We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Macau
1 review
“Good location, reasonable price”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stay at kingpark for for nights. Try to book superior instead of standard room, they are much much better since they are in non-smoking floor. I have live in both superior and standard room, standard room is really smellyl. Superior King room, we had a good cityview with a little bit sea view, room size is small if this is superior, so the standard room is very small. The shower is working powerfully, and all the things are functioning well. For RM158 - superior king, you can consider the breakfast as American breakfast, cause not many choices of food. Overall, our stay is pleasant .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlorCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    56
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
51
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KL
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I've been to the hotel in November 2008 on work purpose. I'm so glad that we're staying there coz it's very strategic hotel in town. Nice view. Walking distance to KK city, nightmarket, cinema, 24hours KFC, bank and almost everything. :-) Eventhough the breakfast is not that variety but it shows the taste of local foods. Very nice. The room service food is also nice dan delicious. The staff also very nice and polite. Room rate is reasonable. So, here I am. Staying there for 2nd time in Mac 2009. And might staying there again in July for our trip to KK.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mieyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2009

There were only 2 things that bothered me and these were the fact that housekeeping did not make up the room despite the request at 8.30am until coming back at 5.00pm. And there was a racket at about 3.30am a few doors down, i think a drunk couple. Apart from that it was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Its within walking distance to everything in KK. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms on the city side higher floors had a good view over the city to the waterfront . Rooms were fairly spacious with good sized bathrooms and excellent shower rose! Tea and coffee supplied as is a fridge. No safe in the rooms or at reception, which was a little surprising. Beds were comfortable, but the sheets,although seemed clean, were a little stained. Air con worked efficiently. Breakfast was very good, Malaysian and European food provided. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

From the favorable reviews i got from this site, I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights recently. Booked the Superior Queen room at the promotional rate of MYR128 (about USD35). The special rate ends this March though. My room was at the 10th floor. It had a decent view of the city.

Nothing too luxurios about the room, but it's clean and the aircond, shower & toilet works. Limited channels offered (there's ESPN, Star Movies & some local ones) but i didn't mind it that much.

Breakfast starts at 6:30 and ends at 10:30. The food is about average (they have toast, sausages, porridge and some local dishes).

The best part about the hotel is it's location. It's somewhere near the centre of the city so you can just walk to most of the locations unique in KK such as Filipino Market (for the pearls), Waterfront (for the seafood), Gaya Street Fair (only on Sundays) and the shopping malls & cineplexes.

The staff are courteous and was helpful with directions and maps. Definitely recommended for those who doesn't mind a no-frills accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mukhlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

This hotel falls into that limbo world between a truly budget hotel that has few frills and is light on your wallet, and a higher class hotel where you get much better service for a few more dollars per night. This wasn't a bad hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again. We moved to the Jesselton Hotel after staying here, and that was a world of difference in terms of comfort and service.

It seems to cater mainly to a business clientele, and mostly Chinese, but they seem to be getting more non-Asian tourists. The breakfast reflects this - quite a few western options are available. The rooms look well appointed, but the sheets were stained and the carpet was a little sticky - definitely did not want to walk on it barefoot. The toilet flush did not work and the phone could not make calls, but both were fixed within an hour of alerting the hotel staff about them. There wasn't a safe in the room, and they do not provide any sort of safety deposit box service. The hallways have constant Chinese music piped in, which is audible in your room if you happen to be near the speakers and you don't have the TV on. There were only a couple of English channels on TV.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the taxi and bus station, where you can find transportation for day trips around KK. Restaurants, shopping, laundry, etc. is all within a short walk from the hotel. Downtown KK is a small area, and easily walkable. Taxis within town are 10 Ringgit, and buses are even cheaper, so it's pretty easy to get around.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Me and my boyfriend decided to stay at this hotel for a holiday getaway in Kota Kinabalu. Referring to the reviews we read here at tripadvisor, it seemed like a really nice, affordable place to stay. We went on to book 4 days / 3 nights for a Superior Queen Hotel.

Well, the facade of the hotel was engaging, we've noticed it's the most decent place in the area. The english-speaking reception personnel was a definite plus. Not to mention, they smile a lot! What I particularly don't like was the smell of the room. It kinda smell like an old cabinet, like a boiling tea, like a chinese delicacy or something, i dunno!!

The airconditioning unit wasn't working properly for 2 nights. We called the technicians to have it fixed, twice; on the second day!

We went to Mt. Kinabalu on the third day. We were surprised when we got back to the hotel; the aircon was really cold, and yep, working properly!!

Being Asian, I appreciate the food, especially the chicken, yummy!

If the smell of the room wasn't present. If the aircon unit was working properly on the first 2 days, We would highly recommended it for people who wants to experience an affordable luxury accommodation.

For providing free internet access, refrigerator, a TV with an english channel; and the sincere smile of the Malaysian people. I would recommend this hotel, but not highly!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#37 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#56 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: Jalan Masjid | Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotel located in the heart of Kota Kinabalu that provides friendly service, convenient facilities and clean and affordable accommodation for leisure travelers or business people. This 14-storey Hotel features panoramic views of Kota Kinabalu city and Tunku Abdul Rahman Park from the upper floors. Within walking distance to shopping malls (Warisan Square, Centerpoint, Asia City), cinemas (Cathay Cineplex and Golden Screen Cinemas), cafes, seafood restaurants (Sedco Square), Gaya Street Sunday Market and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Park Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu King Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing