We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comfortable”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay in this hotel was arranged through Borneo Eco Tours and after reading some of the reviews I was apprehensive about the accommodation. Thus when I arrived to find it comparable to a Travelodge in UK it was a reassuring surprise. My room was clean and pleasant enough. It had a fridge, which made more noise than the air con. There was an ironing room, a cheap and efficient laundry service and safe boxes available in reception. I found the staff helpful and polite. The breakfast was adequate, especially as it catered for diverse national tastes, and I did not experience the 'scrum' mentioned in one review. On the day we left at 5.30 we were surprised to find that the restaurant had opened early to accommodate this.
The main disappointment was that wi-fi was not available in the rooms and there was very little seating in the reception/lounge area where it was freely available. Apart from this I was very satisfied with this reasonably price hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ms Susan,

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments received which you had experienced during your stay with us in Kota Kinabalu. We always believe in ensuring that all our guest needs are met and that whatever comments received, we will improve on it. Yes, we are now in the process of improving the Wi-fi reception for all the floors of the Hotel and rest be assured that this matter will be resolved with better Wi-fi strength. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us with the Service and Product. We hope that you would continue to support us during your future stay in Kota Kinabalu in the near future. Hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    188
    108
    23
    11
See reviews for
71
139
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is not part of the Shangri La chain, or if it is it is a far distant cousin. Good situation in town with a short walk to the waterfront and restaurants. However, you have to cross a very busy road to do so. Room was average, no safe in the room and the fixtures and fittings weren't very nice. Both the walls and the windows had pretty much no sound proofing - we were on the 9th floor and could still hear the traffice noise very clearly as well as our neighbours above/below and on both sides (I used ear plugs to get to sleep!!). We were supposed to be on a non-smoking floor but clearly one of our neighbours was ignoring the signs. I booked this as I thought it was part of the Shangri La chain - don't make the same mistake'

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and it is true that we are not under the same group as the Shangri-la Resorts in Sabah. We always provide the best facilities and services which we have in the Hotel. Product maintenance and Service provided to all our guest is our priority. We have rooms facing the city as well as rooms facing the hillside. This request could be made upon making your reservation or upon check in and our staff would most definitely extend a quiet room which will face the hillside. Nevertheless, we will take note of your request and ensure that on your future stays with us, you would be given a hillside room instead. We truly apologize for the inconvenienced that you experience with the neighbors smoking on the non-smoking floors although we have placed signs to notify all guest that the floor and room is non-smoking. We will definitely ensure that you do not experience this during your next trip to Shangri-La Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A good hotel, situated at the back of the town. It's a short walk to the nicer part of the waterfront, but crossing the roads is a nightmare.

Room was described as deluxe, but was distinctly average for a hotel of this standard. No safe in the room. Toilet didn't flush properly and required manual intervention to complete.

Bed was comfortable, but air con would not turn off and the road out front is noisy.

Breakfast was good but less varied than other hotels, mostly local cuisine. Coffee in the room was an all in one sachet and too sweet.

Needs a pool, KK as hot and humid. My advice for KK is stay outside in one of the resorts with a good pool. There's not a lot to see in town.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Kota Kinabalu. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenienced experienced. We would like to advise that there is a pedestrian crossing beside the hotel to the other side of the road where many guest find it safe. We provide free safe deposit boxes at the reception as we only provide safe boxes in our suite rooms. We have taken note of the flushing system and we are now upgrading this system for all our rooms. We have rooms facing the city as well as the hillside which is very quiet. This could be requested when you check in as our staff would be glad to extend a quiet room. Our breakfast spread caters both Local and European selection and we are pleased that you had enjoyed it.
The coffee in the room is a 3 in 1 selection which is now a favorite for all guests but one can order coffee via room service where coffee , sugar and creamer is separated. We will definitely be looking into all your feedback as we always believe in ensuring Guest Satisfaction during their stay with us. Our staff are always there to assist you with anything as we want to ensure the comfort of our guest is at its best. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here after the mountain climb at mount Kinabalu for 1 night before back home.
Hotel is nice and clean..very close to airport, about 20min even with some traffic.Location wise is close to eateries though not many but walking distance to Center point mall about 10-15min.
Aircon generated a lot of noise but because we were exhausted so didn't really care so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YujiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was nice to know that you had enjoyed with us and we always believe in guest comfort. We have taken note of the air condition noise which you had experienced and this has been rectified. We hope that you would continue staying with us whenever you visit Sabah again and rest be assured that you will have a better experience. My team always believe in delivering guest satisfaction and will ensure that every guest needs is well taken care during their stay with us.
Hope to see you soon in Sabah. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Quick check-in, smiley/nice front desk staff. An old hotel but with signs of a fairly recent renovation. Very clean bathroom, but the hotel does not provide toothbrushes and toothpaste. The rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable. Limited English-language channels on television. The hotel is a good 15-30 minute walk to the nearest mall (Centerpoint- a busy mall with a lot of low to mid-range shops) and other places of interest (Gaya Street Sunday market). This might not be an issue to some, but KK is a very hot city with not a lot of shade trees! (Read: sunburn)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Neuroticneurologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We book this hotel last minute and regretted our decision for booking it 2 nights. Rooms are average enough. A/C is centralised and you cannot adjust according to your requirement. Breakfast is just enough.. not much variety. Please avoid rooms on outer side as lots of noise from construction and also on higher floors as lots of noise from wind blowing  You have to pay extra even for extra towel.

Avoid this hotel if possible. Go for hotels on Jalan tun razak..

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday_lovers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is an average hotel, but it is well located, the staff were friendly, and most importantly, the room was clean. There was some construction work happening across the street, but did not disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing