We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berambih Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Borneo Hotel(Kuching)
View Hotel
Fata Hotel(Kuching)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
12
21
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
21
15
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I ended up staying in Berambih Lodge for 14 days in Kuching, changing my mind from a protracted jaunt around Malaysian Borneo.
Why? Was it just too fabulous to leave? No, not really, but it was hotter than a skillet outside in September and the sky fell out in torrential downpour everyday at exactly 4 p.m.

After few days, I just decided to take little day or overnight excursion trips out, like to the Orang Preserve, to the Longhouse exhibition park, and a night at the Park at Bako.

I had booked a small dorm room, but there were no other dorm takers so they gave me a private room with shared bath for the same price.
The room was neat enough with sheets and AC, but the bath could have stood a little more cleaning. I cleaned it some days.
Downstairs is a kitchen and a very basic breakfast is included: tea bags and instant coffee, peanut butter and white bread.
There was, however, internet in my room , so I would refuge in there at the heat and rainy part of the day.

The location on the main street in Chinatown is perfect, and there are many restaurants and food stands everywhere.
Market streets and museum are an easy walk. See the authentically constructed longhouse inside the museum, complete with skulls swinging from the rafters.
It turned out to be a good base in Kuching and, since I like to stay somewhere long enough to feel what the everyday life is like, it served me well at an almost give away price.
Most people only stay one night coming or going from Kuching.

Room Tip: Blackmail the manager!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Berambih has a nice longhouse style, where you can lay down and chill and watch some movies. The rooms are small, but clean.
The thing we liked the most here was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful, even after we checked out and asked if our backpacks could stay there for a day.
When we ever visit Kuching again, this will be our first option to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Fantastic and very helpful staff, they help to organize all the trips and transfers, this is also a fantastic place to meet other backpackers, clean, cosy, pleasant. take the room upstairs they are much bigger and spacious, first floor are really small no room even for a luggage. breakfast / only coffee and some toast with jam but what you can expect for 5 pounds a night ;) overall nice experience
no windows in first floor rooms and loud air conditioner

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed 2 night at Berambih Lodge. It made me feel like back to New Zealand backpacker lodge where the staff are friendly and helpful. This living room comfortable and the only 'bamboo house' design in the town if u miss the long house while your stay in Kuching. Also located in the center, walking distance to river.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Berambih Lodge has quite basic air-conditioned rooms for the price, but is clean and well kept. The upstairs bathroom was being renovated, but is now fully functioning. The shared showers are also quite simple. The top floor bedroom is rather noisy beside the bathroom, so try to avoid staying there.

The downstairs 'lobby' is very comfortable and cosy, with a TV and dvd set to relax with. There is also free breakfast and hot drinks, so it feels quite homely. The laundry service is also quite expensive, but they can do massive loads. The location is ideal, next to the main shopping strip as well as the riverside. But overally, it seems quite pricey for what it is.

http://suswatibasutravel.blogspot.com/

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, next to the bathroom
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suswati_basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews