We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Step in Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Step in Lodge
Aalst, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a referral from someone so i had no reason to doubt this recommendation and so i just booked us a triple room. The mailcontacts were very friendly and it was absolutely no problem to arrive very late, due to a late arrival of our flight.
The room smelled, the towels were dirty and the bathroom could be so much cleaner (only one for women and one for men). We arrived very late, ate at the nightmarket (so not recommended!!), slept a bit and took off early in the morning... heading to better places!
Important note: this is a review of the accommodation itself, not of the service of the staff because we didn't really had the chance to talk to them (only check in and check out) .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
23
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I just stepped in and out of this facility a night ago, and am writing this review now before I forget all the details.

Firstly, it's location, although close to the Night Market, the Warisan Square shopping mall and other reasturants by the esplanade, it is also right in the middle of a busy, noisy and dirty street, where night hawking goes on until after 10pm. The stairs leading up to the place are dirty, and it feels like you are walking into a factory or warehouse. The reception area and lobby is very big and clean but it opens to a narrow sitting area, or balcony where you can have a clear view of the above mentioned street and listen to Indian/ Arabic music blasting from the speakers below.

Secondly, you will pay RM28 for a bed in a dorm room with a fan. Sure, the mattresses are bigger than usual, and comfy if that sort of thing is a priority for you. Then there is a RM5 fee to access the wifi, which, by the way, you can only access in the lobby, not in your room! A room with aircon will cost you MR38 excluding wifi!

On the same night I went looking for other places to stay and you can try out the following instead:

Traveller's Light, Australia place where I moved to, North Borneo Backpackers which are RM25 for air conditioned dorm room and similar amenities.

The selling point for Step-in-Logde is that the staff is helpful, true, they did ask me where I was planning to go the following day, when I told them I want to climb Mt. Kinabalu they referred me to the Sutera offices, this is not helping. I booked my climb through Traveller's Light literally 5 minutes after I inquired about the climb.

This place has some redeeming qualities, the bathroom and showers are very clean, the beds are big and comfortable and breakfast is great (cereal, toast or Malay choice of Roti Canai and coffee)

Bottom line is you can get the same and more for far less than RM33 ( which is what a fan room with wifi costs you here)

Just dont do it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I am not generally a hostel person, preferring small guesthouses over dorms. I stayed at Step In because a freind was staying there, and I must say it is fantastic. Comfy beds, good showers, nice common area and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

All I expect from a hostel is cleanliness and well-maintained facilities. Step-in Lodge manage this well, and with a smile; during both of my stays, their shared and private rooms were clean and comfortable, with a/c to boot. The latter isn't critical, but makes sleeping in Malaysian humidity that much more bearable. Many thanks for the repeatedly pleasant stays!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arobinsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We had a dormstyle room for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). It was very hot in the room and the fan did not help too much. It was clean, the showers and toilet were ok. We liked the public room where breakfast is also served. In the evening we enjoyed chilling with a book. The location is very good, very central near the night markets and not too far from Jesselton pier to het the boats to one of the islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park.After all we found the price a bit too high; for the same price (or even a bit less) we got a huge private room with airco and private bathroom on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramanando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

the decoration of this place was really nice and beautiful...
but the worse is..."BEDBUGS"............

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Clean basic dorms, with good sized beds, although I did have to share my dorm with a big ol' cockroach the first night. There was no window in my dorm, and only one socket. Showers all very clean, but there wasn't always toilet roll available so be prepared! Good location very close to the night market. No sign of bed bugs at all as mentioned in other reviews. Some staff were super friendly and helpful, others not so much, but there was a good communal area quite useful for meeting people. Apparently not the cheapest hostel in KK...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
A & J Budget Hotel
A & J Budget Hotel
#84 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#51 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Melati Lodge
#49 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cathay Hotel
Cathay Hotel
#19 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good View Lodge
Good View Lodge
#53 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Five 2
Hotel Five 2
#2 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step in Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step in Lodge

Property: Step in Lodge
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Step in Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step In Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing