We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cosy Lodge in Kota Kinabalu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamin Lodge
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Cosy Lodge in Kota Kinabalu”
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My wife & I stayed at Hamin Lodge for 5 days in early september. We came about the Lodge by accident as we were staying in another budget hotel opposite of Hamin Lodge.

We decided to shift over to Hamin Lodge after checking out the room which is in traditional Malaysian style and the deluxe room we choose was new, also very clean unlike the first Hotel we stayed where we found a dead rat under the bed!

We had the lodge arranged for us the tour to Kinabalu National park and though we had to leave very early in the morning, breakfast was ready for us on time. Around the lodge there are many eating places from fine dining to hawker food. There are also many shopping areas within walking distance.

For it's budget price Hamin Lodge is an excellent value for money in Kota Kinabalu and feels really like home. I highly recommend Hamin Lodge for anyone coming to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Liked — The traditional style, free internet and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Limited common area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank muragam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We chose the Hamin as a 'home' base while we spent 6 weeks touring Broneo. Altogether we stayed for 9 nights and booked the budget queen each time. We made all our tour arrangements ourselves and Dave was very helpful with emails at the planning stage and very understanding of our numerous changes!

We arranged all our airport transports through Hamin and it was very convenient to know that a taxi would be waiting for us on arrival at the airport and be booked to take us to the airport. All these transfers worked smoothly, even when we had to ring Dave to tell him we were catching a different flight! (Getting a taxi at the airport is easy, but it was good to be met by the same driver and meant we were quicker away from the airport, so worth doing for the convenience.)

We left our bags in their safe storage room, swapping dive kit for walking gear when we returned to 'home'. This was very convenient and saved having to carry all our luggage with us everywhere and pay the excess baggage costs this would have incurred. There was no charge for this service and one that was very much appreciated.

Dave manages the hotel efficiently and is very friendly and helpful. The website talks of the Hamin family and we did feel we were coming home. He is supported by a team of youngsters who are willing, friendly and do their best. The Lodge is very commendably offering training and job opportunities to the young people and one has to accept that they are training.

The rooms we stayed in were small, but adequate for overnight and with en suite shower . The shower always had hot water and the towels/sheets provided were always clean and changed daily. The air con was efficient. The bed was firm, but no harder than any that we slept in in Sabah and as we prefer a firm bed suited us well.

Breakfast was coffee, fruit juice toast and cereal and served in the communal area on the first floor. This provided a small sitting area with tables and chairs, a couple of easy chairs, TV and a pleasant sitting area on an outside balcony. There is a computer with Internet access and guests can use this whenever they wish.

The Lodge also provides, at no cost, safety deposit boxes and we left some of our valuables here when we went off on our travels.There is a hot and cold water machine on the second floor and the hotel sells tea/coffee and cold drinks.

The Hamin is well located, away from the busy centre, but close enough to only be a short walk to the Centre Point Shopping Centre, the sea and all the markets. Next door is a food court, and surprisingly there is no noise from it to disturb in the evenings. There are a range of restaurants serving seafood (and more) at reasonable prices. We recommend Twinskeys having eaten there on several occasions.

The Hamin has a range of rooms from dormitory with shared showers and toilets to en suite family rooms. For an overnight stop in KK or as a base for wider travel in KK it's a good base for backpackers or couples/individuals wanting a reasonably priced room.

While we were there another guy came and went, doing the same as us and it was nice to catch up with him. It really did feel like coming home! The service is friendly and helpful and they do live up to their promise of a refund. We stayed an extra night elsewhere and Dave refunded the money we'd paid for the room.

We'd stay here again!

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff and family feel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cuttlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

My wife and I had booked this Lodge according to what we read on Tripadvisor, when we got there we found that the place was under renovation,and had tools and building materials lying around which wasn't very welcoming. We had booked one of their best rooms which had the ensuite shower and toilet, it looked like their advertisment, but we found that the matress on the bed was hard and uncomfortable.
Breakfast was the last straw, when we came down for breakfast there was no one around to serve us, even at the reception desk, for ten minutes, when the girl arrived we asked her about breakfast her answer was " what would you like" and clearly there was nothing on offer behind the counter apart from building materials.

  • Liked — the room has potential
  • Disliked — Bed matress/breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haminlodge, Owner at Hamin Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2008
It was unfortunate that when this valued guest was staying with us Hamin Lodge was undergoing some renovations and improvement works and thus the place was quite messy and some of the facilities such as kitchen were not fully functional. We apologize for any discomfort and inconveniences caused but assure that now the improvement works are completed, we are fully back to normal again. We have a policy of 100% guarantee satisfaction and if any guests on arrival at Hamin Lodge is not satisfied with the room or facilities, they can immediately get a 100% refund of their deposit. The comments on the bed maybe a personal opinion as many guests (especially Asians) prefers a firmer or harder bed and pillow as it is believed to be better for health and body posture. Some of our staff are just trainees as being a lodge and not a 5 star hotel we try to give training and employment opportunities to those who are less experience and qualified thus we agree there is still a lot of room for improvement. We ask for our valued guests understanding in this aspect as our policy is to try to help the less fortunate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed there in May with American breakfast , all very poor, everything is dirty and towels not changed even after request as there were insufficient, breakfast was abysmal,if yanks eat two bits of dry bread as they ran out of butter, and one egg cooked in the microwave they have my sympathy. Bed (double) was very hard, as were the pillows, the double bed was made up with single bed sheets (I guess they ran of big sheets as well) so the bottom one hardly covered the mattress and the top one was put on across the bed so didnt pull up correctly.

Stay here if your too lazy to sleep in the street - worst place I have ever stayed.

The web site is false advertising, staff were friendly but lazy and unsupervised.
Bunter

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Lack off normal and expected behaviour and facilities, we had no water pressure for one day
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bunter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haminlodge, Owner at Hamin Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2008
This valued guest must have stayed at Hamin Lodge during the time it was undergoing improvement and renovation works as such the place was quite messy and some of the facilities were not fully functional. We have now put in order all the unhappy remarks and will strive to keep on improving.
In order to help some of the less experienced or less qualified natives of Sabah who may have limited employment opportunities, we strive to provide employment and train these less fortunate. Being a lodge we hope our guests will understand some of these short comings and give us and our staff a chance to constantly trying to improve. We apologize for any of our short coming, discomfort and unpleasantness caused. Our website try to present as accurately and as sincerely as possible the services we provide. We also provide a 100% satisfaction guarantee if on arrival guests are not satisfied with what they see at Hamin Lodge, they can request and get a 100% deposit refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

I booked this hotel through hostelworld.com. as I read very good reviews on it. My shock at the appearance of the lobby in its renovation stage was however later mitigated by the very friendly staff who were most helpful & understanding.. But the renovation was quickly done with minimal noise & disturbance & almost finished on the day we left! Also another shock awaited me when we were shown the room I booked - a double room but it was bunk-beds in a windowless dark room. But such misunderstanding was quickly solved as we were given a nice double room with big windows that looked to the sky & the streets.
The room was tastefully decorated with a large cane armchair & bamboo double bed & bamboo table-all very native & attractive. The parquet wooden flooring was clean & matching batek curtains framed the windows. But being a budget hotel there was no TV but with good aircond & powerful hotwater shower.
But be warned. When I was there there was a city blackout for 3 hours. You have to go by candlelight - the hotel has plenty of candles.But blackouts almost never ever happen (I know cos I'm Malaysian)- I was just unfortunate.

But most important to me was I could walk everywhere easily from here - to night markets, to the Gaya Sunday Market, to the library, to the taxi & bus stands & I am surrounde by food stalls everywhere. On one side was the seafood restaurant, opposite stalls selling pork noodles(delicious), grilled seafood & further away the shopping centres like Centrepoint. Walk straight to Le Meredien & the eating stalls & waterfront are there. Only thing was we asked for brighter lighting in the room as the wooden lampshades block most of the light. But I couldn't ask for better & politer service from all the staff.

  • Liked — location & service
  • Disliked — renovation & dim lighting & no TV
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-While-I-Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Stayed on several nights as we zoomed about Sabah on AirAsia flights. Very good value with friendly staff. Right next door to a good hawker centre and close to all number of useful businesses (laundry etc.)

Rooms were clean and functional. beds were comfy. left our bags in the lock-up room without any fears - the place is manned 24 hours a day. There's free internet too.

20 MYR to the airport and taxi rank is close by. Short walk to the waterfront - Fillipino market and the Indian restaurant next to the "Aussie BBQ" are great (we ate 3 times at the Indian place - very good North Indian food).

They booked us a Mt. Kinabalu climb and it was excellent, staying in a newer hut - just the two of us w/ 4 staff! - instead of the main hut that had 60 people in it - ask to do the "via ferrata" and you get to stay in the best hut/dorm. Very well organised.

Top little place. Dave the manager is very helpful. Do be careful with email communication - a couple of mistakes were made - but ones that benefitted us, so we were happy!

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — Lugging my massive bag up and down the stairs!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Stayed here for a total 14 nights over 2 differant periods during March 2008.
Approx 20-25 RM taxi fare from the airport. Close to the waterfront, shopping centres, restaurants and markets.
Clean and new.
Staff are friendly, helpful and willing to assist.
The decor is traditional Borneo.
You won't regreat staying here.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathay Hotel
Cathay Hotel
#20 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
J & J Hotel
#35 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Crystal Hotel KK
#14 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Api-Api GuestHouse
Api-Api GuestHouse
#10 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamin Lodge

Property: Hamin Lodge
Address: Lot 19 Block C | Sedco Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88830, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamin Lodge in Kota Kinabalu is a unique boutique budget hotel in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City. Services include Borneo Deco Hotel rooms in Kota Kinabalu, Exciting Borneo Tour packages, a Traditional Massage Spa, Restaurant and Bar. Fully air conditioned for comfort, rooms range from budget Hostel types of rooms suitable for backpackers to deluxe rooms with ensuite. Discover Borneo with us and experience your Best Value Holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. Definitely we have the Best location for a Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamin Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing