We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La standard fare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shangri-La standard fare”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently as part of a tour group booking. The hotel is quite dated, however I found it to be clean and in a good location. The rooms were spacious enough and it was pleasing to have free Wifi in the room. The hotel kindly held our bags for over a week which was convenient for us while we did some side trips. They were also helpful for arranging transport options for us. The service in the restaurant was disappointing, even ordering some beers at the bar seemed to take an inordinate amount of time on multiple occasions.

I would recommend this hotel for the traveller who is not looking for luxury but who can use the room as a clean base to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    184
    107
    22
    11
See reviews for
69
137
53
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It was my first time to Sabah and a very memorable trip as I will never ever regret booking the wrong Hotel. I normally stay at the Shangri-La's whenever I travel and was surprised that the Quality and Service of this Shangri-La is SUPERB and MAGNIFICENT. The location is great where it is so convenient if you do not have any transportation of your own. The room was so clean and well maintained as the Hotel is already more than 30 years old. The service was remarkable with staff paying so much attention to your needs in all departments. I had nothing to complaint about as the quality of this Hotel is as good as a 5 star Hotel. Food was great with excellent service altogether. This Hotel will always be my place of stay whenever I am in Sabah and truly recommend this Hotel to everyone visiting Sabah. You will not regret. Keep up the good work and am sure this Hotel will EXCEL to greater heights.

Room Tip: All Rooms are Fantastic Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamestee2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I brought my parents here and we were happy with the service. Check in was a breeze and the extra bed was ready in a few minutes.. Wi fi was free and fast. Clean bathroom. However, not many choices of channels on the Tv. Breakfast food would need a revamp.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Suitable for bizness traveller or for shoppers who just need room to sleep and not really for staying in. There are two of us so a standard room with twin beds is okay and spacious. We were allocated on the 7th floor and smell of cigarette smoke is disturbing. There is minibar, coffee maker and hair dryer. The iron and ironing board is positioned at one floor down at level 6 near the stairways. Breakfast looks good, there is variety of selections but unfortunately we were fasting at that time!. Overall the 3days 2nites stay here was good as the hotel is centrally located. Nothing to complain except the showel head, once tap is turn on the water came out from both outlets, top and bottom @room710.....you get showed before you're ready. Beds are good, we slept well for the 2 nites and personally I liked the pillows......

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamida2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great location just a short walk away from the harbour side and night market in Kota Kinabalu.
Hotel was standard hotel, clean, and a good selection for breakfast just nothing amazing.
Our room was tidy but only single glazed so a little noisy from the street but with the air con on at night it was not a big issue.
We had a noisy room on our floor and one call to reception and it was sorted.
Staff were not over friendly but we did not need to interact with them to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesocks1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our second time at this hotel, we used their online booking for a few weeks in advance and to our surprise even though we ask for a non-smoking room they put us on a smoking floor in a room that was for smokers. They did say they were sorry, but for people like us that have sensitivity to smoke it was a long night. We will not being going back to this hotel, we feel they should have comped the room for this kind of error.

The reason we also feel the training of the staff is poor is that rather than accepting the mistake and finding a solution they only said sorry and took no action, finally we asked to see the manager and they said he was not in. So we walked upstairs to the office and found the manager in , but he also only felt sorry for the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, its just that there's not much particularly good about it. It feels like a Holiday Inn from the 1980s that hasnt been updated much. Its kept decently clean, but the bedding feels a bit old, the furniture, while not in disrepair is from a different decade, and the whole place feels a bit stale. I wouldn't call the service in the hotel unfriendly, but I wouldn't call it friendly either.

On the better side, it was quiet, and the breakfast buffet, while nothing fancy, was generous and had a decent amount of diversity. Pricing is average for East Malaysia (21 RM).

About ten minutes (and 30RM) by taxi to the airport, which is easily arranged.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing