We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont go there!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Bad place. No value for money!! Staff was unhelpfull, rooms smelly and not quiet at all! Couldnt sleep because of the traffic and construction works on the other side if the street (day/night)
One night smoke came into our room through the airco. Staff told me it was normal in some rooms...
Bed was terrible!
Wifi is bad! When i talked to the staff, they didnt do anything about my complaints.
Located ten minutes walking from the centre.
The only good thing is that the rooms are clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Timdemartelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. We appreciate your feedback and we are taking all the necessary steps to improve in the Services and Product. The construction across the road follows their daily working schedule which the Hotel has no control over them. We do recommend guest who are light to noise to have rooms that face the hill side which is away from the noises from the front.
Our current Wifi system is now undersgoing a total upgrading of services for the entire Hotel. This will be completed by the end of July 2014. I believe that there will not be anymore distruption with the services and guest would be able to enjoy FREE Wifi from the comfor of their rooms.
We hope that you would stay with us again during your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Thank You.

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    173
    101
    18
    11
See reviews for
58
127
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having a night stay after the climbing of Mt Kinabalu. It's a little bit old outside, but the room wasn't feel that bad. At least a clean and cozy hotel. The aircon switch doesn't seem working as the room abit warm and stuffy. It didn't bother us cox we really super tired.
The concierge is very helpful and friends through help us in booking a taxi and suggest a nice place to visit around KK town.
Opposite the hotel, the street shops had a nice dimsum shop.
About 10 minutes walk to sea site and the main town Gaya Street.
Definitely value for money~!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkpoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. Our team of dedicated staff are always ensuring guest satisfaction with the Services & Product . We are glad that you were happy staying with us and we hope that you would continue supporting us during your future visits to Kota Kinabalu.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The stay was good, we have a clean large room with huge bathroom with bathtub, soft pillows and very comfortable bed. We paid around RM 145/night, we got a room with bathtub and buffet breakfast, it was good value for money. Although the hotel is a little old, but with the reasonable rate, we do not have any issue on this.

The buffet breakfast did not have much choices, suggest to skip it, rather to book for room only (around RM 120/night), as there are many local food stalls across the main road. Great location, shopping malls are just across the main road, and long distance bus station is few steps away from hotel.

There was a security breach during our stay, front desk staff gave hubby an extra room key card without verify the guest name (booking was under my name). We hope hotel will aware of this.

Overall, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XRuChiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Kota Kinabalu. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and we have also taken note on the issuance of the key card to your husband. We always believe in ensuring that safety and guest comfort is our priority. We will continue reminding and advising our staff to be more cautious when issuing the key. We trully apologize for this inconvenience and hope that you would continue to stay with us during your next holiday to Kota Kinabalu.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is our first time to Sabah and we stayed in this hotel for one night.

Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu is easy to find and it located at the center of Kota Kinabalu.
Smooth check in process, staff also friendly and bed also comfort. Room size also ok for all of us.

Will stay again in this hotel if we come back to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IUtheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Shangri-La Hotel during your visit to Kota Kinabalu. It was our pleasure to have you as our esteemed guest and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always believe in having a good product with our best service extended to every guest from the time they check in till the time they check out. We hope that you will continue supporting us during your next trip to Kota Kinabalu and thank you for your feed backs.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed in the Shangri La Hotel in October 2013 & Feb 2014 and I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Kota Kinabalu and intends to book a hotel in town. The location is great and the hotel is wonderful. From the time you step into the lobby till the room, you will be amazed with the Service and Quality of the Public Areas and Room. I was told that this hotel is 37 years old and you will be astonished to find that the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel so good. Staff are very polite and always willing to assist you in all your needs and information about Sabah. The breakfast spread was excellent with a variety of local and europeon food. One must try their home made breads and kaya which is simply great. I even tried their room service and had their Saturday Night Buffet dinner which was real sumptous and tasty. The quality of the rooms were superb where you will not find any spot to complaint.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting or having difficulty to choose a hotel in town, just book at the Shangri La Hotel Kota Kinabalu and rest be assured that you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was a pleasure having you as our esteemed guest during your 2 visits to Kota Kinabalu. We thank you for your continuous support and appreciate the valuable feed backs which you have experienced in the Hotel. We always believe in the Product & Service extended to all our guest as we want to always ensure total guest satisfaction during their stay. We take pride in delivering our best services to our guest especially for those who have never been to Sabah and to experience the warm hospitality. We hope that you will always choose the Shangri - La Hotel in Kota Kinabalu whenever you visit Sabah again. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A short description of staying at this hotel would be - loads of fun things to do. We went with our 2 kids, aged 10 and 4 and they had an absolute blast. Activities included 2 lovely water slides in the pool, a host of water sports on the beach which is half a minute away (though you have to get there early) and an in house orangutan reserve which both the children absolutely loved.
The hotel itself was good without being exceptional and quite expensive for what it is, particularly the food. Given that this is hotel is miles away from Kotakinabalu town there arent any options for food around the hotel - most things are a longish half hour taxi ride away. Rooms again are quite reasonable size, enough place for an extra pull out bed for the 2 kids.
Go if you want to spend time at the hotel indulging in the activities available there. Dont go if plan to be away a lot, trekking or doing other things away from the hotel - it would not be worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are cheaper than ones overlooking the sea - both are nice and we didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I believe you have picked the wrong Hotel to write the review. We do not have any beach as we are centrally located downtown.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was told it was the Shangri-La and was hugely confused because there was another by the beach however the hostel we were in was absolutely appalling and fairly pricey for what it was. Put foot down after Mt Kinabalu climb and refused to hack it and found this gem of a place that had spacious rooms, very clean bathrooms though they were fairly spartan on extra towels and the location was convenient enough. We did Mt Kinabalu and I wanted something that wasn't roughing it and this was perfect without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Madam,

We Thank You for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. We are also very pleased that you had a wonderful experience staying with us here for the first time. We always believe in ensuring Guest Satisfaction is met for all our esteemed guest. Our product is now going into the 38th year of operation but from your experience it shows that we strongly believe that we always want to make all guest comfortable staying here. Our dedicated team is always ensuring that we make our guest experience a good and satisfying stay when they are in Kota Kinabalu. We hope that you would continue to stay with us during your next trip to Sabah.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing