We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel is close to all you will need in the city. Air conditioned, very lovely and helpful reception staff. Breakfast is great!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
5  Thank Rater12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 5 nights while in KK, 188rm/night for a family room (3 ppl). Clean hotel, facilities are those of a good basic hotel. Aircond works well, keeps he room cool even in July.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank akisaarinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is functional in good location. Rooms are clean. The hotel lacks spark.
Breakfast is decent. Patchy wifi in lobby.

Those starting intrepid tours start at this hotel. One note. If you are going to stay extra night before your tour, book it directly with the hotel rather than book for the extortionate £55 with intrepid.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balamuruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

1. Made a reservation for a room (Superior Family room for 3 adults) via the hotel's website 3 months before date of traveling. Confirmed twice via email. But 3 days before the date of departure, they called to inform me that they have no superior family rooms available on the mentioned date, and 'actually the rooms are already full when you make a booking on that day". They requested me to move to the Superior Twin room (2 single beds). Finally they relented and told me they will keep my room up to 5pm on the day of check in.

2. On their website it was stated 'Facilities include high speed wireless internet" but internet is only available on the first floor (cafe) and not the rooms.

3. Taste of the food at the buffet breakfast was average but they ran out of food too fast and couldn't replenish immediately. Guests have to wait quite a while for the food.

4. Their maintenance department staff was not on duty on a Sunday until 11pm, we had to wait from a few hours (from 4pm) before they could get someone to fix the toilet at almost 12am!

However, it is within walking distance to the Gaya Sunday Market, Filipino Market, Craft Center, Waterfront, etc and price of RM188.00 for 3 adults per night with breakfast is reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. nice hotel with great location, clean and reasonable price. they also provide free shuttle for any short distance travel and another beauty is just in front of the hotel there is Grand Ball cinema.

Room Tip: please ask for north facing room. can view the whole kinabalu town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed here for 1 night otw to Kota Belud from Bintulu in Nov '11.

Pros:
1) Free parking on weekends (but limited)
2) Great value. Govt rate MYR 128 for queen superior room. Incl. breakfast for two.
3) Fantastic view. Make sure you mention room facing the main road.
4) Staff & security at main entrance is exceptionally good (except the reception, I'll come to that)
5) Despite comment for some TA, the breakfast is a lot better than more expensive Hotel Seri Malaysia, Lawas we stayed the day before.

Cons:
1) Melessa & Patrick (both at reception) could have done better than making us wait for 1 hr (1345 to 1445 hrs). The reason is everytime a booking is made, a room will be 'locked' and guest can only check in to that 'locked' room and not the other even though there's one available. Image looking at walk-in guest get their room card immediately. This has ruined my first impression of this hotel.
2) Parking around the hotel is not enough during weekdays.
3) Matress found dirty with blackish colour.
4) There's a big crack on the wall. Room 1209.
5) Only few tv channels actually working - with poor audio & video.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohd_Rafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

PROS : This hotel is in a great location - walking distance for AMAZING seafood hawker center... LOVED that. some rooms have a fabulous view of the Sabah sunset, absolutely amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathrooms are clean.

CONS: My toilet was literally broken the entire 3 night stay. I had to call the front desk for two days to get them to send their handyman 3 times to my room to fix the toilet that he didn't fix the first TWO TIMES! This was extremely annoying and frustrating. When I'm working, I dont want to be worried about having my hotel toilet not flush for two days... it's HIGHLY irritating. Their service needs to be improved and their maintenace of the rooms should be WAY higher than it is. The buffet was really mediocre. half of it was good, but the other half of the food was not good. they had a lot of fried food for breakfast and it was way to heavy for the morning. The restaurant is stuffy, horrible decor and feels cramped. They should renovate this restaurant and make it more spacious and cramped.

Room Tip: choose either a room that faces the greenery in the back or one at the front that has the sunset vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheLydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
8.5 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
43 reviews
5.1 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
5.0 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Masjid | Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £23 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotel located in the heart of Kota Kinabalu that provides friendly service, convenient facilities and clean and affordable accommodation for leisure travelers or business people. This 14-storey Hotel features panoramic views of Kota Kinabalu city and Tunku Abdul Rahman Park from the upper floors. Within walking distance to shopping malls (Warisan Square, Centerpoint, Asia City), cinemas (Cathay Cineplex and Golden Screen Cinemas), cafes, seafood restaurants (Sedco Square), Gaya Street Sunday Market and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Park Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu King Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing