We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but staff are helpful”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 14 July 2013

There are better choices for budget hotels...rooms are pretty basic and old (which you'd expect given the price).... But, we didn't have any running water in our room (including flushing the toilet!). Sheets were clean, air con worked. Bathroom wasn't brilliantly clean. I'd try the other options first if I went back. Location was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

If you want a short stay and don't mind the smoke of some of the rooms then it's ok. Needs updating to the place, however if you are ok then great. Staff helpful but this place not for everyone. They tried to sort a better room but air conditioning wasn't working. Good points, close to shops, short stay but not for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiboysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A very warm welcoming always by all staffs, walking distance to many small eateries, very helpful night watch personnel, good wifi internet access on all floors, occasionally serving very scrumptious egg tarts in the restaurant, and more.....

Room Tip: The rooms with windows facing the hillside garden are what you should request for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I've stay at Century hotel for 2 nights. The check in reception lady is friendly enough even though she quite busy. She let us check in early before 2 PM.

Room is ok. More spacious than what I imagined. 2 single bed is large enough. Clean room with large flat screen LCD TV.
Jungle view from open-able window. Really quiet.
Plus a fridge but not cold enough.
Sitting area made by bamboo.
Makeup table and chair.
I'm quite surprised when I found that this budget hotel do provide toothbrush and tooth paste as well as tea, coffee, sugar and creamer sachet with electric water boiler.

Negative points: Bathroom is super old and cleanliness should be better. No bathtub even though I booked for Deluxe room. The worst part is hot water is not hot at all, just not as cold as normal water. Wifi connection a bit weak. Location ok but not excellent, but still within walking distance to all main attraction in city centre.

Fast food KFC and Marrybrown just 2 minutes walking distance from this hotel. For Just RM90/ night, still an acceptable and good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

stayed for a week and never regretted it. all highlights within walking distance , eateries etc very nearby , quiet and peacefull with excellent view from the room.

Room Tip: take shady room at rear overlooking lovely piece of nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snifferkuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for 5 weeks and found the hotel an excellent base from which to get around Kota Kinabalu. All eateries and many bars were reachable by a 10-15 minute walk. We felt the price was fair - 20 GBP for a double room with bathroom and fridge. The staff were extremely helpful, and free internet is also available. Bed sheets were very clean and the room itself was in a decent condition. Although I was very happy with the standard, Century is a bit 'no frills', with the bathroom simply a wet room (no bath tub) and the television was old (as mentioned in previous reviews) - so if this sort of thing bothers you, Century may not be the place to stay. Personally, I was too busy experiencing the town itself to be worrying about the TV set. As for tea and coffee making facilities, I had my own tea bags so occasionally went down to the kitchen - they were very happy to give me a mug of hot water. I would recommend Century as a good value, clean and well located place to stay when in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stay there in December 2011 for two nights, booking by Agoda. In promo, bath tub were included so I book for 1 twin sharing room. When I check in, I found that there was no bath tub, tea and coffee making facility and when I ask at the reception, was nicely informed that only deluxe room have the bath tub and tea/cofee facility. I checked in with my family, my wife and 1 son. My son was quite disappointed because he loves to use the tub. Not able to upgrade cos fully book. Staff were friendly and nice.
Don't mind to stay there some other time but I will book a deluxe or famly suite.
Can see monkeys on the trees at the hill from my room.

Room Tip: rooms facing the town and hill slope, can see monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samatut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#28 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#73 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Winner Hotel
Winner Hotel
#77 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lintas View Hotel
Lintas View Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#51 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kinabalu
Hotel Kinabalu
#59 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Lot 12, Century Hotel Jalan Masjid Lama, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £16 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing