We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to explore KK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to explore KK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stay for two nights. Overall the hotel quite good. If you want to explore KK town, this hotel a good place to stay because its location quite near to the night market and the sunday market. KFC and Marrybrown also quite near if you want to eat fast food. However, the breakfast buffet selection quite ok but some of the food quality not that great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and hope that you would stay with us again during your next trip to Kota Kinabalu. We have taken note on your feedback on the Breakfast variety and will certainly discuss this with my team. We always believe to improve our standards through guest feed backs.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    170
    101
    18
    11
See reviews for
57
126
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

As expected, well located hotel in kk. The environment of the hotel was good and the room was quiet, clean and pleasant. The beds and pillows are very comfy too. The bad was wi-fi signal reception was very bad.. Aircond was making alot of noisy sound when it operating and the switch of the aircond was malfunction.
Overall the hotel was very worth for a short stay like 2 or 3 nights as it's located in the center of kk city there's about 10 minutes walk to the nearest mall and the gaya street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with during your trip to Kota Kinabalu in May this year. After taking over the Management of this Hotel in March 2014, we had immediately looked into improving the room air condition and wi-fi for the hotel. This project was recently completed in July as we had to make the orders which took us about 2 - 3 months to arrive. As of July 2014, the Hotel rooms has experienced better air conditioning and wi-fi altogether. We have looked into the problems immediately as this was our main priority towards guest satisfaction. I trust that during your next stay with us, you will have a different experience.
Once again, thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

As you would expect, this place is clean, pretty spacious and well located. The breakfast has a pretty good selection and we got our room for very little. Very surprisingly (and disappointingly) the staff were not of the good standard I've experienced in the past in Shangri-la hotels. Obviously this has a lower star rating than some other branches, but I would still expect good service. Twice I saw staff roll their eyes at other customers and when I had a very reasonable question (how long does it take to get to the airport by taxi in the morning) the receptionist was very impatient with her response. Otherwise, an enjoyable stay, but not due to customer service!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenWillis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. Our brand name is not associated with any other chain of the same name. We are always proud to serve all guest with our best service and product. I apologize for the experience which you had when requesting for information and we are definitely and continuously training and coaching all staff to provide the best service and information to all guest. We are glad that you had a hearty breakfast with the variety spread that we cater for foreigners and locals. We hope that you would stay with us during your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

stayed with the family for 3 nights. We had a beautiful view on the town.
rooms are large and clean and cozy, staff is helpful, location is few minutes walking distance from city markets and malls.
highly recommended!



  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gggd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank You for choosing Shangri-La Hotel during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. We are glad to know that you had a good experience staying with us. Our Team in the Hotel always ensures that all guest are given the best Service during their stay. The city view that you experience gives every guest a good panoramic view of the city. We hope that you would continue staying with us whenever you visit Kota Kinabalu again.

Best Regards.

Adrian Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

No electricity, needed to walk several levels to room, booked 3 single beds waited till 9pm till bed arrived. Had pre paid room, questioned rudely by 3 staff at rate we paid when checking out, told Manager to check with Wotif ,he realised we were right, didn't, apologise. Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 117Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Shangri-La Hotel Kota Kinabalu during your last trip to Sabah. We would like to apologize for the inconvinience that you experienced on the 29th of June as we experienced a power failure which we imediately took all the necessary measure to restore it back soonest. I would also like to apologize on the issue of your reservation and assure you that such an incident will not happen again. We always take all the necessary steps to over come what ever technical or mechanical issues urgently. We hope that you would give us an opportunity to welcome you again to the Shangri-La Hotel during your next trip to Sabah.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravelotte, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for 1 night at the start of my trip and 2 at the end. It is clean, with good facilities and an excellent breakfast buffet. Well situated, just a 10 minute walk down to the waterfront, market and centre point shopping centre. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwglobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback that you experienced during your recent stay in Kota Kinabalu. We always believe in giving our guest the best experience of stay and service that will be remembered. Our Team is always assuring that our Product and Services are at its best levels at all times. We do hope that you would continue to support us during your future visits to Kota Kinabalu.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Bad place. No value for money!! Staff was unhelpfull, rooms smelly and not quiet at all! Couldnt sleep because of the traffic and construction works on the other side if the street (day/night)
One night smoke came into our room through the airco. Staff told me it was normal in some rooms...
Bed was terrible!
Wifi is bad! When i talked to the staff, they didnt do anything about my complaints.
Located ten minutes walking from the centre.
The only good thing is that the rooms are clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Timdemartelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKSHANG, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. We appreciate your feedback and we are taking all the necessary steps to improve in the Services and Product. The construction across the road follows their daily working schedule which the Hotel has no control over them. We do recommend guest who are light to noise to have rooms that face the hill side which is away from the noises from the front.
Our current Wifi system is now undersgoing a total upgrading of services for the entire Hotel. This will be completed by the end of July 2014. I believe that there will not be anymore distruption with the services and guest would be able to enjoy FREE Wifi from the comfor of their rooms.
We hope that you would stay with us again during your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Thank You.

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing