We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borneo Seahare Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Borneo Seahare Guesthouse”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse February 2014 whilst on my Borneo adventure.

Firstly a big thanks to the owners Greg and Amy for making my stay enjoyable and comfortable. For those looking for a budget place to stay in Kuching I recommend this, Greg and Amy will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make your stay is as comfortable as possible. I even got picked up and dropped off to the airport which made life all the more easier.

The facilities themselves are what you would expect for budget accommodation but I will say it was probably the most hygienically clean hostel I stayed in during my trip.

Also the hostel gave me some options for activities to do during my time in Kuching which I probably would have overlooked had it not been for their recommendations. I highly recommend the kayaking tour that is offered, was incredibly fun and with a good reputable company and good guides. Also the bike tour of the city is a great way to start your day in Kuching again with a company which offers nothing short of great customer service.

Big tick from me.

Thanks
Prashant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Prashant,

Thanks very much for your awesome review, and for uploading the photos of your kayaking trip to this page. That's a great day out that we recommend to everybody, and has always received great feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, and hope to see you next time you can make it over here!

All the best!
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    12
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
31
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt the best experience I've had staying in a hostel/guesthouse. The English couple that run the place are without equal in their welcoming and friendly attitude. They do everything in their ability to help you in any way they can, including helping organise your trip around Borneo. The atmosphere is laid back, chilled and always positive. The rooms include two double, one with ac, an eight bed dorm with ac, and a two bed bunk room. The rooms are modest, extremely clean and comfortable.
Would recommend anyone to stay there, full marks from me! What a fantastic start to our Borneo trip, couldn't have found anywhere better!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonzo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi guys,

Thanks very much for your lovely review!

We hope you're having fun wherever you've got to in Borneo now, and we're looking forward to seeing you when you get back in April!

Thanks again for the wonderful comments!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is anything but your average hostel. It's centrally located in downtown Kuching, with everything you need in walking distance. It's run by the nicest British couple you'll ever meet - Amy and Greg. They are exceptionally friendly and knowledgable of all things Kuching. Amy gave me two fabulous restaurant suggestions that everyone needs to know about:
1) Best Indian food: Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant
2) Best Laksa: Chong Choon Cafe
There is no better hostel in Kuching. Let Amy and Greg take care of you; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCanuck81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much, and of course for us it was a pleasure having you.

We always try to make sure we have the most up-to-date advice on what to do in the area, and when it comes to food Amy is definitely the one with the best advice!

We all wish you the best on your future travels and hope to see you again soon!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

So to start with, that is not the average hostel you normally stay in. It feels more like a shared flat. Amy and Greg (the owners) are such nice and helpful guys. You can ask them anything regarding Kuching, Borneo or whatever. They will know an answer!
The "hostel" has one dorm with 8 beds, and two, two bed rooms, I suppose. That certainly helps to get to known all the people staying there really quickly.
All facilities you would expect of a hostel are available. Aircon, Locker, washing machine - you name it.
They will warn you, that the Wifi might not be stable, but in fact for me it was working perfectly all the time. And if not, they have a laptop, that's working 100% all of the time.

Definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in so far. Keep it up Amy and Greg!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jon P

Thank you very much for your lovely review - we really do try to create something unique here, and aim to make our guests feel like they are at home - and from your review we can establish that we are achieving our goals!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here, and hope to see you again some day!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, we felt welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Friendly and thoughtful staff help to create a homely environment where everyone feels comfortable. Overall an excellent stay, we couldn't ask for more. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, also great kitchen and living facilities. The staff know the area very well and are more than happy to help with anything. Highly recommend this guesthouse. Thank you for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmThomas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi guys!

Thanks a lot for your awesome review. We had a great laugh with you and everyone else that was here at the same time, and we're really pleased you enjoyed the time too.

I hope you have a good time on the rest of your adventure, and hopefully you can make it back to Kuching at some point in the future.

All the best guys! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very hospitable and friendly. Gave all the help and information I needed and even lent me a backpack to use as I didn't have one.

Good conversations. Always someone in the communal area to talk to. They'll give plenty of ideas of things to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Deetrain,

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review - it is very much appreciated, and we are really glad you enjoyed your time here so much. Of course for us it was a pleasure having you here, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings drinking and chatting with you!

Everybody here wishes you the best on your travels back to the UK, and hopefully we will see you back here again in the future.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We loved staying with y'all and appreciate all you offered for such a reasonable price. Great location and accommodations. Greg and Amy will be a force to be reckoned with in all of Kuching once the word gets out about this wonderful place. Have a map(mapquest?) handy to let the taxi know where you want to go. It can be hard to find but well worth it. We hope to make it back someday and no doubt will be staying here again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinglifeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear lovinglifeColorado,

Thanks very much for that lovely review - it means a lot. It was really nice having you guys here, just a shame you couldn't stay a bit longer.

Hopefully we will see you here again, or who knows - perhaps we will come and stay in your Guesthouse in Colorado! ;)

Wishing you all the best,
Greg & Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Seahare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Property: Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Address: 187 Jalan Song Thian Choke, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Seahare Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse is a great hostel in Kuching. Located in the center of the city just a short walk from the beautiful waterfront and popular bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Borneo Seahare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing