We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Friendly atmosphere.”
Review of Hamin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamin Lodge
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Stayed here for a total 14 nights over 2 differant periods during March 2008.
Approx 20-25 RM taxi fare from the airport. Close to the waterfront, shopping centres, restaurants and markets.
Clean and new.
Staff are friendly, helpful and willing to assist.
The decor is traditional Borneo.
You won't regreat staying here.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Hank05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2007

What can I say? This is one of the cleanest, coolest lodges I've ever stayed in. The staff are friendly, the location is great (cinemas and restaurants all within sight of the front door). There is a little 7-11 next door to the lodge which sells water and basic supplies.

I would suggest that you eat at the bar/restaurant attached to Hamin, called Shoney's. The place is a family affair, and the food is excellent (Shone trained as a chef in New Orleans). The bar looks out over a huge seafood restaurant which puts on cultural performances every night, so you can watch a bit of local dancing whilst supping on a beer!

Make sure you ask Shone if he will get you a Durian ice-cream, just don't expect it to taste very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This hotel is located pretty centrally - was approx. 20 MYR from airport in taxi. The Hotel is only small but very cosy and friendly. It is still new so the rooms are very well furnished and very presentable with a lot of character. Although rooms are small they are more than adequate and very comfortable and clean. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and all parts of the service were excellent
- i would not be surprised to see this place in any future editions of 'rough guide' or 'lonely planet' as it is great value. Further benefits are 1) the excellent restuarant called 'Shoney's' which is connected to the Hotel - the food and service here is great - again the decor was cool and there are also 3 large screens. 2) free internet access for 1/2 hour 3) shower and laundry facilities were excellent and 4) there are 2 cinemas just up the road!! I would say only downside is a tv would be a big bonus in each room.

Stayed: October 2007
10  Thank KUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Had two very nice stays here. I've only slept in a private room, but I looked at the dorms and shared bathroom facilities which were equally spotless. The hostel is tastefully decorated with bamboo and rattan furniture. This is one of KK's newer accommodations, and as far as I know is the only one that has an adjoining massage spa. The staff was helpful and friendly. Next door is a seafood emporium that features nightly cultural dance shows. You can watch the shows from the balcony of Hamin Lodge....a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank TayDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petronastt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamin Lodge

Address: Lot 19 Block C | Sedco Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88830, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamin Lodge in Kota Kinabalu is a unique boutique budget hotel in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City. Services include Borneo Deco Hotel rooms in Kota Kinabalu, Exciting Borneo Tour packages, a Traditional Massage Spa, Restaurant and Bar. Fully air conditioned for comfort, rooms range from budget Hostel types of rooms suitable for backpackers to deluxe rooms with ensuite. Discover Borneo with us and experience your Best Value Holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. Definitely we have the Best location for a Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamin Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing