We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Italian place!”
Review of toscani

toscani
Ranked #42 of 587 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Just another Italian place!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The WATERFRONT is a cluster of restaurants lining the seafront with seatings on the boardwalk and also indoors. The sad thing about the outdoor seatings, is that most of the restaurants erected canopies over the seating area thus preventing the sea breeze to flow through. The indoor is not any better with the air screens and ceiling fans blowing.
Toscani's is one of the many eateries here. Daily around the late afternoon the Waterfront comes to live, as workers set up their respective premises and the chefs start to prepare their special fare. By evening the whole place will be bustling with people looking for a great dinning experience from the many restaurants that lined here.

Western, Chinese, and local cuisines are can be found here, and the place is very popular with the tourists as everyone wanted the feel of dining here. Other than fine dining the Waterfront is also a great place for socialising and party, there are pubs, cafes, karaokes and THE BED is one of the biggest dance clubs in town.

The food is better than average Italian, but far from outstanding. A good choice for a change of fare, and much recommended by the locals.

We had to try it out as this outlet which was our second experience at The Waterfront ......we were tired of Asian cuisine and seafood after being in this city for almost a week! We thought it was a bit expensive, but being in a locality where tourists frequent..... you are in control of your choices!

It is located at Lot 14 The Waterfront, Kota Kinabalu and is only a walking distance about 10 to 15 mins from most of the city hotels, and just a stone throw away from Warisan Square and Centre Point Shopping Mall. Opening hours are from 11am to 11pm daily!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NyonyaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    70
    35
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vung Tau, Vietnam
1 review
“Friendly staff, great view, good food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great place to have a few beers, especially during happy hour. Don't miss the sunset. Food was great and if you get a chance, talk to the owner. He's a very interesting guy who's passionate about his restaurant. (He's the guy in the chef hat). Try the stuffed mushrooms!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panaflax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst breakfast I've had!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We wandered across here in the hopes of finding somewhere on the waterfront that served breakfast. This was the only option at 11am. The menu itself doesn't list breakfast but a staff member told us they do an English breakfast.
My tea was served with a side of hot milk that had lots of floaties as it had been overheated. I spent a good 5 minutes fishing these out.
The toast was served a good 40 minutes before the rest of our meal with a side plate of jam and butter, disappointing as we expected it as part of our meal.
Our meal took a very long time to come out especially given we were the only people dining and the remaining component of our meal was eggs, sausages, tomatoes and onions. The eggs were overcooked, the sausage was so processed and undercooked, the tomato was raw and the onion was basically just a huge whole portion of lightly fried onion. We didn't eat our breakfast, except for a few slices of toast. Perhaps the rest of their menu is better, but avoid the breakfast at all costs!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMaiready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We ate here several times and the food was consistently good with a wide choice. The staff were very friendly and service was excellent. Had some very good conversations with Maggie who was great and very helpful. The waterfront location is an excellent dining experience. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food average, staff not happy.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Food was to par, not amazing. Staff was unhappy/borderline-rude. The staff was unhappy that we were using tripadvisor to compare options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed toscani also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to toscani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing