We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and nice a/c rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge 121

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge 121
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service and nice a/c rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had a great time at Lodge121! Met many like minded travelers and the staff were a wealth of information. Nothing was too hard. Air conditioners in the rooms were great and modern. Overall I will say that I will be back to this great lodge in the near future. Kuching is my favorite town in Asia, the people are so friendly and the food is delicious and cheap. Get there!
Damian T

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesstouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    38
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
33
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hostel is based on a great location, right near the center of Kuching and the museums. Next to the hotel there are a few nice restaurants and across the street there is a big supermarket. The hostel rooms are clean and simple, and although the walls are a bit thin (you can hear your neighbors' conversations), this hostel gives you great value for your money. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and even helped us with planning some last-minute excursions and getting taxi rides :) I will definitely go back to this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great place! It's actually up a flight of stairs (the description I had said ground floor). Clean, bright and airy this hostel is lovely. Lots of different rooms depending on your travel group, lounge area, limited kitchen facilities, great location and great price. Staff are very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candidasa, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We loved our time at Lodge 121. We initially booked just one night in a private room with ensuite but extended our stay. The atmosphere in the hostel is great, the perfect place to meet people. They have a large communal area for breakfast where you can get a good wifi connection and also a seperate living room with TV. Our room was spacious, clean and the air con worked really well. The location is also perfect with restaurants right next door and the waterfront a short walk away. We would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room just upstairs from the common area, it was a nice distance away from everyone socialis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

A stylish low budget place. A few blocks from the main sights in Kuching but all is in easy walking distance. Very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Check and see if any of the dorms are free. They happily put me in one of the empty dorm rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

After reading a bunch of reviews here, I checked with Lodge 121, and they said they had taken care of the bedbug problem reported a year before. I decided to go ahead and book with them because they had the best price for a single room out of the local budget options in Kuching.

Pros: The rooms were clean and there were NO BEDBUGS, as they had promised. The location is pretty good for walking and is near a large supermarket. The airport service is reasonable and efficient. Everyone on the staff is nice. There is free wifi and free breakfast.

Cons: The single en suite rooms don't have windows. Or maybe some do, but the one they tried to give me did not. I instead opted for a shared bath single room that did have a window. The toilets/showers were together in small closet-sized rooms, and they are of the style where the shower water goes all over the little room. It dries quickly though. The rubbish bin in the toilets did not get emptied too often. The wifi was easily overloaded and slowed to a crawl when more than a few people used it.

The first night I was there, the hostel was only about half-full, and this was just fine for the shared baths. But after that, some large family groups showed up and overwhelmed the toilets/showers. The free breakfast is only toast and jam, but that's a lot better than no breakfast at all. Also, the front desk was able to print my airline tickets for free since they were using recycled paper. The hostel is pretty decent value for money if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if your room will have a window if you are staying in a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjavins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I spent a few nights in Lodge 121 on Borneo in July 2011 and was surprised to find a beautiful hostel just outside of downtown Kuching. Lodge 121 was renovated 5 years ago and preserved its freshness and cleanyness until now. Very stylish and beautiful rooms, happy and helpful hostel staff, small breakfast for free, Internet access and Wifi for free, TV room, guitar nights and many happy travellers share their time in Lodge 121. I´d definitely recommend it!!

Room Tip: there are different room types to choose from. We had a double room and loved it! can´t speak for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poisonivy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 69 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 121? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 121

Property: Lodge 121
Address: Lodge 121, Lot 121, 1st Floor, | Section 33 KTLD, Tabuan Road,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge 121 offers double private en-suite, common shared bathrooms & toilets for private single, double, triple and quad sharing rooms. We also have a dormitory unit for group of 10 persons, attractively priced to fit your budget.We are strategically located in the heart of Kuching City. LODGE 121 is just a stone's throw away from the famous Kuching Waterfront, Main Bazaar, India Street, Sarawak Museum, Visitors' Information Centre, main shopping centers, Supermarkets, main bus stops, Cineplex and trendy eating & entertainment outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lodge 121 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing