We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capital

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capital
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Benschop, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed at 4 hotels in Kota Kinabalu and this was my favourite. The room has got everything you need: good bed, bath tub, desk, t.v., fridge, closets, etc. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly.


The only thing that was missing was a safety box.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    53
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
29
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Ants in the room.
Location is good, in the city center.
Hotel quite old, need to renovate.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pooh_tyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

I just recently checked into this small hotel. The Lobby I could see was recently renovated. The service at the reception was poor and unhelpful. Upon reaching my room, to my surprise, I felt I had traveled back in time, the furniture and decor was dated back to the late 60's early 70"s in style. There was a huge refrigerator in the room, a hot water flask, cane furniture as the sitting room set. The bathroom still had 2 taps, one for cold water and the other was for hot water. Although they said there was internet, they gave me an internet adaptor and a computer cable to plug in but it did not work at all. when I reported to the receptionist, all they could say, sorry we can't help you anymore. Next, I tried boiling water and the kettle did not work. The 2 single beds did not have skirting around the divan. The house keeping was poor as they did not clear large water bottles left behind by the previous guest. I tried reporting the house keeping issue to an elderly lady at the reception, she just shrugged her shoulders. I don't think I would want to recommend anyone to stay at this hotel unless Kota Kinabalu was fully booked. I had a good laugh when I saw they still provided red and blue striped airmail envelopes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

This hotel give me a lot of experience and the Rooms size very good as im travelling
to Kota kinabalu.Faster service and a lot of store and entertainment nearby.Its very good
for tourist like me.I hope to stay At Capitol Hotel kota kinabalu again.Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joepairin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

This is a standard older hotel so it's a bit shopworn but adequate. We paid RM140 per night for a queen bed room with bath and AC. No in room frig or safe and breakfast is not included. Staff at front desk was unfriendly/bored. The location is great especially since it's only a two block walk to the pier for trips to the outer islands. Plenty of hot water and the AC works fine but doesn't seem to be adjustable. The hotel next door, the Kinabalu Daya charges RM160 per night but the rooms are no better than this hotel. Across the street is a brand new highly rated hotel called the d'Borneo which is probably the best around this area. It was fully booked. The Little Italy restaurant on the ground floor gets good reviews but it's very pricey and we didn't find the food all that great. If you stick to the cheap meals you should enjoy the place.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Older Hotel and worn out
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#19 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capital

Property: Hotel Capital
Address: Capital Hotel 23 Jalan Haji Saman | P.O.Box 11223, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capital 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capital is located directly opposite to Wisma Merdeka and just within a 2-minute walk from the buzzling Gaya Street and its Sunday Market Fair; 5-minute walk to Suria Sabah Shopping Mall and a 10-minute walk to the jetty. Operating since 1967, when it was the premier hotel in the then Jesselton town, the hotel is still outstanding with its strategic location and view of the South China Sea. Its spacious rooms have been newly transformed and renovated with flatscreen Satellite TV, complimentary free WiFi, tea/coffee making facilities with minibar, hairdryer and a personal safe. Left luggage facilities and laundry services are also available. The award - winning Little Italy Italian Restaurant is located right on the ground floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing