We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpacker's Heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lavender Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Backpacker's Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is my second night here. So far so good, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms and toilets are clean. Prices are affordable but brace yourself for last minute changes on reservation as mentioned in previous comments.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    161
    44
    11
    8
See reviews for
39
139
64
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baguio City, Philippines
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for almost a week. The staff were very friendly including the owner. They were very very accommodating. The rooms were clean and towels were changed everyday. They were also very helpful in giving us tips as to where to go and they can even arrange the tours for you.
Location is at the center of everything. It is very near their wet market where you can eat freshly grilled fish for dinner. The handicraft market is just beside it too.
The night market is just at the back of the lodge where you can buy some stuff to bring home. Malls are also accessible.
And if you need a taxi, the ate Nora or ate Steph can call the taxi for you. =)
Everything was just perfect. =)
Thank you po sa mga staff na super bait at ok kausap. =)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor for introducing us Lavender Lodge, one of the nicest decision we made while in Kota.

Breakfast was nice. They serve toast, choice of jam or peanut butter, and choice of coffee or tea and banana. Easy, familiar, and you can have another serving if you want :)

I took the double deluxe to have my own shower and toilet. But when i saw the communal bathroom and toilet, i think it is better to settle for cheaper room as well.

The room is clean, homey, and simple. It also has air conditioner. Towels are provided. Clean towels!!! Hot shower is available. There is even liquid soap provided in the bathroom.

It is also in the center of the city. Easy place to start if you want to tour the city.

The best part, the staff that received me are Filipinos. Ate Nora and Stephanie, once they know I'm Filipino, they switched to Tagalog since no one else is around. They helped me to find places where I can buy notebooks, to eat, to walk at night. Stephanie also arranged a taxi for me with three other Filipinos going to airport as well, so we split the cost. Yey for Stephanie.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to tv room, because that's where the stronger internet signal is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatKerbouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Busy place, book ahead if in holiday times as rooms fill up. Staff really friendly and helpful with buses, good places to eat etc. Sell cheap-ish beer and free breakfast. Would highly recommend to all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziebris85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a twin room with 2 friends the night before and the night after climbing Mt Kinabalu. They threw an extra bed in do the 3 of us could share. It was very clean, the beds were really comfortable- including the extra bed which I slept in. Towels provided. Walking distance to everything we needed. They were happy to lock our suitcase up for the 2 days we were climbing the mountain. Staff were friendly. 24 hr reception. Wifi in the room. The shared bathroom facilities were clean and the showers hot. We only needed a bed and this was perfect. Would consider a longer stay if I was needing a base. ie if I was doing dive courses at Gaya Island.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kunama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for one night in Lavender Lodge in the private twin room (shared bathroom). Enjoyed my stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms clean with air conditioning and fan. Bathrooms clean and nice warm shower. No complaints.
Great location, very central.
Breakfast was very sufficient - watermelon, toast, hot drink (and we were offered more toast!)
Would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is good since it is near to most of the tourist destinations. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. The people in the reception are very helpful and accommodating. The only downside of this place is some of the rooms are located upstairs (mine was at the 4th floor) and there is no lift. It's too much of a hassle and very tiring going up and down especially when you are already very tired from walking all day. Just pick the rooms downstairs to prevent this problem. Otherwise, this is one of the best and affordable places to stay when in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Property: Lavender Lodge
Address: No. 6 Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business district of Kota Kinabalu, within walking distance to shopping complexes, restaurants and entertainment outlets. Our clean and comfortable rooms, exceptionally friendly staffs and affordable prices make our lodge the favorite among international travelers. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us and a great holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. From free airport pick up to travel advices and tours, just talk to us and we are always on hand to assist you. We are your holiday home in Borneo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing