We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but location not ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but location not ideal”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The room was spacious, neat & clean. The king sized bed was comfortable, and we appreciated having chairs to sit on. We only ate one meal in the hotel, which was a buffet dinner. Good food, but pricey. The hotel is located on an incredibly busy main road, so the rooms are noisy. We stayed on the 5th floor the first night, and then moved to the 9th floor for remaining nights due to the noise. Crossing the busy main road to get into the city centre is dangerous, and unfortunately there is no pedestrian crossing nearby.

Wi-Fi was non-existent. Did not work on either floor we stayed on, but worked well (fast!) in the lobby.

The reception staff are hit & miss, but Susan who works afternoon/evenings is fantastic. Super helpful & speaks fluent English.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and rooms located on the side of the hotel (not the front) experience less road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    180
    106
    21
    11
See reviews for
66
134
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean and neat. Room space is decently big. Toilet is a bit small. The wifi is good and truly fast connection. Blast spread can be improved. Anyway, I will not forget this incidence. I happened to left my Hp on the bed after checking out. Only realised i misplaced it when I reached the airport an hour later. A lady and a young man from Silk air helped to call Shangri-La bandaran and the receptionist agreed to check. About 10 minutes later, I was told they found my Hp. I was so relieved and thankful that the housekeeping personnels are so reliable and honest. Thank you to all kind souls in Shangri-La bandaran.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Saedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

For a 1-2 nights stay, I would certainly recommend this 3-star hotel. It's close enough to the city center (about 5-10 min walk to Gaya Street), and you have eatery options nearby - local eateries and fast food brand such as KFC or Mary Brown. The hotel is clean and tidy - which was good enough for transit traveler like myself.

The reception staffs are friendly and speak English well.

The room is reasonable. I got a room with two single beds. It was good enough for me to get a good night rest. The place is clean - and that met my expectation (and beyond).

Almost all the folks I met know this hotel and not be confused with the Shangri-la resort. The taxi drivers know it too without confusion. I would recommend this for short term business stay, transit traveler, and if you don't mind staying in a 3-star hotel for holiday - go for it.

(For the inquired mind - this hotel was established before the formal Shangri-la group came to town. This was why even the case was brought to the court, this 3-star hotel got to keep his brand.)

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank po-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Nice 3* hotel - not part of Shangri La group. We stayed here as part of a 7 day Eco Tours trip (BTW Eco tours not recomended), we stayed for 3 nights. We were given a room with a kingsize bed as they had no doubles, room was nice size, clean & nice bathroom - only gripe not enough towels however you could request more for a few MYR.

Very helpful staff, however when we checked in they asekd if we wanted a wake up call for next day, we said yes at 7am however they forgot! Luckliy we had set our alarm too so wasnt a problem but beware if you ask for one! Breakfast starts at 4.30am which is very handy if you are up early for a tour.

Good location, 5 min walk to waterfront via various shopping malls, waterfront has wide selection of bars/retaurants or you walk past lots of local restaurants on the way, you do have to cross a large road but not a problem if you are patient & wait for gap in traffic!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Close to the airport. As others have said dangerous road crossing to get to the town, can take a while to cross but once you do very good location! Clean room, nice and spacious. Was not expecting much for a 3 star hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Staff were professional and helpful. Walk down to the waterfront (ask for a map from reception) and there is a shopping mall and bars and restaurants which were quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed one night on a tour. Close to city centre but busy highway difficult to cross in front of hotel. clean rooms bathroom and bedding. Adequate breakfast. Nothing outstanding, was fine for anovernight stop

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Active_Traveller014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

great, the best 3 star hotel in kota kinabalu. very near to city, great restaurant , massage, bar, disco around the hotel. i think the hotel need a pool. night market also very near by. suitable for honey moon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arie970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing