We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location, wonderful staff.”
Review of Step in Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Step in Lodge
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I came here to make a suprisevisit to my girlfriend. The femalestaff were so extremly helpful that Im actually touched when writing this afterwards. It's easy to tell that they put their heart in their guests welfare infront of earning money. Best location in KK for hitting the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

One piece of advice: Skip and go to the neighbors (Akinabalu youth hostel)
Not expensive, staff is ok-ish (friendly but not the ones to ask for advice), rooms are just doable but the whole building feels like a prison. Although the other places in KK also have a surprisingly extensive security setup this one definitely feels like a prison.
Better places are not hard to find

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dualprocess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My wife & I came to Borneo for a two-month honeymoon. When we landed in KK we tried the lodgings in a few places including Eden 54, Borneo Gaya Lodge and Lucy's Homestay but for us, as soon as we came to The Step In Lodge we knew it was the place for us. Very comfortable and homey communal area with cosy sofas, TV & real coffee served all day. The staff are so friendly and eager to help no matter what you need, the rooms are comfortable, regularly cleaned and affordable (with air con) and the showers are a dream. To cut a long story short, we soon booked the whole rest of our stay here (for which we were offered a generous discount) and it became our home-from-home. When travelling to and from other parts of Borneo, coming back to Step In Lodge really was like coming home. For breakfast (6-10am) the staff would often buy fruits from the local market for the guests to try. I don't know if some of the less positive reviews are from a long time ago but in our experience, one would have to try very hard not to be relaxed here. We both loved it and have very good memories of the place. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, 2B is very nice..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octhomas-Prime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My favourite hostel stopped at during a 6 month RTW trip in 2010/11. Stayed here twice either side of the epic Kinabalu mountain climb and enjoyed both stays. The one issue is trying to climb the steep stairs to the hostel reception and rooms after ‘doing’ the mountain – ouch!! Friendly staff, homely communal area (with free wi fi and tea and coffee) clean dorms and bathrooms and situated perfectly between the many eateries and pubs in KK. I arrived a day early via Brunei and they quickly checked me in with no issues or the need to change dorm rooms the day after. Great spot to meet fellow travelers (all a bit different to the usual Asian backpacker) and share tales of Borneo adventures past and future. Top marks.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This place is way overpriced. 90 RM for a double with shared facilities. We were staying in a room without window that smelled like nobody was there for the last 5 years. After the first night we looked at some other places and are staying at borneo backpackers now. 60 RM for a very nice room..

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

so, i read the lonely planet review and thought: looks like an ok place so i committed to two nights.....big mistake. haven't seen such filth since india and at a high price too! rooms are small cubes and the curtains don't even cover the windows completely. bath down the hall for $30.00 a nite. go elsewhere, saysi!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank alwazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We checked in for one night and the extent to how friendly the staff was really impressed us. They made all sorts of phone calls to arrange our following days, even called our next hotel to say we would check in early - even though that meant we would stay one night less with them

The rooms are neat, the view is bad, but really, that wasnt important to is. Clean, cool lobby with a flatscreen and comfy couches, books and magazines. A small kitchen for those who want to cook. Clean showers.

Good value and a clean, calm spot in a pretty husky, stopover town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMattsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step in Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step in Lodge

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £9 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Step in Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step In Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing