We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price but **** value:o))”
Review of Le Nomade Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Nomade Hostel
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Budget price but **** value:o))”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed in Tracks which belongs to Nomad and it is right next door. The staff is great and friendly. They do a great job. You can have a coffee, tea and drinking water for all day and breakfast is also included in price. You prepare your drinks and breakfast in the small kitchen with fridge and you can enjoy then in front of the huge TV in common room. Rooms and share bathrooms are very clean and cosy. There is an air-con in each room. The wifi is for free and if you do not have your own laptop, you can borrow the laptop from the reception and pay one hour fee for the internet. There is a laundry service too. All in all perfect service and good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
22
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Upon arrival we were met by Chris, the owner and manager of Nomad. He immediately showed us around and to our room. Chris also told us to pay on departure which I always prefer to do.
The room was the most expensive they have at 75ringit a night but this was for a double with private shower and toilet and a window and also A/C.
The one and only complaint I think I have about this place is that the shower/toilet cubicle is a bit weird because it's so small and cramped. It was clean and worked well, but you needed to stand right against the toilet to shower an the whole cubicle would be soaked at the end of your shower, meaning that if you wanted to use the toilet afterwards, your feet would get wet. This was only a small complaint though and barely reflected on the place.
We arrived on New Years Eve and we wanted to go out for a drink to celebrate the night but we didn't really find anywhere decent that night. So we went back to the hostel with a few beers.
When we arrived there was a group around the table and common room drinking and being merry. This group included Chris (owner) and his friend Sullivan who was great fun. They knew we had beer but insisted on us sharing rice wine and their own beer with them all night. There was also a free BBQ which was great. Overall a great night!

The next few days went smoothly and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Chris was great to talk to and had no problem answering questions on his own tribe, the Iban.
Kuching is a good city and very easy to explore. Good food and good fun are easily found.
I'd highly recommend this hostel and Kuching. If I go back I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoin-kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I did Not find it really clean. And stay Away from the laundry Service. I got my clothes back Bad smelling and still almost wet.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozartkugel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I arrived at this hostel by chance after sharing a taxi with someone from the airport. How lucky was I? This was one of the loveliest hostels I've stayed in in my 10 months travelling.
The dorms are cool and quiet (except occasionally when someone watches a DVD too loud in the lounge) and they have lockers. The staff are delightful and the manager Chris is very helpful and fun. He invited me to eat dinner with them one night and we had wild boar casserole. On the subject of food, breakfast is awesome, hot pancakes are made in 2 rounds (early and mid morning, er, both?!), there is brown (!) bread and every jam under the sun including coconut, English marmalade and crunchy and smooth peanut butter.. There is also fruit periodically and tea, coffee and milo. If you need a place to chill there is an astounding DVD collection. In general the atmosphere is great and you will meet other friendly travellers here, I found it hard to leave the hostel. My only complaint is that there is a lot of smoking that goes on in the common areas. The location is well within walking distance of bus stops and the town.
There is free wi-fi and you can hire laptops for 5 Ringitt an hour.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebradong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

It's not hard to imagine why this place has so many good reviews already. The people working there do a really good job at making everyone feel welcome. The place feels like a home away from home.

The place gets a lot of backpackers, so I don't know if I would stay here with a family or elderly people, but for backpackers this is THE place to be in Kuching I guess.

We stayed at a 'family room', which is rather large with en ensuite bathroom/shower (but no ensuite toilet). I suppose the double rooms and dorms are okay as well, but I haven't been there myself. The whole place is clean and well looked after.

The hostel is nearby the Kuching Waterfront, which makes for a nice evening stroll.

We had one problem with this hostel. Altough we had a reservation for four nights they had only rooms available for two nights. Their was a problem with their administration which also affected other guests. However, they felt really bad about it and did everything they could to solve it. They bought extra beds for the dorms and transferred us to the hotel next door for the remaining nights (which was also a good place to stay).

Normally these kind of problems would make me write a negative review, but since this place was so amazing and the people working there were this nice and did everything in their power to solve the problem, I would still highly recommend this place to everyone looking for a place to stay in Kuching (especially backpackers who like to meet locals and other backpackers in a friendly and social atmosphere)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalapogosNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This place is good value and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately, unlike some other hostels in the area, smoking is allowed in the common area. People were smoking freely in the common area and sometimes leaving the doors to the dorm rooms open. I can see how the place is welcoming and attractive to smokers. I know someone who left after one night due to the discomfort of the smoke. I stayed a few more due to its price, but I would not choose to go there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbsandspices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This has to be one of the best and friendliest places to stay in Sarawak... Kuching, in a great location with great staff. Don't be judgemental at first site of the tattooed staff, they natives and are extremely welcoming, helpful and great people to get to know. The place is clean with breakfast provided daily, you can help yourself throughout the day with milo, coffee, tea, fresh fruit etc. It has an assortment of rooms for all travellers, couples or singles at resonable prices. The atmosphere is fantastic and relaxed.... like a home away from home, just check out the notes written on the wall from other travellers leading up the front stairwell. Make sure you don't mistake Nomad Borneo B&B with borneo B&B across the road!!
I recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patchSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
0.2 mi away
Woodpecker Lodge
Woodpecker Lodge
#31 of 80 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 78 in Kuching
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Nomade Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Nomade Hostel

Property: Le Nomade Hostel
Address: 1st Floor No. 3 Jalan Green Hill, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Refurbished Le Nomade Hostel. We have just recently completed our refurbishment of the whole Hostel/Bed & Breakfast. New Amenities has been added as well as a brand new management team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Nomade Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing