We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barely acceptable”
Review of Winner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Winner Hotel
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I recently toured Borneo and this hotel was the start and end hotel on the trip

It is very run down and shabby. The rooms are small and there is no view. The air conditioning barely functioned but worked better than the tvs which received few channels with terrible reception

The free breakfast-- well pass on it and buy from a local vendor

If you want very cheap and simply a place to sleep it may suffice but if you want anything more please go elsewhere


Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank edkravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Short business trip during peak period I had no choice but to stay in this hotel as many other hotels in the area were fully booked. Room with basic facilities. The shower area is too small, room is too small, the corridor is too small. There was faulty aircon in the afternoon and the water dripping from the aircon almost flooded the room. The carpet soaked from water drops. Luckily I was able to save my luggage and stuff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Misz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

True, my room was small, but very comfortable. And it had a window – many older downtown hotels do not. This is not a new building but everything worked. Clean, apart from a few stains on the carpet. Comfortable bed. Good desk and chair for working with a laptop. Very quiet all day and night at the back. One block away from the waterfront, you are still within easy walking distance of everything but off the very noisy flightpath so aircraft movements are barely noticeable, whereas they are a real problem closer to the waterfront. Very friendly service. They loaned me an umbrella when I had to go out in heavy rain. You can even borrow a baby stroller, should you suddenly find yourself with a baby, or feel like one. Wifi was good, though slow in the evening. At the price ($33), this is bargain, especially as it includes a good breakfast with several choices of Malaysian or American. If it's full, there are two more hotels of the same type and price almost next door. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bad for a quiet day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Odd name, I actually had a sea view from top floor so a better name would be a Sea View Hotel to attract tourists. Well no local values sea view, guess too accustomed in it?

Anything else good? Must be good location and friendly staff.

The rest will not make you come bad. This included the steel hard bed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank TramigoMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't say this hotel was a 'winner'. In saying that as a budget hotel it is not too bad, the rooms were clean including bathroom

Bathroom was extremely small but clean, good enough if looking to stay 1 or 2 nights.

Bed was rock hard and sheets looked like they had stains on them. Not exactly sure how they got their 'winner award'.

If worst came to worst I would be happy to stay one night in this hotel but I would keep looking as there are many more cheap hotels that are much better than this.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed one night in Winner Hotel - one night too long. It is advertised as a three star hotel but the claim cannot be justified. If a proper assessment were carried out by the hotel authorities, this hotel would be classed as a one star. The room is quite small, dirty carpets, and one had to stand on the bed to adjust the AC which is from the last century. Part of the hallway does not meet any building codes I am familiar with being less than a metre wide. In any emergency it would be difficult for two people to pass each other; for example, a fireman coming in and a fleeing guest trying to get out. While it is central that's all that can be said about it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I wasn't a huge fan of this hotel. First, let me start with the good parts. The front desk staff was rather nice and the checkin process was smooth. Additionally the breakfast, while nothing special, was adequate; however they seemed to be out of sausage and pancakes by the time that we got down there. Those were the best parts of staying in this hotel.

After checkin we went up to our room on the 3rd floor and were blasted by the disgusting smell of durian. It appeared that they were attempting to air out one particular room but that was making the entire floor smell terrible. Our room was rather small and the somewhat heavy door managed to stick every time. The bathroom was quite tiny even compared to the ones we recently saw in Singapore. For a visual, you could literally turn the sink on while sitting on the toilet.

Needless to say we only stayed one night.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HelloFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#62 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Zara's Boutique Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#44 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Deleeton
Hotel Deleeton
#39 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#53 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
21 reviews
1.9 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#74 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Hotel

Address: Winner Hotel No. 9 & 10 Jalan Pasar Baru | Kampung Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £17 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner Hotel, situated in the heart of the Kota Kinabalu city (Sabah, Malaysia), is just a stone's throw away from Centre Point Sabah Shopping Complex, the Night Market and the Central Market. It is 10 minutes' leisure walk to KK Plaza, the latest shopping complex in the city, and to the Sunday Gaya Street Fair. It is also 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport.204 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing