We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One Hotel Santubong
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“No Improvement”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

No better then when I last stayed there and now with the trees removed it even looks worst
and from what I have heard they are also responsible for the latest destruction of acres of mangrove next to it a couple of weeks ago for the coming of the cable car which is linked to this hotel
One only wonders how that will go with them linked in some way to it as all the signs around the place say
But as always in Malaysia it's poor management of very friendly polite people .

Room Tip: There is always somewhere else you just have to plan better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    18
    22
    29
See reviews for
28
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My bad experience start when i walk to reservation counter seeing nobody around with just 2 staffs at the counter.I had been promise a room with a pool view over the phone booking but only realise upon arrival my room actually is not a pool view.Thinking its like other hotel we had check in before,the payment is based on deposit upon arrival and full payment made when checkig out.But this hotel request for full payment plus deposit just the minute we check in. But nevermind its not a big deal. My worst nightmare start when we enter the room.The aircond is at its maximum level of cold but then we have to on the fan to support the coldness, meaning the aircond is break down. Then my son want to take a bath but we dont find any bath soap only 1 syampoo,meaning the housekeeping staff not doing their job by checking the room properly before a new guest coming in.when i want to call out,the telephone service is out of service and i have to use my mobile phone. I call out to room reservation to request for the items and the staff send it to my rooms with a sour face.What a lack of services.One more I request for extra bed but when the bed arrive,it is in bad condition.what make the bed look nice is only the bedsheet.but for my surprise the bed did not come with extra towel. The hotel have no experience in hotelling whereby any extra bed means there is extra person and must come with a towel.The hotel management should look into this matter more seriously and train your staff first before u hire them as their service is sucks.As a conclusion,this hotel is not adviseable to go as u will see not many guests checking in here.Meaning its a one star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy_sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here during the Rainforest World Music Festival 2012. Apart from events such as RWMF the hotel doesn't really get packed which is good if your looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy (the sea view rooms are amazing) but it also means that many of the rooms seem a little dated and some of the amenities weren't in working order (phone and mini-bar in my room didn't work).

The rooms were clean enough for a 2 star standard but they were large and spacious which is definitely a plus point for the price, the bathroom was well-sized as well.

The hotel is very spaced out and you never get that claustrophobic feeling which emphasizes it's resort feel. There are renovations going on so they might be on the verge of upgrading certain facilities.

Check-in and checkout was easy, but the service in the restaurants were disappointingly slow and inefficient, it took us almost an hour before our food arrived and there was less than 5 people at the restaurant. Food didn't taste that great either.

Overall I choose the hotel since it was very near the RWMF and they had shuttle buses to bring us there daily, it was also pretty quiet and the rates weren't as high as other resorts around the area - its definitely a good choice if you have an event around the area with a medium budget. It's not a place I would visit anytime soon as it's pretty far off from Kuching town so eateries are hard to find and there really isn't much to do around the area.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the hotels (only stairs) so try choosing lower floors if you hate climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaveDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I've only just checked out a couple of hours ago. The reason why we stayed a nite here, is simply to check out the place and see for ourselves truly how bad is this place!
When I called to book a room a few weeks back, I was told that the check-in time is at 2 pm & I can even check in as early as 1 pm if there are available rooms. So we arrived at 1.30 pm yesterday, only to be told that we could only check-in at 3 pm! The staffs were nice about it but they all looked so lost and harassed. I had to wait 30 mins just to register. Only 3 people manning the counter and the whole reception was full of people waiting to check-in!
The room's huge and clean. The Aircond works. The mini bar is barely cold, but it still functions. No complimentary mineral waters tho. The TV was sad. It's a small 14-inch with terribly poor reception! No free wifi. Yes, there are certainly moulds around the corners of the loo and the taps were broken. But the bathroom's huge too. So in terms of the room, I have not much complaints. I'm sure it has seen better days...
The pool's full and noisy. Better not get a room that faces the pool. The beach is small and about 15 mins' walk away. The water there's nice coz the waves ain't strong so it's pretty safe even for young kids. The sand's white and clean.
There's nothing to do there at nite. U will need a car to move around. The hotel is 2km from the main road. Then it's a few more km to reach the nearest eating outlet / pub. Food from the hotel's cafeteria is darn costly. Better don't bother since it doesn't taste any better!
Breakfast was a lousy affair! None of the food was edible, except for the toast! And there were flies and flies everywhere in the dining hall!!!
In conclusion, they need to train their staff to be more dynamic and lively. Professionalism is not their strongest point. They need to recruit more staff. The existing ones cannot handle such a huge place. Get the sink holes fixed - I don't wanna drop my ring or my watch in there and lose it. Fire the current chef. Get someone who actually knows how to cook.
I paid RM 232 for a nite there. I don't think it's worth my money at all. No more next time...!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for a night while visiting friends in town. This is a nice quiet location away from the busyness of the town area. However, the reviews given are all true and the hotel is terribly run down. There are water marks on the ceilings and as a result, mold has started to grow on them. The toilet floor has mold as well. My husband had an eye infection in the morning as the bedsheets and room did not feel clean at all. It was just so musty. When we were there, the lobby was just about ready and some of the rooms were being renovated. The whole place needs a major overhaul. Not advisable to go there till it is ready!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyJourneys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here during the Rainforest World Music Festival 2012. not a charming place. although they had just completed some of the renovation and added a new lobby at the new wing, the hotel room blocks are all run down. there are holes everywhere in the ceiling. rotting watermark spots in the ceiling. poor paint job.

Thank god the hotel rooms are all using wooden floor. if not, it will be stained smelly carpets too.

Despite its unpleasant upkeep, i still did had a good nights rest. the beds are still clean and comfortable. but bathrooms not so clean. bathtub was stained with rust. edges of the showers and sinks are stained with moss.

This hotel really needs a major makeover.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel lived up to all the negative reviews. The room was old and musty, the facilities tired and worn. The location is a long 20min walk to the beach at Damai. Overall it has the impression of a college dorm.

We stayed here during the rainforest world music festival - which is great - and it was simply the cheapest place available near the festival. Everything during that time is overpriced and the other options are just as run down. Disappointing given that the festival itself was well run and great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munnsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#19 of 54 in Kuching
698 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grand Dormani Rajah Court Hotel
13.7 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#47 of 54 in Kuching
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Hotel Santubong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Hotel Santubong

Property: One Hotel Santubong
Address: Jalan Pantai Damai, Kuching 93050, Malaysia (Formerly Santubong Kuching Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — One Hotel Santubong 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your One Hotel Santubong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Hotel Santubong
Santubong Kuching Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing