We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropicana Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$161
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
US$665
US$567
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$111
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crown Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$28
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$63
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
7
12
7
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
12
7
5
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed one night at fan dormitory. First the good things: location is good, room and common areas were fairly clean and staff was nice. And now the things that made us move to another Guest house: dormitory beds had lots of ants (although small ones), no curtains on the windows so no privacy between room and common balcony, the breakfast was very bad (toast and egg made hours before serving), the dormitory door didn't have a lock and there where no lockers. We left our laptop to staff room downstairs for safe, but when we went to collect it staff offered us something totally else. Kept us wondering how many times our laptop was offered to somebody else. Room rates are one of the lowest in the area, but spending 5 RM more you get something safer and nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I originally planned to stay here for a night and ended up staying for a week - very friendly hostel and the owner was lovely.
I stayed in the dorm room which was fine, there were problems with the bathrooms while I was here which wasn't great as it meant there was only one shower working between about 10 people, but in spite of this I really liked Tropicana and would have been happy to stay longer.
Great location, just a couple of minutes walk to the food market and on main bus routes - couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evoluptua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

We had the double rooms next to the restaurant and really liked our stay of two nights even though it was a simple and maybe a bit loud place. The rooms where clean and the bathroom nice and spacious. Breakfast was only toast and egg but considering the price we can't complain at all. The staff was nice. We did a day tour to Mount Kinambalu with the owner Vincent and got to know him as a nice and knowledgable guide. We really enjoyed his company and he showed us many hidden treasures and gave us a lot of interesting background information about the region. He is a good guide and gives his best to make you see as much as possible. The only negative thing about the tour was the driving. He drove very fast and when we asked him to slow down he said we shoul "close our eyes". He wouldn't do us the favour to slow down. This was actually the reason why we decided to take another tour operator the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffiB_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Vincent is a character but a nice guy. Gave us a ride to and from the harvest festival party for free, where we had a great time. Stayed 2 nights in a dorm, which was ok. Breakfast was about as basic as it gets.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheese_monkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

After coming back from various excursions around Sabah and awaiting a friends arrival, I had a recommendation that this place was alright. I decided to book a double room for extra comfort (as opposed to the dorm option available here)because i wasn't too well. The room was generally clean, but had a problem with bugs (mosquitos mainly but a few cockroaches too). You could hear everything in the guesthouse, people talking in other rooms, people running up and down the stairs, doors slamming, the traffic outside. The room was overpriced and no room for bargaining whatsoever. The toilets flush took forever to re-fill with a couple of embaressing consequences.

Having said that, the girls running the place were very friendly and insightful (i didnt have any experience with the much-maligned Vincent mentioned in other reviews). The laundry service was very good. The location is excellent, with the stairs to the viewpoint 50 metres or so away, Gaya Street nearby (across a busy road), Atkinsons Clock Tower at the end of the road. The breakfast was alright too.

I think there are better and worse places to stay in KK

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews