We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week in Kuching ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing week in Kuching ”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Got picked up at the airport and Greg and Amy have facilitated a perfect week in Kuching for our travels. We had the double room which was lovely and clean with a proper bedroom feel rather than just a white box room. We all went on trips to various places around kuching with them which would have been a lot more difficult without the car! It's really like you've gone to visit them as old friends and we had a fantastic time!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGarethPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hey mate,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and to leave us such stunning comments! Our week with you was an amazing time that really meant a lot to us.

It was a genuine pleasure to meet you, and we really hope to see you out here again in the future.

Have a safe trip home! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    13
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
32
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel ticks all the boxes!!! Amazing location, clean and comfortable rooms, chilled vibes and amazingly helpful, friendly and funny hosts :)! It's an all round experience for a traveller - you have a safe place to stay with lockers, wifi, hot showers, communal kitchen with fridge and comfortable beds, and then on top of that you have hosts who want nothing more than to help you make the most of your experience, organising tours, trips and giving local advice! Greg and Amy are wonderful people to get to know as friends too... It's a very intimate hostel which i love! - it really is the best set up a traveller could ask for! You would be a fool to stay anywhere else!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RuthyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Howdy!

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

It was so nice to meet you, and we all thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you and sharing stories, jokes and general banter. You are already sorely missed by all over here!

I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, and that South America treats you well.

Best wishes :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse is one of the reasons my 2 day visit to Kuching turned into 6 days! Amy and Greg are incredibly helpful and accommodating hosts. On arrival into the airport we were greeted by Amy who instantly made us feel at ease. The hostel itself is so homely it almost feels like you are staying over at a friends place! Our room (shared dorm) was immaculately clean with great aircon - ideal after a days travelling!

The toilet facilities are well kept and the showers are warm and powerful - a real luxury in Asian hostels!

Amy and Greg gave us a huge list of recommendations for places to eat and where to get cheap beer - they even took us to their favourite bar on the first night!

Greg also took us on a fantastic jungle trek (not for the faint hearted) up Mount Santubong where we saw proboscis monkeys and hornbills!

All in all we had a wonderful stay at Borneo Seahare guest house and were very sad to leave.

A must for your stay in Kuching!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loocindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your stunning review. Having you here was a true delight, and an experience we will not forget in a hurry! It was such a pleasure to meet you, and to spend time with you - it's just a shame we couldn't spend more time together!

I, and all the staff here, wish you the very best in the future both in your travels and when you return to the UK.

Best wishes, and happy travels! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

As I said above, this is the best hostel we have stayed in. It was just the perfect stay, the hosts Ben, Greg and Amy were really friendly/helpful and made us feel at home. We stayed in the private and dorm rooms and both were really clean and comfortable. The common room was the perfect chill out zone to have a few beers and watch films both of which were provided by the hostel (beer very cheap). The hostel is located about 5 mins walk from the main bazaar (centre) with lots of museums also in walking distance. The bus station is also 5mins walk away to other local attractions, most of which are all roughly an hour away (2-4 ringgit per trip) nightlife is not raving but there are some nice bars locally selling cheap booze. All the info we got was all from the hosts and they even took us on a night out with them which was a right laugh. I can't stress enough how helpful and friendly Ben Greg and Amy were! If you are in the Kuching area you better get on down here! We were only planning on staying 2 nights but ended up staying for 10!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Scott Bevan,

Being called "The Best Hostel We've Ever Stayed In" is the most amazing compliment - ta very much!

Having you guys here was awesome - honestly really good fun. Thanks so much for the feedback, it really means the world to us!

Hope you're having a great time in Australia!

All the best! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arriving at the place was an experience of its own, because the taxi driver kept pushing us to the borneo hotel around the corner. But Ben saved us by giving directions :-)
Finally there, we immediately forgot the trip. This is such a nice cozy place run by the nicest people! We were treated like the best friends or even family.
They made us feel at home and did make that extra effort to make our stay even more comfortable.
Watch a movie and have a beer in the living room, cook your own meal in the kitchenette and enjoy playing cards? Then this is the place to be!
Normally we don't stay for more than a couple of days but we're easily gonna break our record with this place!

Room Tip: Several double rooms available, some with bunk beds and a/c. Also a dorm with place for eight people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Raymond D,

Thanks very much for the review - that was a good one! :)

Playing cards and drinking beer with you guys was a treat, and you are definitely sorely missed!

I hope you're travels are still going well.

All the best :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse has it al. The place is super centrally located, and when we arrived without having a reservation we felt at home immediately!
The owners are helpfull, know what they are talking about, invest, and always in for a chat. The guesthouse is clean, free from any animals and cosy as if your are at home! They have information about the parks, how to get there, which trails are the best. Information about other activities like having dinner, kayaking and so on.

Defenetly staying for a couple of more days :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HanDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear HanDeen,

Thank you very much for your awesome review! We had a really great time with you guys - and you broke the record for longest staying guests (I think it was 5 weeks between when you first arrived and when you left!).

It means a lot to us to make new friends at the guest house, and you guys are definitely good friends now - in fact you're part of the family!

I hope you're still enjoying your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a week, planned on just two days but loved Ben, Greg and Amys hospitality and the guesthouse so much we stayed a week. They treat you like family and are super helpful making your trip to Borneo the most it can be. They even gave us a ride out to a homestay where there was no public transport and it was one the best experiences we had! Thank you thank you thank you for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Brittany k,

Thank you for your review - it was lovely to read, and we are so happy with your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and to help you in planning your Borneo adventure!

I'm sure we will see you again some time....

Take care and happy travels! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 78 in Kuching
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Seahare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Property: Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Address: 187 Jalan Song Thian Choke, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Seahare Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse is a great hostel in Kuching. Located in the center of the city just a short walk from the beautiful waterfront and popular bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Seahare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing