We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar

Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar
Ranked #17 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: To Make Reservations Please Visit Our Facebook Website To Attain The Contact Numbers. Thank You For Visiting.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monkey Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food was as good as any we've had in KK, reasonably priced and great cocktails. A bit off the main drag but certainly worth the venture away from KK centre.
Service was the best we've experienced in Malaysia. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, one even showed my partner to a local shop to find something.
The owner was extremely hospitable, and arranged to call us a cab back to our hotel after dinner, and was kind enough to buy as a drink as we waited- bonus! Highly reccomended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimAnda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Qaanaaq, Greenland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I we came here in KK only forma few hours band we decide , following the review in tripadvisor, To visit Brass monkey.
Raja , the owner, knows absolutely how treat is customers.
He has always an eye on you when youare at the table and he check personally every orde.
The food is really Hood. Beef, lamb but even the appetizer and dessert are fantastic.
At the end of the evening he talked a lot with us and che let you feel always welcome.
Big ospitality and excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank luck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This has got to be easily the best food in kk. We tried other higher rated restaurants and thought this should be number 1. The food is outstanding, even vegetarians are catered for. The cocktails are definitely worth trying as is the fantastic chocolate pudding. The service is excellent. Our very fussy daughter was accommodated with a plate of the most delicious mashed potatoes, nothing was too much trouble. The fact that in our 8 day stay we ate here 3 times is testament to the finest steaks you could ever eat at a price you can't believe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank princessonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
“well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just last week me and my family of 3 from Kuala Lumpur on a short trip and another local family of 5 join us for dinner at the Brass Monkey thru recommendation.We all had a wonderful time,the food was excellent especially the monster 4 pounds plus fresh local lobster thermidor was cooked to perfection yummy yummy ,the chef also prepared us his new creation a meditteranean style stuffed chicken breast with cheese,sundried tomato and arugula,a must try dish.
Anyway would like to thank the owner name Raja for being so passionate about the place,taking time to care us to enjoy from start to finish,we had wonderful time,thanks to his attentive service staff where everything is amazing indeed,we be back again with a bigger group sometimes end of this year,see you all and we love BRASS MONKEY.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yangoyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak in KK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you are in need of a Steak, just get yourself here. I come here quite often and i will always eat steak. The owner of Indian origin generally recommends me the latest cut of beef that has arrived, and if he is not around the chef himself will come out and let me know. The steak is always served with local vegetable and sweetcorn and served to your liking. Best to opt for the set meal where you get a starter and a salad, a couple of Tiger beers on top will cost you around RM100.00. Look out for the monkeys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1diverdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing