We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back”
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #5 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: DEAR VALUED CUSTOMERS PLEASE BE INFORMED THAT THE RESTAURANT WILL BE CLOSED FOR RENOVETIONS FEOM 8TH OCTOBER TO 22ND OCTOBER 2012. BUSINESS WILL RESUME AS USUAL ON 23RD OCTOBER 2012. WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED. THE MANAGEMENT OF LITTLE ITALY.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Sitting in the restaurant now for the 3. Time this week, they have great pasta, nice pizza and really lovely homemade lemonade! Try the creamy bolognase pasta it's good!

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    510
    203
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy in Borneo”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Located at the Hotel Capital and not far from Fayalite Centre hotel. One of the rare tidy clean, no chain, not precooked restaurants in Borneo. Great home made pasta. Our favourite is Pappardelle with Siciliana sauce. Fettuccine Verdi seem very popular. All tables around us eating it. Pizza should have more cheese though. Home made bread baskets also very nice. One problem in Malaysia with Caesar salad is used of beef bacon which made the taste a bit weird at least to us. We enjoyed excellent chocolate cake and a Tiramisu. When you order food, make sure yo tell them which one first, we did not so we got pasta first then salad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shwezinhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent.

One of the best Italian food in Sabah. Good service & good environment. The price is high but worth a try.

The downside is kinda hard to look for car park, so it makes a perfect choice for dinner after a day of shopping in Suria Mall, which locates just opposite of it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eugenemah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic italian restaurant”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is an authentic italian restaurant as It is own by one. Reasonably priced with lots of variety. Good service and great ambience. Lots of tourists and local alike frequent this place. Lunch crowd is also filled with office workers around the area. Situated right in the middle of the city with two major malls just opposite, It is very difficult to find parking If you are driving. That said, i personally find the food is good because lots of msg are added. Thirst like hell thereafter. Used to frequent the place but not anymore due to this. However, If you must have italian, this is the place to go in kk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmania2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleitalyowner, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear reviewer..thank you so much for your review. I just want to assure you that no msg is used in our cooking. The thirst you may experience may be due to ingredients such as anchovies etc. It has been discussed many times before...we do use salt like we do back home. Sometimes our asian customers find our use of salt a bit excessive, especially when many here in asia never do use salt in their cooking. Having said that is very hard to balance what taste to give to the food so we opted to stick to how we cook in italy :) unfortunately some people do not like it...but most do. Iodine...found in iodized salt which we use ( not msg ) is also very healthy and necessary for our body as it helps the tyroid gland to produce the right amount of hormones which help regulate the body methabolism and other important function such as brain and bones developement. This is also a reason why the Mediterranean diet ( of which italian food is a main player ) is recognised as an outstandingly healthy diet. So a bit of thirst may actually be good for you. Again thank you for your rating and hope to have you patronise the restaurant again.
Yours sincerely
Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
244 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Pasta”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is delicious and price is reasonable. Love the squid ink pasta, excellent. Good and Fast service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing