurant serves some of the best Indian cuisine we have had.

Sadly the good news ends there. The rooms are very much in need of a make over, spacious but old fashioned and certainly not 4/5 star. We had huge problems with the pipes making screeching noises and we had to move at 1am when the sound hit crazy volume levels. The loos near the pool are dirty and pretty disgusting and the pool area itself looks like something from the 60's (and is overun with children - not good for us as a young couple but would be fine for families.) The pool towels are cheap and very surprisingly the beach is really dirty. Cigarette packets and rubbish are strewn around and we never saw them clean it during our 4 day stay (the same packets were still there throughout!) and there are no sunbeds at all on the beach so you cannnot really 'use' the beach. The sunbeds near the pools and garden have no decking underneath them so you have to walk over rough mud and dirt every time you stand up. The whole place feels a little like the holiday camp from the Dirty Dancing movie and the evening entertainment is embarrassingly karaoke in style. Breakfast is a free for all buffet and again, feels like a holiday camp canteen, not a smart hotel. The food as I said however was good in quality.

We upgraded to the 'Ocean Wing' as we could bear it no longer (and had already moved rooms once with no improvement) and this wing is a totally separate experience. Fabulous rooms, large balconies, a pool from a totally different league, a separate and private reception and wonderful 5* style breakfast restaurant with waiters and relaxed atmosphere with sea views. The Ocean Wing is much more elegant and sophisticated and what we had expected from our Asian trip in a Shangri La. I would really warn anyone staying in the main hotel, totally doable for a cheap sun break, and staff are fabulous, but dont get your hopes up - this is a very disappointing holiday camp resort and there is nothing glamorous about it. If you can afford the Ocean Wing do it - or else consider somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We arrived into KK late and this hotel is just minutes from the airport.

Rooms are standard with big firm beds. All clean and tidy, though looking a touch dated.

Service at the tiny bar was poor having to wander to reception to catch anyone's attention!

Overall though a solid and cheap choice if you need something in downtown KK.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eponline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews