We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food with friendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of toscani

toscani
Ranked #52 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$0 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“OK food with friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff make this place. They're friendly and welcoming. The food is better than average Italian, but far from outstanding. A good choice for a change of fare, and much recommended by the locals. As with all the waterfront restaurants here, it's worth getting a table at the front of the deck - provided it's not raining!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    67
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The restaurant has indoor seating and a sea facing veranda seating. Rustic deco with old photos on the walls. We seated outside to enjoy the view and the outdoor breeze.. but all we smelled was the stinky sewage. We ordered a trio bruschetta (RM25+), a seafood paella, a Hawaiian pizza and a seafood platter (RM99+). The bruschetta was good, seafood paella was too wet, pizza was totally hopeless, no burnt edges. The seafood platter had smoked salmon, clams, fish fillet, cheese baked oysters, calamari, muscles, scalded prawn, something like a sweet & sour / chili (small) crab and a slipper lobster. Prawn and the fish fillet weren't very fresh, I did enjoy the oyster and the slipper lobster.

We celebrated my birthday there, my friend bought some cakes and the staff were accommodating enough to send us plates & dessert forks. Staff were not very intuitive we had to ask them for water refill. The bill came up to RM360+ consider pricey for the food quality we received.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aby112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The other recent reviews are on the money I think. I'm no foodie, but I had Tiger Prawns that the chef recommended and they tasted good to me, but a lady from Melbourne had the same thing and didn't like them, so depends on your taste. The staff were pleasant, the service was good, and it is in a great spot, on the waterfront with several other restaurants. I thought it was a bit expensive, but if you want to eat cheap then you should go to the markets.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very helpfull and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

had food here several times during our trip.
some times just called in for a desert or a drink when on the sea front
ask for Chef liong who is a great host
( I told him I will send people to ask for spicy crab and tiramisu) which he made for us when we asked.
good range of food available on the standard menu

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, decent food, no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is in a row of about 10 other waterfront restaurants in KK centre - all geared towards Western tourists, so you can hardly complain if they are a bit more pricey than local Asian eateries. You're paying for imported goods, the great view over the bay and nice ambiance. We are a family of 6 (4 teenagers) and ate at 3 of these places: Toscani's, Gusto and the Tzar Bar (or something like that) all next to each other. They're all pretty similar really - though Gusto one man Italian band is seriously slow service. Prices are the same - about 30-40RM for a main course. Toscani was more full than most, mainly because the maitre d' is a real salesman and pulls people in more effectively than the others in the row. But that means more atmosphere. We liked it. Not special food but very nice and a lovely spot to eat if you need a bit of a change (as we did) from eating local everywhere else on our travels in Sabah.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed toscani also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to toscani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing